​​ ​​Blackburn Encyclopedia​ A-B

Abattoirs: Sumner Street (1924-69) adjoining the cattle market covering 2,130 sq.yds. and costing £7,359 Further extensions cost £3,000 Demolished. chief inspector: E J Burndred MRCS DVH (1924-35) Nos 1/2 & 16 and 3-17

Abbotsford Avenue: (1903) Geraldine Street / 26 Sunny Bank Road 1-25 and 2-26

Abbott Clough: (1893) stream crossing Accrington Road from Knuzden

Abbott Clough Toll-House: (1848) Accrington Road

Abbott Street: (1836-1959) 109 Harwood Street Nos 5/7 (1903) demolished

Aberdare Close: (1966)

Aberdeen Drive: (1982)

Abraham Street: (1870-1992) Mosley Street off 70 Highfield Street Nos 29-39 and 4-116; 29-51 and 2-156 (1992)

Acacia Walk: (1982)

Accrington Road (Council) Primary School: (1899-1930) mixed and infants; (1939-51) senior mixed. Was erected in 1898-9 at a cost including site and furnishing of £8,580 a new wing was added in 1908 at a cost of £4,500. It was lit by electricity and ventilated by fans worked with electric power.

Accrington Open Air School: (1924-5)

Accrington Road: (1851) 66 Furthergate Nos 15-357 and 2-310; 15-401 and 14-312 (1998)

Accrington Road Secondary Modern School: (1951) mixed

Acorn Street: (1903-82) 209 Audley range Nos 2-8

Acrefield: (1991) Beardwood

Acre House: (1848) Livesey

Action Factory Community Arts Ltd.: (1995) cultural community work Simmons Street (knocked down in 2002)

Ada Street: (1885-1982) 40 Devonport Road Nos 2-14

Addington Street: (1870-1982) 33 Audley Street Nos 1-47 and 2-60; 2-22 (1998)

Addison Close: (1982)

Addison Street & Back: (1844) 56 George St West Nos 13-209 and 14-188; 143-171 and 114-188 (1998)

Addison Street Mill: owned by John & R Brandwood (1870-8) cotton manufacturers

Addison Street Church School: opened by Bishop of Manchester 9/1876

Adelaide Road: (1885) Duke's Brow Nos 1-5 and 2

Adelaide Street: (1844-1959) 39 Montague Street Nos 1-51 and 2-42

Adelaide Street (Back): (1851) Leyland Street

Adelaide Terrace: (1870) 102 Preston New Road / Duke's Brow named after Queen Adelaide consort to William IV Nos 1-5 and 4-58 plus Rydal Mount 2-6 and Robin's Nest

Adelaide Villas: (1870) 31 Duke's Brow/10 & 12 Adelaide Terrace

Admiralty Recruiting Office: (1942) 47 Eanam

Agate Street: (1899) 336 Whalley New Road Nos 1-19

Agnes Street: (1903-82) 104 Stansfeld Street Nos 1-13

Agricultural Show (Blackburn): held in Witton Park in 1843, 1952, 1957, 1962, 1964

Agricultural Show (Blackburn & East Lancs.): held in 1873, 1874 and 1875 in Witton Park.

Agricultural Show (Royal Lancashire): held 1881, 1898, 1915, 1929 and in Witton Park 1951 returned in 1980, 1981, 1982.

Agricultural Show (Royal North Lancashire): held in 1853 on Feniscliffe Farm at junction of Preston Old Road and Tower Road.

Ailsa Road: (1959) Shadsworth

Ainsworth Court: (1870-1941) Cherry Tree

Ainsworth Street: (1885) Witton Nos 1-27

Ainsworth Street & Back: (1795) (New Road) off Church Street named after Joseph Ainsworth overseer of the poor of Cable House. 14 Victoria Street (1929) Nos 5-51 and 6-66; 25-27a and 2-22 & 56 (1998)

Ainsworth Street: (1870) Cross Street Grimshaw Park

Ainsworth Street Mill: a small 3 storey mill adjoining Merchant Street built by Henry Sudell in the early 1800s it was worked as a silk mill by S & J Broadbent in 1824. Purchased by John Alston in 1834 and leased to J Heaps & Co. with 88 looms. Part tenanted by John Fish (1843-6). George Miller & Co. with 175 looms used the mill (1846-8) with 100 employees. William Alston & Co. took over in 1848. Demolished in 1952.

Air Training Corps HQ: Preston New Road now near St. Mark's Club Preston Old Road. Founded in 1941 two squadrons 1261 and 1973

Aker Street; (1966)

Alaska Street: (1903-82) 75 Mosley Street Nos 3-23 and 4-24 demolished 2008

Albany Place: (1929) 77 Revidge Road

Albany Road: (1903) 170 Revidge Road Nos 14-20

Albert Buildings: (1852-1949) Market House 57 King William Street

Albert Court: (1870) Frances Ann Street

Albert House: (1929-49) Spring Bank Terrace 

Albert Mill Gate Street Copy Nook: built by William Dickinson had a 60hp beam engine by Rothwell & Co. Bolton with 148 looms and 11,024 spindles, closed in 1865. Owned by Albert Mill Co (Blackburn) Ltd
(1872-1922) cotton spinners & manufacturers 18,000 spindles 1018 looms shirtings installed a second beam engine by W & J Yates in 1872. Also owned Columbia Mill Lower Hollin Bank Street (1888-91) Spinning ended in 1890s with looms increased to 983, ceased operation in (1927-8) and sold in 1929. Cunliffe & Ward wallpaper manufacturers then Cobble Bros. tufting machine makers took over 1956.

Albert Mill George Street West: owned by Henry Green & Sons (1870-94) cotton spinners & manufacturers with Throstle Nest Mill 31,0000 spindles 657 looms shirtings and T cloths then by Thomas Marsden (1902); Henry Harrison & Son (1903-4) followed by Blackburn Commercial Mill Co Ltd (1912-30) cotton manufacturers

Albert Mill Highfield Road / Hall Street Nova Scotia: built (1852-3) by Thomas Forrest and Bros. and James Shorrock. Occupied by Forrest Brother & Co (1852-1933) cotton spinners & manufacturers 16,220 spindles 520 looms shirtings and madapollams then sold to Frederick Textiles Ltd (1933-59) followed by Creban Mfg. Co. Ltd.

Albert Mill (“Mushroom") Aqueduct Street (Road): owned by Mossop family (1880) cotton weavers then Lucas' Ltd (1902-58) cotton manufacturers had 313 looms.

Albert Mill (Mushroom) Queen Street Livesey: built by Thomas Kirkham 1854 who went bankrupt in 1856. Tenants included W R Wood, Emmett & Whalley and David Mercer (1869) followed by Cotton & Slater (1869) owned by Thomas Cotton (1878-89) cotton manufacturer Cotton Brothers (1891) 411 looms mulls jacconettes and cambrics. William Lucas (1889?-94) as Lucas Ltd. operated the mill until its closure in 1958. William Birtwistle Allied Mills converted it to their main local offices and merchanting centre

Albert Place: (1881-1979) Fore Street Lower Darwen Nos 9-11

Albert Place; (1851-1982) 14 Montague Street

Albert Place Mill Lower Darwen: owned by T & R Eccles Ltd (1930-51) cotton manufacturers

Albert Street: (1870-1982) opp 38 Peel Street Livesey No 2

Albert Terrace: (1903) Azalea Road

Albert Works Ainsworth Street & Merchant Street: (1870) owned by James Eastwood iron & brass founder and finisher

Alberta Close: (1982)

Albion Cotton Works Albion Street Ewood Livesey: a spinning and weaving mill built in 1856-8 by George Whiteley & Co Ltd. cotton spinners & manufacturers (1856-1951) 34,000 spindles 570 looms shirtings and madapollams. The spinning factory had 30,000 mule spindles and the weaving shed 480 looms powered by a double beam engine by Woods Bros. of Sowerby Bridge. Production came to a halt in 1975 due to lack of orders. Had 22,104 spindles and 264 looms. The 50 ton flywheel and the double beam steam engine were scrapped in 1951. Harry Oates & Sons (Blackburn) Ltd (1958) metal reed suppliers. Demolished July 2010.

Albion Mill (Commercial Mill) (Old Shuttle Shop) Daisyfield: started 1854 as a shuttle and bobbin works. Holden Brothers converted it to weaving (1855-6). A number of tenants included Leeming & Wood (1865) and Bowler & Nightingale (1875). No weaving after 1878. Demolished by John Dugdale in 1887 for extensions to Daisyfield Mill.

Albion Road: (1870) Ewood Bridge / Bolton Road

Albion Street; (1903) 66 Livesey Branch Road Nos 2-4 and 3-7 / 31

Albion Terrace: (1881-1929) Wellington Road  / 125 Livesey Branch Road

Albion Yard; (1872-1959) 7 Syke Street / 80 Penny Street

Albus Spar Villas; (1903-49) Preston New Road

Alder Bank; (1844) Wensley Fold

Alder Street: (1903) Bay Street Little Harwood Nos 2 and 14

Aldwych Place: (1929) 198 Cornelian Street

Alexandra Crescent: (1870) West Park Road

Alexandra House: (1982)

Alexandra (Picture) Palace (Penks) Dock Street Higher Eanam: (1909-62) once reputed to being the oldest purpose built picture house in the world, was built by the Pendleton Brothers. It was opened to the public on Easter Tuesday 13 April 1909 and became a Bingo hall in 1962 was sold for a retail outlet in 1980 closing in 1990 and was demolished in 1999. Manager: J A Sutcliffe (1915)

Alexandra Meadows: See East Lancashire Cricket Club.

Alexandra Mill (T'Alec) Mary Street/Audley Range: built in 1865 by Bullough & Eaves for weaving. Owned by James Briggs & Co (1868-79) cotton manufacturers then John Dugdale & Sons purchased (1879-94) leased Birtwistle and Riley (1889-1911) and Sharples and Houghton (1891) 704 looms shirtings jacconettes etc. Alexandra Mill Co Ltd (1894-1934) cotton manufacturers then Charmfyl Rayon Mills Ltd (1939) Site cleared mid 1970s.

Alexandra Road: (1870) 76 Duke's Brow named after Princess Alexandra who married Edward VII Nos 1-95 and 2-18

Alexandra Terrace: (1881-1941) Wellington Road / 117 Livesey Branch Road

Alexandra Terrace: (built 1902) 73 St. James' Road Nos 73-81

Alexandra Villas: (1870-1949) 31 Duke's Brow

Alfred Street: (1870-1982) 8 Brookhouse Lane

Alhambra Palace Music Hall Market Street Lane: opened 3/5/1880 proprietor: M Campbell (1880-1) lessee. Changed name to Royalty (1894) later same year to Lyceum. General manager: Jon. J Mason

Alice Street: (1870-1982) Canterbury Street / 50 Harrison Street Rangling No 15

Alice Street Chapel (Wesleyan): (1879-1938) built in 1879 seated 250 persons.

Alker's Place: (1870-1959) 3 Wilpshire Street 16 Anvil Street

Alker Street: (1870-1959) 17 Higher Audley Street Nos 1-143 and 10-140

Alleys (Allows) Springs: (1795-1832). See All Hallows Spring

All Hallows Spring (Well): (1154) situated on Railway Road at the foot of Spring Mount where the Telegraph car park is now, was once the object of pilgrimages because of its medicinal properties. Its decline started with the ever increasing search for water by the Dutton & Co. and Shaw & Co. breweries. See Also St Mary's Well


Broadfold (1956) Little Harwood; Burnley Road; Ewood (1956), Willis Road (1939) Feniscliffe; Leyburn Road (1956); Queen's Park; Revidge (1939) Beardwood Brow/Fecitt Road (3 sites now 2); Park Lee Road (1956 closed); behind Red Rake (closed); Scotland Bank Farm (1956 closed); Sunnybank Road (1956); Teak Street (1964); Under Billinge (1956 closed); Wensley Road (closed); Wimberley Street (closed); Witton Buncer Lane;

All Saints' C of E (Rushton Memorial) Church: Nova Scotia Bolton Road the foundation stone of which was laid by Robert Hopwood Hutchinson on 8th October 1870. It was consecrated in 1872 having been built as a memorial to Dr. Rushton vicar of Blackburn who died in 1868. The gothic edifice contained 860 sittings of which 430 were free. The cost of building was £5,000 to a design by Messrs. Stevens and Robinson. Services conducted from here at the Ragged School, Russell Street and at Emmanuel School/Church Hollin Bank. Demolished 1991

All Saints' (C of E) National School: (1878-1925) Bolton Road was mixed and included infants

All Saints' Parish: (1872) from the bottom of Lower Audley Street to the railway bridge, along railway to Bolton Station Bridge, thence along Freckleton Street, Canterbury Street, Alice Street, Coal Yard wall, Galligreaves Street, Taylor Street, footpath (near Galligreaves Hall) to river, along river to Ewood bridge and thence along boundary of Christ Church parish to the point of starting. Population: 5,410.

All Saints' Ragged School: (1898)

All Springs: (1878) 6 & 8 Duke's Brow

Alma Buildings: (1903-49) 59 Darwen Street

Alma Court: (1870-1949) (100) 84 Mary Ann Street

Alma Mill (Twenty Steps) Cicely Street (Lane) Higher Audley: built after Crimea War in 1859 by Thomas Carr & James Leaver with a 25hp single beam engine (Industry) by Rothwell & Co. Bolton. Carr & Leaver (1859-66) employed 184 and worked 359 looms. After Carr's bankruptcy leased to John Bayne (1866-74) cotton spinner & manufacturer then bought by Hartley Bros. (1875-1949) 400 looms fine cambrics mulls & jacconette also owned Shelley Road Mills Preston. Opened by Dean Holt & Co in 1949 In 1958 had 192 Northrop looms were operated by Alma Mill Ltd. manufacturing dress fabrics and shirtings. Purchased by J Woodrow & Sons Ltd (1959-60) towelling manufacturers Worked by Henry Franc & Lauder Ltd (1975-6)

Alma Place: (1923) 45 Preston New Road

Alma Street: (1870) 41 Preston New Road named after the Battle of the Alma in the Crimea War 1854 Nos 1-43 and 2-52

Alma Terrace: (1903-2016) 297 Whalley New Road

Almond Street: (1929-59) 101 Union Buildings

Almond Terrace: (built 18  ) 112 Haslingden Road

Almond Villas: (1929-49) 5-7 Duke's Brow

Almshouses: See Nancy Derbyshire and Turner's

Alpine Grove: (1982)

Alston Mill (Cobden St Mill) Gladstone Street Harwood Street Bridge: Stone built spinning mill. Built 1864-6 and opened 1873-4. Worked by W & D Taylor (1878-91) Then Birtwistle Bros. (1891-1917) Run by Alston Mill Co Ltd (1918-75) cotton spinners & manufacturers In 1958 had 16,800 ring spindles The mill was closed by the Birtwistle group in 1975 having been owned since 18/4/1918

Altom Street: (1870) 88 Limbrick Nos 1-69 and 2-86 may have been Althams (1836)

Altom Street (Wesleyan) Methodist (Free) Church: stone-laying ceremony of the School chapel took place on Saturday, 21st February 1874. The opening services were held on Tuesday, 7th July 1874. On 29th April 1892 the foundation stones of the Chapel were laid and the opening took place on Thursday, 13th October 1892. The cost was £1000. It was registered for marriages on 20th February 1894 and de-registered on 6th November 1969.

Alum Crag: (1848) at end of Billinge End Road

Alum House; (1848)

Alum House Brook: (1848)

Alum House Wood: (1848)

Alum Scar: (1851) Pleasington. James Johnston JP (1870)

Amalgamated Association of Beamers, Twisters and Drawers 21 Clayton Street: (1947-51). secretary: Harry Earnshaw (1947-51)

Amalgamated Engineers' (Engineering) Union 20 Mincing Lane: (1929-56); Wellington St St. John's (1960s). Secretary: J Charnley JP (1947); F Hulme (1951)

Amalgamated Society of Engineers and Trades Union Club Fleming Square: (1881-1915). Secretary: H Pickard (1903-9); Harry Howarth (1915)

Amalgamated Society of Journeymen Cloggers: Blackburn Branch President Thomas Standing (1917). Secretary Hugh Heatley (1917)

Amalgamated Tape Sizers' Association 2 Victoria Street: (1939-51). Secretary: T Southworth (1939); J Cranshaw (1947-51)

Amalgamated Textile Warehousemen's Association 20 Mincing Lane: (1951) secretary: N Wareing (1951)

Amber Avenue: (1941) off Emerald Avenue

Amber Street: (1929) off Emerald Street

Amberley Street: (1899-1982) 38 Peel Street Livesey Nos 3-7 and 2-6

Ambleside Close: (1982)

Ambulance Station: opened in 1962 on George Street West

Amelia Street: (1929-66) Cobden Street

Amethyst Street: (1929) 588 Whalley New Road No 2 (1951)

Amphitheatre Bridge Street/Jubilee Street: (1878-85). Proprietors: J J Mason and R Bennett (1878); Edward Trevanion (1881-5)

Anabaptist Chapel: (1818-24) Islington Town's Moor Darwen Street

Anchor Inn Darwen Street: Over 400 years old when demolished in1870

Ancient Order of Foresters: (1988)

Ancient Order of Shepherds: (1838)

Anderton House Farm: (1915) Wilpshire

Andrew Close: (1982)

Angela Street: (1899-1941) Francis Street Mill Hill Nos 1-41 and 2-34

Anglesey Street: (1903-41) King's Road Livesey No 3

Ansdell Terrace: (1951) Manxman Road

Antiquarian Society (Society of Antiquaries) 44 Ainsworth Street: Hon. sec. Henry Whittaker (1942-51)

Anvil (Anville) Street: (1851-1959) 26 Follywell Street / Lark Hill / Victoria Street Nos 1-109 and 2-86

Apollo 5 Cinema King William Street: See Exchange Picture Hall

The Apostolic Church 18/22 Randal Street: (1950)

Apple Street: (1870-1941) 69 Garden Street Nos 3 and 4-6 Wensley Fold School

Appleby Street: (1870-1982) 8 Milton Street No houses

Appleby Street Mill: Used by R R Jackson for weaving with 275 looms. F F Karck occupied from (1881-5) then John Wilkinson and Son (1891) with Navigation Mill 729 looms dhooties and shirtings. Owned by newly formed Cotton Brothers' Co Ltd (1892-1967) had 168 looms in 1958 making handerkerchiefs. James Tennant cotton manufacturer (1894) Closed in 1967

Appleby Street: Businesses J Appleby & Sons Ltd corn millers and T A Aspden & Sons Ltd timber merchants (1951)

Appleby's Cottages: (1951) Nos 1& 2 Appleby Street

Apsley House: (1929-49) 7 Gawthorpe

Aqueduct Bridge Ewood: Ferro concrete bridge crossing over the River Darwen

Aqueduct Road: (1929) Spring Bank Terrace

Aqueduct Row: (1851)

Archibald Street: (1870-1903) Mill Hill Livesey Nos 19-43

(Ice) Arena: A multi-million pound Olympic sized (60m by 30m) ice rink opened Sunday 20th January 1991. Seating 3,000 people it 60 ft high.

Arcade Buildings: (1870-1949) Fleming Square

(The) Three Arches: (1930) Feniscowles

Argyle Court: (1982)

Argyle Terrace: (1870-1941) 124/114 Preston New Road

Arley Brook: Flows from Beardwood to Toad Hole. Diverted when the turnpike road was built in 1825

Arley Fold: (1848) west of Toad Hole near Woodfold Park

Armenia Mills (Pinch Noggin) (Gordon Street Mill) Boothman Street Lower Hollin Bank Street: owned by Bragg & Kitcher followed by Eddleston & Co Ltd (1891) 400 looms splits coloured handerkerchiefs and jacconettes; Cottons & Haworth (1902) and L & C Cotton (1894-1922) cotton manufacturers then. Ryden's Mill Stores Ltd complete mill furnishers

Army Recruiting Office: (1942) 47 Preston New Road

Arnheim: (1929-49) 49 Preston New Road

A R P: (1939-45) Civil Defence duties controlled by the Chief Constable

Aenold Close: Roman Road

Arnside Crescent: (1982)

Arran Avenue: (1959) Shadsworth

Arterial Road: (1929) comprised Yew Tree Drive, Ramsgreave Drive, Brownhill Drive & Whitebirk Drive. Mostly built by unemployed of the Borough of Blackburn and Rishton costing £141,000 Opened by Sir Henry Maybury, Director General of Roads, in October 1928 having taken 4 years to build It entailed the construction of four bridges, the Brownhill, Harwood Loop and Whitebirk bridges being carried out in re-inforced concrete and the bridge carrying the railway over the road at Whitebirk in steel. The central reservation was planned to have a tramway or light railway along its length.

Art Gallery: See Museum

Arthur Street: (1870-1941) 33/41 Addison Street Nos 5-21 and 2-48

Arthur Way: (1982)

Artillery Street: (1870) Randal Street

Artillery Street (1870-1959) 8 Ordnance Street Nos 7-47 and 2-80

Artillery Volunteers: (3rd L A V) HQ 50 King Street. Captain C A Empson R A. adjutant; P J Sweeny R A. sergeant major George Haskell sergeant instructor (1881) Major J T Bury adjutant (1889) Captain F A Tighe adjutant (1897-1900).
(3rd L R G V) Lieutenant D Langston adjutant (1903)
(5th L A) 40 King Street: Major W D Coddington CO (1870) Captain W H Flynn and adjutant (1870);

Art School: (1912) Sudell Cross

Ash House: (1929-41) 18 Shear Bank Road. Thomas Baynes (1870)

Ashleigh Road: (1929-82) off Heys Lane

Ash Mount: (1929) Park Crescent

Ash Street: (1885) 100 Whalley New Road Nos 3-77 and 6-62

Ash Villa: (1870) 18 Shear Bank Road. See Ash House above

Ashton Court: (1881-1941) Wellington Road Livesey

Ashton Street: (1870-1982) Bonaccord Street / River Street Nos 1-13

Ashton Terrace: (1903) Stopes Brow Lower Darwen Nos 83-99

Ashville Terrace: (1912-82) 424 Bolton Road

Ashworth Close: (1982)

Ashworth Nursery School Addison Close: (1999)

Ashworth Street: (1870-1966) 2 Wensley Street Nos 31 and 32-34

Askam Close: (1982)

Askew Bent Lane: (Further and nearer) (1772) King Street. See Bent (Lane) Gap

Aspden's Buildings: (1886-2001) 17 Preston New Road demolished September 2001 to make way for extension to Barbara Castle Way. Named after Thomas Alexander Aspden whose timber merchants' business was on the site. Has housed many societies and businesses such as the Irish club, the Royal Air Force Association's club, the Literary club, a dancing academy, the Palais de Dance ballroom, the YWCA and Haworth's picture framing business which was the last one to leave.

Aspden Cottage: (1951) Appleby Street

Aspden Court: (1903-41) Stakes Hall Place
Aspden Street: (1870-1959) Stakes Hall Place Mill Hill

Aspden Terrace: (1903) 237 Bolton Road Ewood

Aspic Lambs: (1750)

Aspinal Fold: (1851) Lower Darwen

Aspinall Fold Farm: (1870-1959) Lower Darwen. John Holden (1870) J Mares (1966)

Aspinall Fold: (1836-1959) (Asmaw) Pleckgate Road former weaver's cottages Nos.12-17 early 19th c. listed 1974 of local interest.

Assembly Rooms: there were two, the older at the corner of Market Street Lane opposite the Dun Horse Inn and the other (1804-52) on King Street next to the Hotel. The latter was built in October 1803 and used by the Grammar School prior to moving to Freckleton Street; the Mechanics Institute; the Blackburn Philosophic Society and the Temperance Society.

Assheton Road: (1929) Buncer Lane

Association Methodist Chapel: (1852) Paradise Lane

Assumption of BVM RC Church: (1969) Whalley Old Road Little Harwood

Astley-Gate: (1564) Northgate / 2 Church Street Nos 1-15 and 2-14

Astleys Farm: (1844-94) left of Shear Brow above Oozebooth Terrace

Aston Street: (1903-66) 36 Windham Street Nos 11-37 and 2

Asylum for the Insane: (1870) Workhouse Haslingden Road. See Union Workhouse

Athletic Club & Gymnasium St. Peter Street: (1885). Hon. sec.: J B Bertwistle (1885)

Athlete's Volunteer Force: Blackburn branch ' Last Gaspers' formed (1914) became part of a County Volunteer regiment (1916)

Athol House: (1878-1941) 11 West Park Road

Atkins Street: (1951) No 1

Atlantic Mill (The Bandage) Hall Street Nova Scotia: Built by Alexander Carus & Joseph White (1867-8) manufacturers of plain & fancy cotton goods. Leased to Henry Mercer, Bros. & Co. (1882-9) 964 looms dobbies dhooties & India duty free shirts, N Walmsley & Sons cotton manufacturers (1894) Alexandra Carus & Sons Ltd Ltd (1899-1971) re-started and continued with a brief closure (1930s-7) who had 500 looms. N Walmsley and Sons with Carlisle Steeet Mill 760 looms shirtings printers and jacconettes.

Atlas Ironworks Park Road: Owned by Clayton Goodfellow & Co Ltd (1857-1984) engineers millwrights and iron & brass founders patentees for piston and air pump buckets. Demolished in 2000

Arlas Paper Works: (1903) River Street J T Duxbury & Sons Ltd (1903) paper bag manufacturers

Atlas Works Starkie Street: Owned by Thomas Turner Mercer (Mercer Bros) (1878) shuttle manufacturers

Audley (Haldeley, Haudley, Hawdley): (1311) Anglo-Saxon Aeld-ley meaning Old Field or Place

Audley Area: Had 145 temporary pre-fabs built from around 1948

Audley Barn: (1786)

Audley Bridge: (1870-1959) 176 Lower Audley Street

Audley Bridge Dyeworks: Built in 1917 by Lloynds and Bolton. Plant sold off in 1929.

Audley Bridge Mill (Taylor's): Built by Bennington & Bury (1861-2) and leased to John Baynes (mid 1860s) also briefly run by Charles Bennington before (1869). Owned by David & W Taylor (1870-94) cotton spinners & manufacturers 111,800 spindles 2152 looms plain and figured goods dhooties stripes shirtings twills sheetings flannelettes and home trade goods also Moss Street Cobden Bridgewater Park Place and Jubilee mills then John Taylor (1893-1915) spinners & manufacturers. Audley Bridge Mill Co. Ltd. formed 1917 and continued weaving until 1929

Audley Brook:

Audley Council School: (1930-51) senior mixed opened on 3rd September 1930 off Pringle Street

Audley C Infants School: (1999) Queen's Park Road

Audley C Junior School: (1999) Queen's Park Road

Audley Hall (Hawdley Hall) (South View Terrace 1881): stood on site now covered by Edith Street on the banks of Audley Brook. Was the mansion of the rectors of Blackburn. Believed to go back to 1166 A sisterhood of benedictine nuns existed here in 1532. Sir Thomas Talbot died there in 1558. In 1856 the 317 acres consisted of the tenancies of Audley Hall Farm; Audley Hall Barn; Fish Field and Five Acres; Great and Little Maudsley; Long Meadow; New Hey and Little Meadow; Nearer and Further Dam Hey (Cicely Hole); Smalding's Farm; Snape Fields and Higher Walks; Three Launds; Town Green and the occupation road from Grimshaw Park to Smalding's Cottage. After 1856 some plots were sold and the residue laid out and leased for building purposes. Demolished in June 1888

Audley Hall Brick Works: (1939) operated by Wood Bros Ltd (1939-42)

Audley Hall Farm: (1856-1939). Moses Nightingale (1870); Joseph Nightingale (1878), 184 acres and 25 perches

Audley Hall Mills (Cat Hoyle) Dickens Street: No 1Built 1860-1 by the Audley Hall Co-operative Spinning & Manufacturing Co. Ltd. wound up 1865. Bought by Frank Mitchell (1866-9) Owned by Eli Heyworth & Sons Ltd (1869-1931) cotton manufacturer had 2252 looms fine cambrics long cloths shirtings twills & jacconettes.
No 2 built 1877-8 by Eli Heyworth designed by Miles Aspinall with 1,100 looms. Eli Heyworth & Sons Ltd. re-established by workers (1934-71).
No 3 cloth warehouse, employees' club and garage built 1915 with adjoining sports ground. Sold 1933

Audley Hall Sports Club Pringle Street: (1930-47). secretary: J Armstrong (1930); H Livesey (1935-9); H Smith (1942-7)

Audley Higher Barn: (1844-56) to the south east of Cicely Hole 34 acres and 24 perches

Audley Higher Barn Lane: (1872)

Audley House Audley Lane: built in 1844 by Henry Shaw the brewer. Had four storey malt kilns for his brewery. He moved out to Buxton in 1878 when his partner John Rutherford took on it and the business.

Audley House Club (the Working Men's Reform Club): (1865) 9 & 11 Audley Lane moved into Audley House in 1880 re-named Audley House Reform club. 1893 bowling green constructed. Closed 2002.

Audley Lane: (1795) Copy Nook / Higher Eanam Nos 1-67 and 6-146. Demolished 1970's

Audley Mill Kent Street: Built 1859-60 by Thomas Copeland (1859-70) with 370 looms. Then leased to cotton manufacturer Slater Bros (1878) cotton manufacturers purchased by John Thompson & Co (1880-1946) cotton manufacturers 588 looms shirtings Becoming part of Lilford Weavers in 1946 Weaving discontinued in 1955 when all was transferred to Malvern Mill.

Audley Nursery School: (1979-99) Queens Road

Audley Place: (1851-1951) bottom of Audley Lane

Audley Range: (1870-1941) Audley Bridge called (Th'Werm Hoyle) because of its once open-ness which allowed the east winds to blow down its length. Nos 17-335 and 4-416

Audley Range Brick Works: (1938) North Road

Audley Range Congregational Church: (1885-1988) closed 1988 demolished in 1989 because of dry rot. Spire 130 ft merged with Trinity United Reform church at Brownhill

Audley Range Congregational School: (1881-9) mixed; (1903) mixed and infants

Audley Range Council School: (1912-39) Queen's Park Road mixed and infants

Audley Range Mill (Glory Hoyle): built by Henry Marsden and J H Clark to James Beads' design. They went bankrupt in 1863 and the mill was leased to Eli Heyworth (1863-79) cotton manufacturer. Followed by D & W Taylor (Pilkington, Bros. & Co) (1879-87) then John Hargreaves & Co. weavers (1889-99) 324 looms cambrics Turley reds jacconettes etc and Richard Thompson & Co Ltd (1899-1912) cotton spinners & manufacturers followed by The Castle Manufacturing Co Ltd of Clitheroe (1914-30) cotton manufacturers. Jones' Textilities Ltd (1951) Demolished mid 1970s.

Audley Recreation Ground: See Queen's Park

Audley Secondary Modern School: (1951) Mixed

Audley Sports and Community Centre: (1988-96) Chester Street

Audley Street: (1870-1982) 5 Copy Nook Nos 9-55 and 4-10

Audley Street (Higher): (1870-2) Copy Nook Nos 1-251 and 2-150

Audley Street (Lower): (1875-1951) Nos 3-113 and 4-176

Audley Terrace: (1852-1941) 6/34 Audley Lane Copy Nook

Audley Working Men's Reform Club: (1870) Audley Lane

(The) Augustine Sisters: (1947) 52 Preston New Road

Automobile Club: See Lancashire Automobile Club

Auxiliary Hospitals: See Ellerslie

Auxiliary Territorial Service: (1938)

Avondale: (1903-41) 283 and 285 Preston New Road

Avondale Avenue: (1951) Knuzden Brook Intack

Avondale Street: (1903-66) 45 Belgrave Street Witton Nos 1 and 14-18

Avondale Terrace: (1912) 121 New Wellington Street Mill Hill

Ayr Road: (1959) Shadsworth

Azalea Road: (1903) Granville Road Nos 1-73 and 2-80

Back Adelaide Street: (1870-1941) 48 Leyland Street

Back Ainsworth Street: (1870-1941) 13 Ainsworth Street

Back Bath Street: (1951)

Back Blakey Street: (1870-1929) Winter Street No 4

Back Bolton Street: (1929-41) 2 Hall Street

Back Brewery Street: (1951)

Back Chapel Street: (1870-41) 49 Pearson Street

Back Cooper Street: (1929-59) off Cooper Street

Back Cort Street: (1929-41) 20 Union Street

Back Darwen Street: (1929-41) 17 Darwen Street

Back Dover Street: (1959)

Back Friday Street: (1870-1959) Shorrock Street / Clayton Street Grimshaw Park

Back Garnett Street: (1870-1941) off Garnett Street

Back George Street West: (1870-1959) 8 Addison Street

Back Greaves Street: (1929-41) 64 Leyland Street

Back Gregson Lane: (1929-59) 4 Gregson Lane

Back Hill Street: (1929-41) off Harwood Street

Back Joseph Street: (1870-1941) off Joseph Street

Back King Street: (1929-59) 12 Leyland Street

Back Lane: (1795-1885) 15 Astley Gate now Mincing Lane

Back Livesey Street: (1851)

Back Mary Ann Street: (1929-59) 35 Leyland Street

Back Meadow: (1819) Jubilee Street where the Registry Office stands

Back Moor Street: (1929-41) 25 Syke Street

Back Nelson Street: (1929-41) 1 Nelson Street

Back New Market Street: (1929-41) 64 Northgate

Back o'th Hill: (1832-1929) Pleckgate. William Sharples (1832)

Back Pearson Street: (1929-41) 49 Pearson Street

Back Pitt Street: (1929-59) Park Road

Back Randall Street: (1929-41) Randal Street

Back Regent Street: (1903-41) Regent Street 3 businesses

Back Richard Street: (1929-41) 7 Richard Street

Back Rose Hill: (1929-41) off Higher Barn Street

Back Street Spring: (1929-41) 128 Wensley Street

Back Street: (1836) Nova Scotia

Back Union Street: (1852-1959) 44 Ainsworth Street Nos 9-13 and 16 see Union Street

Back Union Street: (1870) Union Street / Pump Street

Back Water Street: (1929-59) 43 Water Street

Back William Henry Street: (1929-41) 31 William Henry Street

Baden Terrace: (1903-41) 44 Livesey Branch Road / off Orchard Street Nos 1-13

Baggart Hall: (1851)

Baines Street: (1885-1982) Windham Street Nos 1-67 and 2-54

Baker Street: (1929-1982) 225 Audley Range

Balaclava Street: (1870) 19 Randal Street named after the Battle of Balaclava against the Russians in the Crimea on 25th October 1854 in which the charge of the Light Brigade took place. Nos 1-121 and 2-94

Bala Close: (1982)

Baldwin Street: (1888-1982) Hancock Street 1-15 to be bulldozed 2012

Balfour Street: (1903-82) 17 Lancaster Street Nos 2-6 named after Arthur James Balfour PM (1902-5)

Ballantrae Road: (1959) Shadsworth

Balmoral Avenue: (1982)

Balmoral Terrace: (1903-41) (25) 45 Whalley New Road

Balmoral Terrace: (1903-41) 13 Infirmary Road

Bal(c)shaw Fold Farm: (1848-70) Pleasington. Ann Duckworth (1870)

Balshaw's: (Balshofould)(1848) off Mire Ash Mellor

Banana Street: (1890-1903) (now Brighton Terrace) off New Bank Road Nos 2-26

Banbury Close: (1982)

Bancroft Street: (1844-1982) off junction of 65 Eanam and Manner Sutton Street Nos 1 & 3 and 2-6. See Barcroft Street

Band Club (Public) and Institute: 2 Roney Street (1930-47). secretary: N Hunt (1930)

Band of Hope Union: Randal Street (1923-39); 15 Progress Street (1947). Secretary: F Parry (1930); G Lancaster (1947)

Bandstand Corporation Park: The first one was erected in 1880 but only survived until a second one was opened 17th September 1909 by Councillor J H Higginson over 6,000 people attended. In the last year of the first bandstand a concert of open air music was staged with a gramaphone using electricity amplifying the sound. Being before the days of radio it was a novel event and attracted an audience of 20,000 people .1200 persons could sit on collapsible iron chairs on the terraces around the octagonal bandstand for 1d. It was constructed of ornamental ironwork holding 60 performers and the whole area was enclosed by iron railings. The opening performance was given by the band of the Border Regiment; the works played included a selection from Lehar's 'The Merry Widow' and some of Harry Lauder's songs. It was demolished for scrap in 1941.

Bandstand Queen's Park:

Bangor Boys' Club: (1955). Warden Mr Brooks (res 1955)

Bangor Street: (1929) off Troy Street

Bangor Street Boys' Secondary Modern School: (1951)

Bangor Street Open Air School: (1924-5)

Bangor Street Secondary Modern Girls' School: (1951)

Bangor Street (Central) Council School: (1911-25) mixed and infants; (1930-51) senior boys and girls; Was erected in 1910-11 at a cost of £14,500 being formally opened in January 1912 by the Chairman of the Education Sub-committee, Councillor Higginson. Provision for instruction of 905 children in gardening, handicraft and domestic subjects The Boys' and Girls' schools were amalgamated from 1st September 1960.

Bangor Street Community Association: (1988-96) Bangor Street

Bank Arm: (1836) on left of Dukes Brow opposite Wagtail. John Smith (1870)

Bank Brow: (Duke's Brow)

Bank Chambers: (1870-1949) 2 Lord St. West / top of Feilden Street

Bank Cottage: Eanam Wharf. Grade 2 listed 1974. Built about 1840

Bank Estate: (1750) For Peels & Pollard Closes

Bank Foundry: (1844) Harrison Street Nova Scotia owned by Joseph Harrison & Sons (1870) iron & brass founders iron merchants machine & powerloom makers

Bankfield Mill Ordnance Street Copy Nook: erected in (1852-4) by Thomas Firth & J B Sturdy cotton spinners & manufacturers Weaving shed built in 1861 leased to Thomas Abbott (1878) cotton spinner & manufacturer followed by John Southworth & Sons (1894-1902) and Birtwistle Bros (1902) cotton spinners and manufacturers returned to Firth & Sturdy (1891-1904) cotton spinners & manufacturers 45,000 spindles.
E & G Hindle Ltd (1900-30) cotton spinners & manufacturers purchased the whole mill from the executors of Firth in 1900. Leased the spinning shed to Birtwistle Bros. but was returned to them in 1905. Spinning ceased in 1936. Tape sizing, engine and boiler house, 1914 weaving shed and warehouse demolished in 1984.

Bank Field Shed: (1891) John Southworth 540 looms fine shirtings cambrics satteens fancys and jacconettes also Brook's Mill Clitheroe and Lee Mill Horwich.

Bank Hey (Banck Hey, Banke Hey) Whalley Old Road Little Harwood: A Jacobean homestead built on the foundations of a much older house (1523). The inscribed stone over the doorway reads ' I.P.A.' (John and Ann Peel) 1687. Near to site of battle between Parliamentarians and Royalists in Civil War.

Bank Hey Close: (1982)

Bank Hey Cottages: (1851-1982) handloom weavers' cottage                                                         

Bank Hey Farm: (1870) Bank Hey Lane Little Harwood. George Greaves (1870) part Thomas Haydock (1911) and part S W Cartman (1911) sold by owner Percy Ashton (1911). Now Miles Wife Hey

Bank Hey Farm: (1870-1966) Heys Lane James Mares (1870) Jim Thistlethwaite (1980) J Thistlethwaite (1966)

Bank Hey Lane North: (1951) Brownhill Drive

Bank Hey Lane South: (1951) Whalley Old Road

Bank Hey Lane Ends Farm: (1941-59)

Bank Hey Special School: (1992-99) Heys Lane

Bank House: Adelaide Terrace Duke's Brow one of the oldest jacobean 17th c. houses in Blackburn. Grade 2 listed in 1951 along with the statues in the garden including 'spewing laddie'. Most likely built by Thomas Whalley gentleman, in or about 1628. He refused to be knighted by Charles 1 and was fined £10

Bank House: (1870) Wellington Street (St. John's). Thomas Howard (1870)

Bank Lane Previously Sandy Lane: (1848) 530 Accrington Road

Bank Lane Farm: (1870) Lower Darwen. Betty Gorse (1870)

Bank Lane End Farm: (1902) Lower Darwen

Bank Lane Ends Farm: (1844-1958) Haslingden Road Whinny Heights

Bank Mill Cherry Tree: Built by Thomas & Alexander Mercer (1861-5) run by Cherry Tree Mill Co. formed in 1869. W & J Yates compound engine installed 1863-4. Owned by John Dugdale & Sons (1877-1959) cotton spinners & manufacturers along with Cherry Tree Cecils Street Daisyfield and Plantation mills

Bank (Hill) mill Nova Scotia owned by Forrest Bros (1852) cotton spinners and manufacturers later owned by John Dugdale & Sons (Spinners) Ltd (1893-1958) cotton spinners & manufacturers

Bank Mill Terrace: (1870-1941) Cherry Tree Nos 1-31

Bank Place: (1865-1941) 2/4 St Andrew's Street

Bank Side: (1929-41) Edgeware Road

Bank Street: (1836) Snig Brook

Bank Street: (1795-1852) off Sudell Street now King Street first Blackburn Bank

Bank Street: (1929-59) Geddes Street Feniscliffe

Bank Terrace: (1870-1941) St. Andrew's Street / 18 Wellington Street St. John's

Bank Terrace: (1903-41) Cherry Tree Nos 1-13

Bank Top: (1824) 83 Whalley Banks King Street Nos 1-85 and 2-144

Bank Top British School: Mixed and infants (1878-1903)

Bank Top Community Association: (1996)

Bank Top Congregational Sunday School: (1887-1933)

Bank Top Council School: (1912-72) West Street junior mixed and infants see Griffin Park CP School

Bank Top Foundry: (Works) owned by James Henry Garstang (1870) ironfounder then Ashton, Frost & Co Ltd (1878-1911) iron & brass founders engineers millwrights machinery manufacturers. Chris.Holden Ltd stockholders of power plant & machinery

Bank Top Industrial Co-operative Society Ltd.: grocers and drapers 122/124 Bank Top (1870); 69 Duckworth Street (1878) and 58 Lansdowne Street (1878) Witton. Secretary: Samuel Chadburn (1878)

Bank Top Industrial School: Opened for the benefit of unemployed operatives based on the Phoenix and Bank Top mills 23/10/1853 Founder, superintendent and teacher Thomas Wilkinson (1793-1874)

Bank Top Mill Dixon Street: Built (1845-6) by Sam Hibbert & William Garlick of Pearson Street. Owned by Hibbert Samuel & Co (1845-57) cotton spinners and manufacturers before selling to W H Hornby who had 242 looms and 14,000 mule spindles using 240 employees. E Ainsworth & Co cotton manufacturers (1894)

Bank Top Mill Co (Blackburn) Ltd.: (1870-1947) owned by W H Hornby spinners & cotton manufacturers until 1880s then leased with 546 looms shirtings and dhooties to E Ainsworth & Co. but took over again in 1891

Bank Top Primary School: (1889)

Bank View: (1870-1941) 29/31/33/55 Preston New Road. Thomas Firth (1870)

Bank Villas: (1903-41) Cherry Tree 3 houses

Bank Villas: (1863) (55/57) 90 Preston New Road. Joseph Constantine, John Thompson, Robert Parkinson, William W Tattersall, Henry Ward (1870)

Banson House Farm: (1915)

Baptist Chapel: (1852) Ainsworth Street

Baptist (Particuler) Chapel Islington Darwen Street: built in 1764. Inititated by Adam Holden from Rossendale who died before its completion leaving a legacy of £80 to further the work Galleries were added in 1808 and the school rooms next door added in 1832. It was the first Nonconformist building in the town. Demolished 1930

Baptist Chapel: Leamington Road was opened on 2nd May 1895. Red brick and terra-cotta romanesque, designed by Messrs. Briggs and Wolstenholme of Blackburn. Seating 450 persons the cost of erection was £6,000. A fine-tuned organ was erected in December 1895 costing £600.

Baptist Chapel Montague Street: built in 1840 of gothic design, re-built in 1910 at a cost of £5,000 seating 600 persons. A war memorial window was installed in 1921 at a cost of £400 in memory of the men of the congregation who fell in the Great War. A very fine organ was installed in 1912 at a cost of £800.

Barbara Castle Way: from Eanam to Preston New Road opened 1992 costing £2.2m. Named after Barbara Castle MP for Blackburn Extension costing £2.5m from Preston New Road to Montague Street opened on Friday 6th June 2003 by Rt. Hon. Jack Straw MP

Barbara Castle Way Health Centre (2012) opened by Holly Bleasdale Blackburn Harrier pole vaulter Friday 16th March at a cost of £21m

Barcroft Street: (1844) Eanam. See Bancroft Street

Bar House Fold: See Bowerhouse Fold

Bark Street: (1852) Snigbrook

Barker(s) Lane: (1841) Seven Acre Brook Ramsgreave

Barker Lane Farm (Heaps): (1870) Ramsgreave. Thurstan Charnley (1870); Robert Simpson (1870)

Barley Close: (1982)

Barley Lane: (1818-1982) 59 Snigbrook / Montague Street Nos 1-13 and 6 & 8

Barley Way: (1982)

Barlow Fold: (1872-1949) 65 Grimshaw Park

Barlow Street: (1852) Brookhouse St. Alban's Place

Barmouth Crescent: (1966)

Barnabas Street: (1982)

Barn Field: (1739) top of Beardwood Brow

Barn Gill Close: (1982)

Barn Meadow and Garden: (1716-39) in Mill Lane area

Barnes Farm: (1881-1941) Lower Darwen

Barnes Street: (1870-1966) St Clement Street Bottomgate

Barnes, William: (1891) Bleacher Whitebirk

Baron's Close: (1982)

Baron's Way: (1982)

Baron's (Barron) Yard: (1903-59) 114 Darwen Street occupied by Robinson Bros (Blackburn) Ltd (1930) yarn dyers

Barrcroft: (1929) Carr Lane

Barton Street: (1870) 8 Cardwell Place / Blakey Moor Nos 1-33 and 2-4

Barton Street Gymnasium: a handicraft school in 1939 in (1951) remedial class (speech defects) for speech defects

Barton Street Methodist Free Church School: (1881) mixed and infants

Barton Street Wesleyan School: mixed (1878)

Bassfield: (1836)

Bastfield Mill Cob Wall: A stone weaving shed and 3 storey warehouse built in 1862-3 by James Astley & Co cotton manufacturers with 887 looms. Sold to William Almond & Co. (1880-5) then leased to E & G Hindle (1885-94) 2591 looms mulls jacconettes & scarves also owned Hollinshead Mill Tockholes. Modernised by them after World War 1 and upgraded in 1929 it was closed in 1962 after Hindles had ceased trading in 1959. Sold to Bancofts of mill next door 'Creative Mill' still worked by J & J Porter for textile purposes (1976)

Bassfield Place: (1870-1941) Cob Wall / 9 Maple Street

Bassfield Terrace: (1870-1941) Ash Street/Cob Wall

Bastwell (Baddestwysel, Bastweele, Bastwill): (13th cent)

Bastwell Brickfield: (1750)

Bastwell Crescent: (1903-12) 154 Whalley New Road

Bastwell Dyeworks: Willow Street Little Harwood, established 1876 by Joseph Bradley for India Rubber production. The buildings were converted by Sochroite Dyeing Co. Ltd by the late 1880s. In the 1890s W Kay & Sons used the site for waste cotton bleaching and Kerr and Hoegger Ltd with Canterbury Dye Works. Hodgson, Loynds and Taylor later Hodgson & Taylor Yarn Dyers Bleachers Mercerisers Finishers etc. took over (1901-1954). Dyehouse later demolished.

Bastwell House: See Lower Ouzebooth

Bastwell Road: (1885-41) 165 Whalley New Road Nos 1-69 and 2-66

Bastwell Terrace: (1870-1941) 61 Whalley Road/79 Whalley New Road

Bastwell View: (1870-1912) 55/89 Whalley Road

Bastwell Villas: (1878-1941) 47 Whalley Road/156 Whalley New Road

Bates Street: (1870-1959) 31 Accrington Road

Bath Cottage: (1929-49) 9 Redlam Brow

Bath Mill Byrom Street: Built 1866 purchased by Solomon Longworth and leased to D & W Taylor (1870-80) cotton manufacturers then Thomas Longworth Ltd (Solomon Longworth & Sons) (1880-1930) cotton manufacturers 1054 looms dhooties dobbies and plain goods . also Walpole Street mill and Judge Walmsley Mill Whalley. Site of weaving shed used for building St Peter's C of E Boys' Secondary Modern School (1939)

Bath Street: (1870-1982) off Alma Street / New Park Street Nos 2-22 and 21

Bath Street: (1870-1941) 9 Bridgwater Street Witton

Bathurst Street: (1903-82) 33 Alma Street Nos 1-11 and 2-8

The Battery Corporation Park: See The Cannons / Panopticon

Bay Horse Inn Salford: Dates back prior to1793 it was demolished in 1846 when the Salford bridge was widened it was rebuilt some 50 ft further back beyond the river Blakewater. This Hotel was in turn demolished in 1963.

Bay Street: (1899-1941) Coniston Road Little Harwood Nos 17-29 and 22-78

Baywood Street: (1903-41) Cedar Street Nos 1-33 and 8-14

BBC Radio Lancashire (Blackburn): Originally in King Street moved to purpose built premises in Darwen Street opposite the cathedral. Became BBC Radio Lancashire in

Beaconsfield Terrace: (1889-1941) Lilford Road (The Paddock) 35 Park Avenue

Beamish Avenue Fearnhurst: (1990s)

Bear Dancing: Was two urchins, one covered in sack cloth, who accompanied the girls on May Day and danced with a 6 ft rope around his neck, held by the other. The song "addy, addy ong cong kay" was sung by them.

Beardsworth Fold: (1833)

Beardsworth Street: (1899-1941) 189 Whalley Old Road Little Harwood Nos 3 and 2-46

Beardwood (Berdewrthe; Berdwood; Burdeswurth; Burdeworthgreve): (1258) area similar to today's. Probably from Beorh-wuda meaning the Wood on the Hill

Beardwood Avenue: (1941) Preston New Road

Beardwood Bank: (1866-1941) Preston New Road. Built by John Lewis

Beardwood Brow: (1929-41) Revidge Road

Beardwood Cliffe: (1870-41) (Nazereth House) Preston New Road. Daniel Thwaites (1870)

Beardwood Cottages Beardwood: Tenement farm. A pair of handloom weavers' cottages

Beardwood Drive: (1941-51) Preston New Road

Beardwood Estate: (1750)

Beardwood Farm (1881)

Beardwood Fold: 18th c. listed 1974 of local interest. Occupied by handloom weavers' early 1800s 6 families

Beardwood Fold Farm: (1902-66). S. Entwistle (1966)

Beardwood Hall: (1590) Preston New Road Home of Roger Gyllybrand of Chorley Owned by James Neville (1878) Home of Sir John and Lady Taylor who entertained the Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain in 1939 Also home of W E Woolley chairman of the Blackburn & District Hospital Management Committee and a local industrialist. Opened as a private Nursing Home in 1957 by Sister Mary Columba of the Sisters of Our Lady of Compassion Sold to a private health provider in 1991 becoming Beardwood Hospital

Beardwood High (Grammar) School: (1966-closed 2012) Preston New Road later Beardwood Humanities College previously Blackburn Technical & Grammar school on Blakey Moor

Beardwood House: (1878-1941) Preston New Road

Beardwood Mansion: Preston New Road was built on 5 acres of land between Preston New road and Beardwood Brow about 1886. Was to become the home of Sir John Rutherford MP It was demolished in 1936 to make way for Beardwood Drive leaving only the cattle barn (now a garage) on Beardwood Brow.

Beardwood Old Hall Preston New Road: Built 1830 by James Neville. Grade 2 listed 1974.

Beardwood Tenement Farm: (1938) Beardwood Fold a pair of stone-built cottages

Beaumaris Avenue: (1941-51) 59 Brothers Street

Beaumont Terrace: (1903-41) (153) 173 Whalley Range

Bedford Court: (1982)

Bedford Street: (1903-41) Parkinson Street Mill Hill Nos 2-28

Beech Bank: (1870-1941) 23/25 Duke's Brow. James Craven (1870)

Beech Grove: (1941-59) Moss Bridge off Bog Height Road

Beechmount: (1982)

Beechmount Social Club: 639 Whalley New Road (1935-51). Secretary: W. Brown (1935); G. L. Littleton (1939-47); T. Eaton (1947)

Beech Street: (1870-41) Cob Wall Nos 1-15 and 2-26

Beechwood Drive: (1982)

Beechwood Farm: (1915) Lower Darwen

Beechwood House Livesey Branch Road: Located at the entrance to the Livesey Hall Lane built by George and Alice Whiteley in 1889. George became Lord Marchamley. Ran the family business George Whiteley & Co. Ltd

Demolished by Derek Barnes builders

Beechwood Road: (1941-51) 10 Cob Wall

Beechwood Terrace: (1912-41) Aldwych Place

Beechwood Terrace: (1903-41) 31 Infirmary Road

Beesley Street: (1929-41) King's Bridge Street

Belgrave Street: (1888-1966) 8 Portland Street Witton Nos 2-72 and 37-63

Belle Vue Mill (Owd Jemmy's) Little Peel Street: Briefly a foundry built 1859. Owned by Smith & Nephew Textiles Ltd (1958) previously owned by Fielding & Brother (1862-70) manufacturers then T & J E Fielding (1878-1915) cotton manufacturers followed by Hindle Warburton & Co Ltd (1915-39) cotton manufacturers becoming part of the Smith & Nephew Group. Closed 1960 and completely demolished soon after.

Bellringers' Association (Cathedral): (1988)

Bell Street: (1870-1971) 34 Russell Street Nos 1 & 15-25 and 12-28. Demolished 1971

Bell Street Mill: (1915) owned by Mosley Mill Co cotton manufacturers

Belle Vue Mill: (1891) owned by T and J E Fielding with Wellfield Mills 1284 looms jaconettes dhooties etc. Smith & Nephew Textiles Ltd. (1958) with Fountain mill jaconettes

Belle Vue Street: (1885-1941) 123 Addison Street Nos 1-69 and 2-20. Previously Slater Street

Belmont Close: (1982)

Belper Street: (1870-1941) 28 Peter Street No 36

Belper Street Baths: opened July 1906 costing £9,328. They covered an area of 2,798 sq yds and consisted of plunge bath, 75 ft by 30 ft and from 6 ft 6 ins to 3 ft in depth; 47dresing cabins, one children's dressing room, balcony seating; slipper baths, 17 males and 20 females; 3 foam bath suites; one russian bath comprising hot room, shower room and cooling room and 16 dressing cabins. Re-furbished in 1991-2 for £1.5m Pool enlarged from 25 yds to 25 ms. See also Public Baths

Belthorn Mill: Owned by R Whittaker Bros. & Co Ltd (1912) cotton manufacturers

Belthorn Road :(1929) Haslingden Road Guide

Belvedere Road: (1982)

Bencock Farm: (1789-1881) west of Billinge Scar

Benevolent Union Society: (1837)

Bennington Street: (1903-41) 1 Audley Range Nos 2-16

Bennington Street Destructor: after three attempts Blackburn's tallest chimney is destroyed in 1959.

Bennington Street works: (1958) Ward Brothers (Blackburn) Ltd manufacturers of dobbies.

Benson House Farm: (1624-1951) Belthorn Road Livesey    Robert Mawdesley (1624) James Whalley (1870)

Benson Street: (1903-41) 200 Whalley Old Road Little Harwood Nos 1-9

Benson Street Wesleyan Methodist Free Church: (Before 1895)

Bent Gap (Bentgapp, Bentgappe): (1623-1941) 53 Lawrence Street / Cheetham Street Wensley Fold Nos 1 & 3 (1951)

Bent Gap Lane: (1838-1982) 53 Lawrence Street

Bent Gate: (1851);

Bentham House (Benthams) Farm: (1848-1915) Moorgate Mill Hill Livesey. George Counsell (1870)

Bentham Road Health Centre Mill Hill: Opened in 1969

Bentham Street (Road) Methodist Church: (1969-92) Mill Hill

Bentham Road: (1969) Mill Hill

Bentham Street: (1929-66) 20 King's Bridge Street Mill Hill Nos 1-43 and 2-26

Bent Street & Back: (1851-1982) (previously Askew Bent Lane) William Henry Street / 11 Montague Street Nos 6 and 9 by (1951) Nos 2-38 and 1-37

Bentley Street: (1929-41) Accrington Road

Beresford Road: (1929-41) off Eldon Road

Berlitz School of Languages: (1909) Church Street

Beryl Avenue: (1941-51) off Emerald Avenue

Beryl Street: (1929) off Emerald Street

Bestfield: (1844) Little Harwood

Bethams: (1851) Feniscowles

Bethany Christian Fellowship (Hostel for women & girls) c/o YMCA Clarence Street: (1992) originally opened in 17/19 St. Thomas' Terrace 29/10/1966 by Mrs M Collier JP then moved to the District Nurses' Home St Peter Street opened by Alderman Mrs Margaret McNamee 3/5/1969

Bethany Mission Hall Grimshaw Park: (1951)

Bethel Mission Rooms 75 Northgate: (1947-51)

Bethel Road: (1929-41) off Wareham Street Little Harwood

Bethel Terrace: (1912-41) Rydal Road

Bethesda Chapel: (19---2017) Alice Street; Shakespeare Way (1992); Closed 2017 and building given to the newly formed Blackburn Baptist Church which had previously been at Leamington Road Baptist church until 2014.

Beverley Street: (1903-41) Bentham Street Mill Hill Nos 1-25 and 2-20

Bible Christian Methodists Chapels: In Johnson Street (1930) and Higher Audley (1930)

Bicknell Street: (1870) 4 Lime Street to Wimberley Street Nos 3-59 and 4-80

Bill Brook House: Livesey Branch Road near Waterloo (1848)

Big Cover: (1853-1938) large wood at the centre of Witton Park

Big Lamp Sudell Cross: A gas lamp donated by Alderman Smith Mayor of Blackburn dominated Sudell Cross exploded on 7 July 1882 killing one person and injuring three others.

Bill Brock: (1851) Feniscowles

Billinge: (1212) (Billindg, Biilindge, Billingde, Billins) Carr (Scar, car, carre) see below

Billinge Avenue: (previously part of Oozehead Lane) (1941-51) Gorse Road

Billinge Close: (1982)

Billinge C High School: (1992) Preston New Road. See Beardwood

Billinge End: an extensive forest once stretched from Revidge almost to the Ribble and was preserved as a Royal Chase. It was the location of the first toll bar on the new road to Preston until 1843 when it was replaced by the one at Shackerley. (ie. County Hotel) Many people used to cycle daily from the surrounding countryside to Billinge End to catch a tram to town. They would leave their cycles at Ivy Cottages where they would be looked after for a few coppers per week. Twelve single deck trams were purchased and they were often decorated on special occasions but were less powerful than their double deck counterparts and were the first to be disposed of in 1938. The rustic cabin shelter was later re-sited across the road and remained there for many years though Ivy Cottage was demolished in the 1930s. Nathan Sefton (1832)

Billinge End Quarry: (Sandstone) (1853) north of junction of Billinge End Road and Buncer Lane

Billinge End Road Farm: (1942)

Billing End Road: (1941) Preston New Road includes a rural terrace of ten weaving cottages (one with a date stone of 1795)

Billinge Hill: (1429) now part of Witton Country Park. Commonly known for many years as the yellow hills The Court of Blackburn Hundred met on its summit in May 1429 and a plaque now commemorates this.

Billinge House: (1867) 309 Preston New Road. Thomas Lewis (1867)

Billinge Lane: (1903) Preston New Road 5 houses

Billinge Nook Under Billinge Lane Witton Park: 17th c. listed 1974 of local interest

Billinge Nook Farm: (1902-12). Little Billinge Scar with barn attached from 18th c. grade 2 listed 1974.

Billinge Scar Farm: (1789-1836)

Billinge Scar House: The original house dates back to the 16th century but when the Thwaites' family purchased it in May 1874 it was the start of a total transformation and enlargement including a large conservatory in 1889. It was later occupied by William Birtwistle. Much was demolished in 1947 leaving the coach houses and stables. The stables were converted into a house from 1952                                            William Lewis (1870);

Billinge School: (1838)

Billinge Side: Billinge End Road. See Freizeland

Billinge Street: (1870-1982) 43 Audley Street Nos 1-59 and 10-52

Billinge Tennis Club Buncer Lane: (1930-9). Secretary: C W Eastwood (1930-9)

Billinge View: (1870-1941) Preston New Road 8 families. OEmilius Jackson (1870)

Billinge View: (1870-1941) Queen Victoria Street Mill Hill Livesey

Billinge View: (1982)

Birch Court: (1851)

Birch Hall Farm: (1870) Lower Darwen. John Procter (1870)

Birch Walk: (1982)

Bird in Hand Inn Darwen Street: Dated prior to 1794. Later called the County Arms

Bird Wood Estate: (1750)

Birley Lane: (1836) Snigbrook

Birley Street: (1844-1941) 18 Whalley (New) Road named after Hugh Hornby Birley partner of Hornby's Brookhouse Nos 17-155 and 8-42

Bispham Crescent: (1951) Lytham Road

Blackamoor (Blakemor): (1210)

The Blackamoor: Public house Roman Road previously known as The Labour in Vain until 1900.

Blackamoor: Area had 55 temporary pre-fabs built from around 1948

Blackamoor Road: (1903) Roman Road Guide Nos 2-66 & 222/4 and 147/9 includes weavers cottages

Blackamoor Row: 40-48 and 52-66 Blackamoor Road (1851)

Blackamoor (Open Air) Special School: (1951-99) Roman Road having moved from Corporation Park, it had been specially built for the educational welfare of children requiring special educational treatment. 210 pupils in 1951

Black-a-moor Road Farm: (1915)

Blackburn (Blakeburn, Blakeborne, Blagborne, Blacborne, Blacburne, Black(e)born, Black(e)borne, Black(e)burne): Mentioned in the Domesday Book in 1086.  In 1570 Lombardi describes 'Blakeborne, a market town on the East side of Lancashire, formerly a part of the Deiri of Northumberir, is surrounded by parks and forests'. By 1650 it is noted for the manufacture of 'Blackburn checks' and then superseded by 'Blackburn greys' continuing as the main product until about 1764. Its geographical position is 53' 46' north latitude by 2' 27' west longitude and is 401 feet above sea level at low water

Blackburn Academy: Ainsworth Street (1823-43) became the Lancashire Independent College Whalley Range, Manchester was established to educate young men of 'decided piety and competent talents' for the Christian ministry. The college amalgamated with the Yorkshire College and became known as the Northern Congregational College.
Principal & President: Rev Joseph Fletcher MA DD (1818-23) Rev George Payne MA (1823-30) Rev Gilbert Wardlaw MA (1830-43);
secretary: Rev W Hope (1818-20); treasurer: Roger Cunliffe (1818-22)

Blackburn Academy of Shorthand: (1903-12) Altom Street. Mellor & Eastwood

Blackburn-Accrington Turnpike Road: (A679) opened in 1827

Blackburn Aces Morris Dancers: (1966-96) Canterbury Street Barracks (1972)

'Blackburn Advertiser': office Old Cross Chambers 4a King William Street. Proprietor / publisher: Francis Stones (1903-15)

Blackburn Air Training Corps: No 1262 formed March 1941 at St. Peter's CE Boys' School; Raftrain House 137 Preston New Road (1942); St. Peter Street; Preston Old Road Witton;
No 1973 formed August 1944

'Blackburn Alfred': (1834) Market Cross a conservative journal with a short life. Proprietors J Wood & Maurice

Blackburn Afternoon Townswomen's Guild: (1996)

Blackburn Agricultural Society: (22/9/1852) president Lord de Tabley held on land nr St Peter's church

Blackburn (Amalgamated) Co-operative Society Ltd.:formed in 1920 by the mergers of the Blackburn Industrial Co-op, the Daisyfield, Grimshaw Park and Industrial Bees co-ops. Moved to new department store in Ainsworth Street in 1970 until its closure in 1987 Opened new supermarket in the Palladium Cinema building at Mill Hill in 1963 bringing the total to 4 plus 20 self-service stores Having become part of the Lake District to Midlands co-op (from the merger of the Greater Lancashire and North Midlands co-ops) called the United Co-op in 1984

Blackburn Allotments & Smallholdings Society: (Formed 9/1/1908)

Blackburn Amalgamated Engineers' Union: 20 Mincing Lane (1930-51). Secretary: J Charnley JP (1930-47); F Hulme (1951)

Blackburn Amalgamated Textile Warehousemen's Association: 18-20 Lord Street West (1930); 20 Mincing Lane (1947). Secretary: D E Brierley (1930); I Hargreaves (1939-47); N Wareing (1951)

Blackburn Amateur Dramatic and Musical Society: (The Blackburn 'Amateurs') founded in 1912 its first performance being given in October at the Anvil Street New Church School. This was followed by a one-night production 'Sunday' at the Olympia Theatre in April 1913. There had been a Blackburn Amateur Theatrical Company as far back as 1837. December 1913 saw them performing Bernard Shaw's 'You Never Can Tell' also at the Olympia. In 1915 it was 'Liberty Hall' and in 1916 they performed 'The New Boy' with 'The Sunshine Girl' in 1922. Linked up with the Blackburn Light Operatic Society. Name changed to Blackburn Musical Theatre Company in 2007.

Blackburn Amateur Home Organ Club: (1995)

Blackburn Amateur Light Operatic Society: (1943-77) linked with Blackburn Amateurs

Blackburn Amateur Swimming Club: (1878-1979). Secretary: R Hodgson (1922) A E Briscoe (1936). Renamed Blackburn Centurions Amateur Swimming Club on the occasion of their centenary.

Blackburn Ambulance Addison Street: (1951)

Blackburn Area Assessment Committee Union Office Cardwell Place: (1942-7) clerk: S G Blanthorne (1942-7)

Blackburn Area Road Safety Association: (BARSA) (2003)

Blackburn Arena: Ice skating centre opened at the bottom of Audley near Darwen Street bridge (1991)

Blackburn Antiquarian Society: (1919) 44 Ainsworth Street (1924-51); hon.sec: Henry Whittaker (1924-51)

Blackburn Artists' Society: (1946-95) founder member Edmund Mercer freelance graphic artist and Francis S Watson

Blackburn Arts Club: (1946) Club Theatre 17 Gibraltar Street (1964)

Blackburn Arts Council: (Formed 1976)

Blackburn Assembly Rooms: (1897) Town Hall Street, Secretary: L Edleston (1897-1900)

Blackburn Assessment Area Rating Surveyors' and Valuers' Office 4 King Street: (1939-47); Quarry Glen Billinge End Road (1956-8); Grimshaw Park (1951); Broseley House (1960s). chartered surveyor and valuer: J H Wilson FSI (1939-47); superintendent: E Isherwood (1939)

Blackburn Autumn Club: (1996)

Blackburn Bach Choir: (Formed 1965) renamed Renaissance Singers secretary, treasurer & librarian Bernard West

Blackburn Bakery Students' Society: (1996)

Blackburn Ballet Club: (1947-54)

Blackburn Bank Ltd.: 9/11 Fleming Square (1878/1903). 35 Church Street (1903). Manager: P F Turner (1878-81); Richard Shorrock (1903)

Blackburn Bank for Savings: (Founded 1818) France Street

Blackburn Bank Top Co-operative Society Ltd.: Grocers 122/124 Bank Top, Blackburn & branches. secretary: John Higham (1903)

Blackburn Baptist Church: See Leamington Road

Blackburn Benefit Building Society 7 Clayton Street: (1852). Secretary: John Clough (1852)

Blackburn Benevolent Commercial Society: established 25 September 1802. Meetings took place quarterly at the Old Bull Inn.' To council in distress, to lend kind aid, to share the burdens on another laid, to ease the lan'ring thought of anxious fear, from bursting grief to wipe the dropping tear'.

Blackburn Bereavement Support: (1995)

Blackburn Billiard Club Market Street Lane: (1939-51). Secretary manager: J E Wilson (1939-51)

Blackburn Board of Social Responsibility: (1995)

Blackburn Boat Club: (1950)

Blackburn-Bolton Branch: Railway junction at end of the Blackburn Goods Yard on Bolton Road

Blackburn Borough Band: (1880-1)

Blackburn Borough Quarter Sessions: (1900-62)

Blackburn Borough Rotary Club: (1996)

Blackburn Boy Scouts' Association: 17 Richmond Terrace (1935); Woodlands 8 Shear Bank Road (1942-51). 79a King William Street (1946-7);  Hon. secretary: R E Dixon (1935); E R Ayre (1942); W B Livesey (1946-51); H W Sandford (1962);

Blackburn Boys' Brigade 3rd Blackburn Company: (1982-2003) Blackburn Ragged School Bent Street also company at St Saviour's church (1972). St Ann's RC church had a Catholic Boys' Brigade from (1915-29)

The Blackburn Brewery Co. Ltd.: Larkhill Street/Moor Street designed by James Bertwistle FSI Blackburn 1874.

Blackburn Brick Company: Chimney demolished

Blackburn Bridge Club: (1988) Pleckgate Road; Ladies' club Old Blackburnian's F C

Blackburn Britannia Cricket Club: (1855) played at Mile End

Blackburn Building Trades Employers' Association 80 King William Street: Secretary: John H S Matthews (1915);

Blackburn Burial Board: Was formed in 1854 who were responsible for the setting up and opening of the  cemetery on Whalley New Road. The opening took place on 1 July 1857. 32 Clayton Street (1870). clerk: Thomas Ainsworth (1870-5)

Blackburn Business & Profesional Women's Club: (1988-96)

Blackburn Butchers' Guardian Association 26 Copy Nook: Secretary: E M Crook (1903)

Blackburn Caledonian Curling Club: (1866-1940) Caledonian Lake Intack. Secretary: John McVittie

Blackburn (& District) Camera Club: (1930-96) 17 Richmond Terrace (1930); Regent Street (1947); 21 Ainsworth Street (1951). Secretary: Charles Dixon (1930); C F Foulger (1951)

Blackburn Canine (Society) Association Golden Lion Hotel Church Street: (1909-15)

Blackburn Careers Service: (1995) Jubilee Street

Blackburn Carnival: Centenary Year 1951 and 1961 & Trades Procession Saturday 25th August 1951

Blackburn Cathedral Bellringers: (1996)

Blackburn Cathedral Choir: (1979) & Blackburn Cathedral Girls' Choir (2001)

Blackburn Cathedral Drama Group: (2003)

Blackburn Cathedral Young People's Choir: (1979)

Blackburn Catholic Brethren Sick and Burial Club: (1772)

Blackburn Catholic Netball League: (1988)

Blackburn Central High School: (2012) opened 12th September replacing Beardwood High Blakewater College and Crosshill schools

Blackburn Centre for the Deaf: (1988) 1 Kendal Street

Blackburn Centenary Celebrations 1951: Athletic sports Alexandra Meadows 22nd September. Historical Pageant 7/8 & 9 November
'Merry England ' performed in Corporation Park

Blackburn Central High School Grimshaw Park: Opened September 2012 replacing Shadsworth High school

Blackburn Centurians ASC & Water Polo: (1996)

Blackburn Centurions Swimming Club: (1988-2003)

Blackburn Chamber of Commerce: Established 17/11/1886 4 Richmond Terrace (1966)

Blackburn (& District) Chamber of Trade: (1903). 17 Richmond Terrace (1929-30) 4 Strawberry Bank (1939-offices closed 31/10/2002)            Secretary: Charles Dixon (1930-5); R Edgar Dixon (1939-51); Rita Wakeley (19 –2002)

Blackburn Charity Organisation (Society): (Founded 7/2/1895). 9 Richmond Terrace (1897-1915) 12 Simmons Street (1924-42). Hon.sec. Malam Brothers (1897-1925) & Rev T W Walker MA (1900) asst. hon.secs. Misses M Brewer M A and Martha G Stones; agent A Mercer (1903) asst. hon.secs; Misses H Howard, A Spencer and E H Thwaites organising sec. Alex Mercer (1909-26) secretary: Miss Jessie L Smith (1926-42)

Blackburn Chess Club: (1996)

Blackburn Child Care Society: (Founded 1886) re-named 1996. See Blackburn Orphanage. Changed name to Child Action Northwest in 2004

Blackburn Children's Society: (1996)

Blackburn Choral Society: (1850-2)

Blackburn, Chorley and Wigan Railway: Opened for traffic 1 December 1869.

Blackburn Christ Church F C: (1878) one of the first members of the Lancashire Football Association

Blackburn Christian Aid committee (2003)

Blackburn Church Institute: (1870) Victoria Street

Blackburn Church Schools Association :(1936-1996)

 'The Blackburn Citizen': A free weekly newspaper, introduce in 1979. Bought by the Lancashire Evening Telegraph in 19..  and still in production

Blackburn Citizen's Advice Bureau: (1934)

Blackburn Civic Society: founded in the 1960s as a result of a meeting by the Blackburn Junior Chamber of Commerce.

Blackburn Clarion Club: (1900) cycling, rambling and choral singing with connections with the Labour movement

Blackburn Classical Guitar Society: (1996)

Blackburn Clitheroe & North Western Railway: (1850) single line to Chatburn

Blackburn Coal Dealers' (Merchants') Association Central Chambers Lord Street West: Secretary: G W Pickard (1903); Richard Wallbank (1912-15). 86 Duckworth Street (1939). Secretary: F Charles (1939)

Blackburn Coal Traders' Association 86 Duckworth Street (1947-51)      secretary: J Brocklehurst (1947-51)

Blackburn College of Music (1930) Bank Villas Preston New Road          principal: E Romaine O'Malley (1930)

Blackburn Collegiate and Commercial Schools Preston New Road (day department of the Science and Art School) (1881)                                                                                            principal: T Isherwood B Sc

Blackburn Comic Prize Band (1920-30s) and Prize Morris Dancers Bethesda Hall Stansfeld Street

Blackburn Commercial Association (1870) Exchange Street

Blackburn Commercial Motor Users' Association, 2 Victoria Street (1930); secretary: T Fletcher (1930)

Blackburn Committee for the Blind (1953-4)

Blackburn Concert Society (1979-80) Wesley Hall

Blackburn Conservative (& Unionist) Association (1906) 18/20 Lord Street West (1951)

                                                                                                                        agent: T Demain (1951)

Blackburn Conservative Club (1870) King William Street                see Conservative Clubs

Blackburn Conservative Clubs Snooker & Dominoes League (1988)

Blackburn Conservative Registration Association (Borough) Clayton Street (1870); 39 Mincing Lane (1930-47)                                                                       agent: John Waring; secretary: F Maxwell (1930); D Geddes (1947)

Blackburn Co-operative Bank Ltd. 3 St. Peter Street                         secretary: James Johnson (1903)

27 Mill Lane (1939-51)

Blackburn Co-operative Flour and Provision Society (1855)                     secretary: James Beads

Blackburn Co-operative Society (Ltd) (1855) North Chambers, 4 Duke Street (1939) secretary: J Dewsnap (1939)      opened new Emporium on Northgate in 1930 (now the library) which incorporated a cafe and restaurant and a ballroom, the site had previously had a store built in 1910. See Blackburn (Amalgamated) Co-operative Society Ltd.

Blackburn Coronation Silver Band St. Peter Street.                          secretary: Richard Robinson (1915)

Blackburn Corporation having been established in 1851 lost its Borough status on 1st April 1974 under local government reform and became part of Lancashire County Council. It was made a unitary authority again in 199  

The mayoral chain was made by Hunt & Roskell supplied through Mr Sagar Church Street costing £210

Blackburn Corporation Borough & Water Engineers' department          see Water

Blackburn Corporation Cleansing Department                                             see Cleansing

Blackburn Corporation Destructor works                                                      see Destructor

Blackburn Corporation Electricity works                                                        see Electricity

Blackburn Corporation Gas Works department                                            see Gas

Blackburn Corporation Highways department                                              see Highways

Blackburn Corporation Public Assistance department Cardwell Place (1939-47)       

                                                                                                     officer: G B Pye (1939); T C Armistead (1942-7)

Blackburn Corporation Public Health office Victoria Street

                                                                                          medical officer: V T Thierens MB, ChB,DPH (1939-51)

Blackburn Corporation Springfield Maternity Home Preston New Road (1937-51)

                                                                                                                         matron: Miss M C Graham (1946-51)

Blackburn Corporation Stores Yard, Pembroke Street Islington (1912-51); Freckleton Street (1915)

                                                                                                                        storekeeper: R B Shorrock (1903-15)

Blackburn Corporation Town Clerk's                                                  see Town Clerk

Blackburn Corporation Tramways Co. Ltd.                                        see Tramways

Blackburn Corporation Transport department                                              see Transport

Blackburn Corporation Waterworks department                                          see Water

Blackburn Cottage Homes (Blackburn Union) for children Park Road (1930-5); 108-110 Cherry Street (girls and boys)(1899-1958); 61 (boys) 63 (girls) Hickory Street (1930-47); Queen's Road (1930-48); 108-110 Cherry Street (1960s);

superintendent: J A V Herman (1930-5); Miss M Lavelle (1939); J Hindman (1947)

masters/governors: William Hiddige (1870); Richard Sowerbutts (1870-81); John Wilkinson (1903); F Lambert (1912); Charles H Roberts (1915); George A Poole (1939);

matrons: Ann Sowerbutts (1870); E E Poole (1939);

Blackburn Cotton Spinners' and Manufacturers' Association (1870) Exchange Street         

sols. Ainsworth & Son

Blackburn Council of Working Men's Clubs (1951)

Blackburn County Borough made County 6/4/1888

Blackburn Credit Trades' Association 27 Mincing Lane (1947-51)           secretary: W Wolstenholme (1947-51)

Blackburn Cricket, Bowling and Tennis club                                                see East Lancs

Blackburn Cripple Children's Home Heys Lane Livesey                              matron: Miss Mary Hindle (1912)

Blackburn Crippled Children's Aid Society (1953-4)

Blackburn Cross Hill F C (1901) winners of the LFA Amateur Cup in 1902-3 were members of the Lancashire Amateur League from 1900-1910 and re-joined in 1932-39.

Blackburn Cycling Club founded in 1880

Blackburn & Darwen Band (1994)

Blackburn, Darwen & Bolton Railway (1844)

Blackburn & Darwen 'B' Brass Band (1994-6)

Blackburn Darwen & Clitheroe Licensed Vistuallers Association (1966) 1 Tacketts Street

Blackburn & Darwen Community Festival (1991) Street Entertainers, Lunchtime Events in Shopping Centre, group tours round local businesses, archive film evening.

Blackburn, Darwen & District Licensed Trade Association (1936)

                        Women's Auxiliary (1936)

Blackburn & Darwen District Victims Support Scheme (1996)

Blackburn & Darwen Mail High Street Blackburn (1982)

Blackburn & Darwen School Sports Association (1988)

Blackburn & Darwen Schools' Football Association

Blackburn & Darwen Society for the Blind 8 East Park Road (1930-5)     secretary: H Schofield (1930-5)

1 Richmond terrace (1966) 1-2 Thwaites House Railway Road (1992-3)

Blackburn & Darwen Sunday School Association (1996)

Blackburn & Darwen Tenants' Association (2001)

Blackburn & Darwen Youth & Community Service (1995) Jubilee Street

Blackburn Deaf & Dumb Society (1898)

Black Diamond Street (1881) 18 Highfield Road

Blackburn Dickens Fellowship (1943-1955)

Blackburn Diocese (1872) Diocesan Office Cathedral Close formed on 5th November 1926.

Blackburn Diocese Adoption Agency (1995) St. Mary's House Cathedral Close

Blackburn Diocesan Board of Finance 40c Preston New Road (1930-9) Cathedral Close Darwen Street


 secretary: C J J Watson BA (1930); Rev.Canon Boddington MA (1935-9); Edgar L S Walker (1946-51)

Blackburn Diocesan Board for Social Responsibility (2003) Cathedral Close Blackburn

Blackburn Diocesan Council for Women's Work (1947) Cathedral Close secretary: Dean S Bullock (1947)

Blackburn Diocesan Moral Welfare Council (Society) 40b Preston New Road (1939); Cathedral Close (1942-51) The Grange (1953-4)                                                                                        secretary: Miss J M Bates (1951)

Blackburn Diocesan Mothers' Union Cathedral Close (1927) the largest branch in the world outside of Africa. Has 6,500 member across East Lancashire.                            organising secretary: Mrs H M Bland (1947-51)

Blackburn Diocesan Registration of Marriages Richmond Chambers Richmond Terrace (1939);

Cathedral Close Darwen Street (1942-58)                                                          registrar: Reg Clayton (1939-51)

Blackburn Disabled Arts Forum (1996)

Blackburn Disabled Persons Group (1995/6)

Blackburn & District Accountants' Society (1922)

Blackburn & District Access Group (1996)

Blackburn & District Advertiser

Blackburn & District Allotments' (& Leisure Gardens Federation) Association (1988-2003)

Blackburn & District Allotment Holders' Association (1937)

Blackburn & District Amalgamated Licensed Trade Association 2 Whalley Old Road

                                                                                                                        secretary: J Livesey (1912)

Blackburn & District Amalgamated Powerloom Overlookers' Association (1858-1972)

3 New Water Street; High Street (1930);                          secretary: Joseph Graham (1903); H Beardwood (1930)

Overlookers' Hall High Street                                            secretary: A Fish (1912-15); H Beardwood (1939)

Temple Chambers Church Street (1947-51)                               secretary: Philip Lord (1947); John Bolton (1951)

Blackburn & District Amateur Bowling Association (1988-2002)

Blackburn & District Amateur Cricket League (1996)

Blackburn and District Anti-Compulsory Vaccination Society (1886)

Blackburn & District Area Meat Supply Association Abattoirs Sumner Street (1947-51)

Blackburn & District Arts Council (1983)

Blackburn & District Asian Association (1994)

Blackburn & District Association for Mental Health (1996-2003) The Mind Centre Regent Street Blackburn

Blackburn & District Association (NUT) (1900-24) Accrington Road school (1900) Norfolk Street School (1909) 21 St. Alban's Place (1924)

                                    secretary: Yhomas Pilkington (1900) James Kenyon (1909); T Dowthwaite LCP (1924)

Blackburn & District Authors' Society (1904)

Blackburn & District Badminton Association (1988)

Blackburn & District Band of Hope Union 36 Preston New Road (1912-15); Randal Street (1929-41);

23 Progress Street (1942-51);

                                    secretary: F Parry (1930-5); J Beardwood (1939); secretary: George Lancaster (1942-51);

Blackburn & District Beamers', Twisters' and Drawers' Association (1866-1983) 1 Clayton Street :

secretary: John Holt (1903) 52 Park Road: secretary: John Holt JP (1912-15); N Cronshaw (1930); H Earnshaw (1939); H Dawson (1947-51)

Blackburn & District Bird Club (1995-2003)

Blackburn & District Blind Society (1881-2014) Independent Living Centre Mill Hill

Blackburn & District Boy Scouts (1st Moordales) Association (formed 20th September 1912)

17 Richmond Terrace:                                                        secretary: R E Dixon (1930); F H Woodhouse (1939)

79a King William Street                                                                              see Blackburn Boy Scouts

Woodlands 8 Shear Bank Road (opened by Sir Percy Everett 1940)   

                                                                                                secretary: W B Livesey (1951); H W Sandford (1962)

Blackburn District Scout Fellowship (1995)

Blackburn & District Building Trades Employers' Association Mutual Chambers St. Peters Street (1930)                                                                                                                                     secretary: George J Dickinson (1930)

43 Preston New Road (1939-66)                                                              secretary: W H Marsden (1947-51)

Blackburn & District Cage Bird Society (1931-5)                                           see B & D Bird Club above

                                                                                                            hon. secretary: J Haigh (1931); H Jones (1935);

Blackburn & District Camera Club Shorrock Fold (1915); Kensington Chambers Simmons Street (1929-39); Alma Street (1939-46); Regent Street (1947); Ainsworth Street (1949); YMCA Limbrick (1956-8)        

                                                                        secretary: E Balme (1915); H Cotton (1930-9); J R Elvidge (1942)

Blackburn & District Cancer Research Campaign (1996)

Blackburn & District Canine Association (1893) Golden Lion Hotel Church Street

Blackburn & District Card and Blowing Room Operatives' Association

54 Victoria Street (1930)                                                                             secretary: M Brothers JP (1930)

60 Victoria Street (1939-51)                                                           secretary: M Brothers JP (1939); M Kenny (1947-51)

Blackburn & District Chamber of Commerce 6 Richmond Terrace (1889-97) 4 Richmond Terrace (1900-56)

14 Richmond Terrace (1960s)                                                       secretary: Joseph Watson (1897-1909)

Blackburn & District Chemists' Association (1947) 193 Accrington Road secretary: L Mossop MPS (1947);

Blackburn & District Coal Traders' Association (1947-66) 86 Duckworth Street (1947-66)

                                                                                                            secretary: J Brocklehurst (1947);

Blackburn & District Community Relations Council (1996)

Blackburn (&) District Cotton Employers' Association (1909-24) 12 Darwen Street (1909-24); 35 Railway Road (1941-66)                                     secretary: John Taylor (1909); C Tate (1924); Harold Robinson (1947)

Blackburn & District Cotton Mill Operatives' Association (1924) 219 Branch Road (1924)    

                                                                                                            secretary: George H Shepherd (1924)

Blackburn & District Council of Churches (1996)

Blackburn & District Crippled Childrens' Aid Society (1996)

Blackburn & District Crossroads Care Attendant Scheme (1996)

Blackburn & District Cyclists Touring Club founded August 1923 72 Ripon Street chairman H Sargent

Blackburn & District Darts & Dominoes Summer League (1988)

Blackburn & District Diabetic Association (1996)

Blackburn & District Hospital Management Committee  (1966)

Blackburn & District Incorporated Chamber of Commerce (6) 4 Richmond Terrace (1889-1958)

14 Richmond Terrace (1988)        

secretary: Joseph Watson (1889-1915); Edward Rudd FCA (1924-5); Reginald J Shaw (1939); J H Cope (1946-7) Richard W Holden (1951);

Blackburn & District Chamber of Trade                                                          see Blackburn Chamber of Trade

Blackburn & District Chemists' Association 24 Richmond Terrace (1930-5); 193 Accrington Road (1939-51)                                                                                       secretary: Fred Law (1930-5); L Mossop MPS (1939-51)

Blackburn & District Coal Traders' Association 86 Duckworth Street (1951)     

                                                                                                                        secretary: J Brocklehurst (1951)

Blackburn & District Community Relations Council (1982)

Blackburn District Cotton Employers Association

12 Darwen Street:                                                                                        secretary: J Taylor (1912-15)

35 Railway Road:                                                        secretary: Charles Tate (1929-39); Harold Robinson (1951)

Blackburn & District Cotton Spinners' and Manufacturers' Association (1877-1971)

13 Richmond Terrace (1885) sec: Joseph Watson (1885); Church Street (1903)

Blackburn & District Council of Churches (1988-96)

Blackburn & District Council for Voluntary Services (1995)

Blackburn & District Cripple d Children's Aid Society (1995)

Blackburn & District Cyclists' Touring Club (8/1923) Ripon Street

Blackburn & District Disabled Ex-Servicemen's Association 8 Clayton Street (1951)

Blackburn & District East Lancashire Royal Infirmary Bolton Road (1939-47); office 6 Victoria Street (1881);            15 Richmond Terrace (1903-12); secretary: Joseph Eastwood (1881); N A Smith (1903-12); general superintendent & secretary: Tom Dewhurst (1939-47)

(The) Blackburn & District Engineering Society (1954-5)

Blackburn & District Enterprise Trust Ltd. (1982-2003) formed as an independent source of help to businesses large and small or just starting out

Blackburn & District Fanciers & Utility Poultry Society (1889)

Blackburn & District Farmers' Association (1889)

Blackburn & District Farmers' Auction Mart Abattoirs Sumner Street (1930-5)   

                                                                                                                        secretary: T Briggs (1930-5)

Blackburn & District Film Society (1988)

Blackburn & District Football Combination (1915)

Blackburn & District Fruit and Potato Merchants' Protection Society Market Place

                                                                                                                        secretary: J Ingham (1912).

Blackburn & District Gas and General Workers' Union, Clayton Street secretary: E Porter (1915).

Blackburn & District Girl Guides' Association 15a Preston New Road (1939); Cathedral Close Darwen Street (1942-51)

Blackburn & District Hairdressers' Association (1963-4) 129 Audley Range

Blackburn & District Horse Owners' Association 20 High Street secretary: T Alty (1912)

Blackburn & District Hospital Voluntary Service (1996)

The Blackburn & District Horticultural Society (1905-22)               secretary: W Beesley (1922)

                                                                                                                        president: R Williams (1922)

Blackburn & District Hospital Management Committee Royal Infirmary Bolton Road (1951-8)

                                                                                                                    secretary: T Dewhurst ACIS FHS (1951)

Supplies Department: Queen's Park Hospital (1956) Haslingden Road

Blackburn & District Incorporated Chamber of Commerce 4 Richmond Terrace (1930-47);

                                    secretary: Edward Rudd FCA (1924-35); Reginald J Shaw (1939-42); J H Cope (1947)

Blackburn & District Independent Order of Oddfellows (19th c)

Blackburn & District Junior Farmers (1936)

Blackburn & District Licensed Trade Protection Society (1909-24) 2 & 4 Whalley Old Road (1909) Fleming Square (1924)

                                                                                                                        secretary: John Livesey (1909-24);

Blackburn & District Licensed Victuallers' Association (1900-96)

33 Saloford (1900)                                                                                       secretary: T H Salisbury (1900)

351 Whalley New Road                                                                              secretary: W J Turner (1909);

Wensley Street;                                                                                            secretary: W J Turner (1912)

1 Tacketts Street;                                                                                  secretary: J A Turner (1924); J Turner (1951)

Blackburn & District Master Bakers Association (1951-96)

4 Strawberry Bank (1951):                                                                 secretary: Mrs. Brown; R Edgar Dixon (1951)

Blackburn & District Master Cotton Spinners' and Manufacturers' Association 54 Church Street

                                                                                                                        secretary: John Taylor (1903)

Blackburn & District Mencap Society (1996-2003)

Blackburn & District Model Aircraft Club (1979)

Blackburn & District Model Boat Club (1996)

Blackburn & District Motor Cycling Club 9 Exchange Street.

                                                                                                         secretaries: W G Guest and M Hargreaves (1915)

Blackburn & District Mountain Bikers (2004)

Blackburn & District Multiple Sclerosis Society (1996-2003)

Blackburn & District Muscular Dystrophy Group (1996)

Blackburn & District Mutual Plate Glass Insurance Association (1939-66) 31 (35) Richmond Terrace

secretary: T Eccles (1939); Kenneth V Taylor (1951)

Blackburn & District Newsagents' and Stationers' Association (1893) secretary: Thomas Gregson (1893)

Blackburn & District Normandy Landing Association (1996)

Blackburn & District Nursing Association (Incorporated) St. Peter Street (1924-51) building opened by the Countess of Derby 26/4/1900 first used by the Queen Alexandra Nurses before becoming the District Nurses Home until 1969. matron: Miss E Chazdwick (1900) secretary: J Johnson JP (1930-5) matron: Miss H P Moore (1930-5) matron: Miss M H Spokes (1942-51)

Blackburn & District Operative Cotton Spinners' Association

9 St. Peter's Street:                                                                                      secretary: James Johnson JP (1903-30)

20 Mincing Lane (1939-48):                                                                                   secretary: T Gradwell (1939)

Blackburn & District Operative Weavers' Association 14 Back Lane (1885) 1 Clayton Street (1897-1924)

                        secretary: G Barker (1885) Joseph Cross (1897-1900) D Gouldsborough (1909) Luke Bates (1924)

Blackburn & District Parkinson's Disease Society (1996)

Blackburn & District Permanent Building & Investment Society (1870)

7 St. John's Place & 32 Corporation Street Manchester

Blackburn & District Philatelic Society (1996)

Blackburn & District Photographers' Association (Photographic Society) founded 1901 by H Neville

24 Richmond Terrace (1930):                                                                                secretary: Fred Law (1930)

114 Bank Top (1939-51);                                                                            secretary: J Gillett (1939-51)

Blackburn & District Pony Club (1996)

Blackburn & District Power Loom Overlookers' Association 3 New Water Street (1900-9) High Street (1929) Mill Lane (1941) Church Street (1946-8)                                                            secretary: J Graham (1900-9)

Blackburn & District Power Loom Weavers' Association (& Institute) 1 Clayton Street (1903-58);

                     secretary: Joseph Cross (1903) E Holden (1912) Luke Bates JP (1915-42) Fred G Hague (1946-51)

Blackburn & District Power Loom Weavers' Protection Society 1 & 3 Princes Street (1897-1948)

                                    secretary: R B Dodgson (1897-1903) W A Duckworth JP (1909-39) T Duckworth (1947)

Blackburn & District Probus club (1971)

Blackburn & District Racial Equality Council (1995) St. John's Place Victoria Street

Blackburn & District Referees' Association (2004)

Blackburn & District Registrar's High Court of Justice Sessions House Northgate (1939-47):

                                                registrars: R Bremner and W Woodcock (1939) W J Plant & C R Davies (1947)

Blackburn & District Relate (Marriage Guidance) (1996)

Blackburn & District Retail Grocers' Association 4 Strawberry Bank (1923-51)

                                                                                                                        secretary: R Edgar Dixon (1939-51)

Blackburn & District Rheumatoid Arthritis Group (1996)

Blackburn & District Rifle (& Pistol) Club (& BAC) formed 30th January 1908 Phoenix Mill King Street (1910) Audley Hall Mills Dickens Street (1999) Outdoor range Mellor Moor opened 2/4/1910

Training Corps on Wednesdays at Witton Skating Rink disbanded during 1914-18 war through lack of government support. Commandant:  Col Sgt J Revill Sec in command: Sgt E A Lloyd

Blackburn & District School Sports Association (1996)

Blackburn & District SCOPE (1996)

Blackburn & District Scout Association (Council) (1988-2003)

Blackburn & District Shorthand Writers' Association                                 

                                                            secretary: J L Burgess (1889); secretaries: G E Lever and W G Kay (1895)

Blackburn & District Society of Magicians (The Modern Mystic League) (1914)

Blackburn & District Sports Council (1995) Community & Leisure Services Department Town Hall

Blackburn & District Stroke Group (1996-2003)

Blackburn & District Sunday School Cricket League (1895)

Blackburn & District Sunday School Football League (1915)

Blackburn & District Swimming club (1879) now Blackburn Centurions

Blackburn & District Table Tennis League (1962-87)

Blackburn & District Tape Sizers' Society

2 Victoria Street (1930-47)            secretary: J Hopwood (1930); T Southworth (1939); J Crawshaw (1947-51)

Blackburn & District Teachers' Association (1898-1921) NUT (1922)                  secretary: T Douthwaite (1922)

Blackburn District Textile Manufacturers Association (1982)

Blackburn & District Trades & Labour Council (1889)

Assembly Room Weavers Offices 1 Clayton Street (1893)                              secretary: G W Pickard (1893)

                                                                                               president: Austin Harker (1920-2); A Townsend (1922)

Blackburn & District Umpires' Association (1931) president: R A Gillibrand (1931) secretary G Beckett (1931)

Blackburn & District Weavers', Winders' and Warpers' Association (1903-71)

Clayton Street; 29 Wellington Street (St Johns);                                                secretary: Councillor L Bates JP (1922)

Blackburn & District Wholesale Co-operative Union Ltd. Victoria Street

                                                                                                                        secretary: A Carter (1903)

Blackburn & District Women's Centre (1996)

Blackburn & District Workshops for the Blind (1941)

                                                                                                    workshop: Thornber Street; Sales shop: Market hall;

Blackburn & District WRVS (1996)

Blackburn & District Youth Football Club (1996)

Blackburn & District Youth Hostels Association (1996)

Blackburn District Nurses' Association (incorporated) St. Peter Street   see below

The Blackburn District Nursing Association 1a Tacketts Street

                                                                                                               organising sec. Richard Wolstenholme (1915)

Blackburn District Nurses' Home St. Peter Street (1900-58); opened in 1900     

                                                                                                                        matron: Miss E Chadwick (1903-15)

Blackburn Drama Club (1964) used the Blackburn Technical College theatre for 37 years until 2001 giving some 137 plays and 530 performances. Thwaites Empire Theatre Ewood Blackburn.

Blackburn Dramatic & Musical Society (1924) Richmond Chambers (1924) secretary: Eric Jernous (1924)

Blackburn & East Lancashire Beekeepers' Association (2003)                Michael Birt

Blackburn & East Lancashire Model Railway Society (1996)

Blackburn & East Lancashire Merchants' and Traders' Association for the Protection of Trade (1870)

7 St. John's Place (1870) managers: Broadbent & Payne

Blackburn & East Lancashire Permanent Benefit Building Society (1870) Exchange Street 

                                                                                                                        secretary: W Lonsdale (1870)

Blackburn & East Lancashire Royal Infirmary (1865) Hollin Bank Bolton Road The site of 8 acres was purchased from J Feilden for £3,200 (1857) of which he returned £1,600. The foundation stone was laid on 24th May 1858 by William Pilkington Esq. mayor who gave £2,000 towards the building costs of £25,000 and £100 per year in perpetuity for the support of the institution. Designed by John Turnbull of Manchester and opened in 1865. In 1884 a new wing was added at a cost of £4,000 and a further addition the 'Victoria Wing' was made in 1901 costing £1,100 to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria opening without ceremony on 6th August. A nurses' home was built in 1893 at a cost of £6,000. In 1904 a children's Ward was added and in 1908 extensions were made costing £5,000. The title 'Royal' was conferred by King George V in 21/4/1914. The foundation stone for the War Memorial Wing was laid by Mrs Elma Yerburgh in 1924 and opened by her on 16 June 1928, this costing £90,000. Became a NHS hospital in 1948 A new multi-storey block was opened adjacent to Bolton Road in October 1965.

office: 15 Richmond Terrace (1886-1900)                                      

secretary: R Spencer and J Procter (1870) Joseph Eastwood (1878-89) N A Smith (1897-1930) Tom Dewhurst (1935-51) matron: Miss Whitton (1870) Miss L C Gibbon (1930) Miss E Townsend (1935-48)

Blackburn Education Offices (1941-60s) Library Street

Blackburn Electricity Works                                                                   see Electricity

Blackburn Esperanto Group (1951)

Blackburn Etrurians F C (1892) won the LFA Amateur Cup four times (1895-6,98-99,99-1900,1904-5) were members of the Lancashire Amateur League from 1899-1909 and were founder members.

Blackburn Evangelical Protestant Institute (1900), Kensington Chambers, Simmons Street (1900-3)

                                                                                                secretaries: W Knowles (1900) & E Slater (1900)

Blackburn Excelsior Co-operative Society Ltd grocers etc            

57 Billinge Street (1878-1915)                                                                     secretary: Robinson Jones (1881-1903)

48 Lambeth Street (1947)                                                        secretary: T Crane (1930); Simeon Sayer (1939-51)

Blackburn Exchange Company Limited King William Street (1878-1900)           

                                                                        secretary: L Edleston (1878-1900) manager William Kenyon (1909)

Blackburn Executive Council (National Health Service) Cardwell Place (1951-66) clerk: E Stevenson (1951)

'Blackburn Express and Standard' office Church Street (1889)

Blackburn Family Planning Association (1996)

Blackburn Fellowship for the Hard of Hearing (1996)

Blackburn Female Friendly Society (1867) held at the Black Stag Inn Bottomgate

Blackburn Festival (1979)

Blackburn Festival of (Speech, Music & Dance) Verse Speaking and Drama (1979) Blackburn Ballet Music & Drama Festival (1994)

Blackburn Field Naturalists' Society,                                                   secretary: J D Geddes (1885)

The Blackburn Film Service Lord St. West                                                       J J Winterbottom (1915)

Blackburn Film Society

Blackburn Fire Brigade formed in 1794                                                            see Fire Brigade Stations

Blackburn Volunteer Fire Brigade (1875-1900) 12 personnel with 3 manuals and 1 steamer. Captain Boyle commanded with Lieutenant Joseph Watson

Blackburn Floral & Horticultural Society (pre 1852)                         secretary: R B Dodgson Esq (27/9/1852)

                                                                                    chairman W H Turner Esq vice-chairman Mr Thomas Houlker

Blackburn Floral Art Group (1979)

Blackburn Flower club (1998-2003)

Blackburn Folk club (1999) Fleece Inn Penny Street

Blackburn Folk Dance and Song Society (1994)

Blackburn Free Church & Community Centre (1995) Blackburn Ragged School Bent Street

Blackburn Free Church Women's Council (1900+) formed mainly of Baptist and Congregational churches

Blackburn Free Library, Museum and Art Gallery Library Street (Museum St.); library: Town Hall Street (old co-operative building); £5000,000 re-fit in 2002-3;                                                see Blackburn Library

chief librarian and curator: D Geddes (1870-89); R Ashton (1903-30); J Hindle FLA (1939); J W Thomas FLA (1951)

Blackburn Friendship club (2003)

Blackburn Gaslight & Coke Company                                                 see Gas        

'Blackburn Gazette' started in 1832 by a Mr Rogerson ceased 1843 printed and published by John Burrell bookseller Church Street 4 1/2p was a Liberal organ

Blackburn General Dispensary King Street established at a public meeting on 26th December 1823. Eventually became the Blackburn & East Lancashire Infirmary.

Blackburn Gentlemen's Glee club (18--)

Blackburn Geologists Association (1979)

The Blackburn Gilbert & Sullivan Society founded in 1963 gave the “Gondoliers" as its first production. Miss Ruth Prest was a founder member.

Blackburn (Division) Girl Guides' Association (1988-2003)

Blackburn Girls' Brigade 5th Blackburn Company (1995) Blackburn Ragged School Bent Street

Blackburn Girls' High School                                                                see Blackburn High School for Girls

Blackburn Girls' High School Company Ltd. (1892) Capital £10,000 6 Richmond Terrace

Directors: T Mitchell Eccles James Hargreaves secretary: Joseph -------

Blackburn Glee and Madrigal Society (1923)

Blackburn Golf Club Beardwood Brow was established 1894 the prime mover being Walter Stirrup architect                                                                                                                                 see Blackburn Golf Club – 100 years

Blackburn Goods Yard Bolton Road alos former home of Blackburn Station

Blackburn Grammar School                                                                   see Grammar School

Gramaphone Society (Blackburn) (1979-94)

Blackburn Grand Opera Co (1909)

Blackburn, Great Harwood, Padiham & Rose Grove loop-line opened 15th October 1877

Blackburn Greyhound Racing Track (1966) Hill Street Stadium

Blackburn Greys Ladies' Circle (719) (1988)

Blackburn Greys Round Table (883) (2003)

Blackburn Grocers' Association 4 Strawberry Bank (1893-58); 47 Warrington Street (1960s);                                                                                                                                                             secretary: R Edgar Dixon (1942-51)

(The) Blackburn Grocers' Company (dissolved 1835)

Blackburn Guardian Society for the Protection of Trade 7 Lord St. West (1852-1958) 2 Strawberry Bank (1960s)                          secretary: J B S Sturdy (1852); secretary & sols; E & B Haworth & Nuttall (1903-51)

Blackburn Hand Bell Ringers Band (1860)

Blackburn Harriers & Athletic Club established 1910 at Pleckgate

Blackburn-Haslingden (A677) turnpike road opened in 1790-1

Blackburn Hawks ice hockey team formed when Blackburn Arena was in opened January 1991

Blackburn Health Insurance committee 44 Ainsworth Street (1930-47)    clerk: Henry Whittaker (1930-47)

'The Blackburn Herald' Ltd.18 Richmond Terrace (1930-1) 19 Mincing Lane (1939-51) published every Thursday / Friday (1947-51)

Blackburn Hibernian Society (1835)

Blackburn High School for Girls Spring Mount 103 Preston New Road (1883-1961) Troy (1939-51) and Crosshill at Crosshill Road (opened September 1917) co-ed preparatory school until 1932. Founded and opened 18th September 1883 by James Hargreaves & W H Brewster.

Founded by James Hargreaves and Thomas Mitchell Eccles in 1883 in the home of Dr. James Barlow opening on 18th September Extended in 1892 Moved to Witton Park in 1961 and absorbed in 1968 into Witton Park High School. Spring Mount was demolished in the 1990s and the organ made by Harrison & Harrison of Durham was dismantled by Messrs David Wells of Liverpool and now resides within the East organ case in Lancaster Priory.

head mistress: Mrs MacDonald (1889) Miss Marion Green (1897) Miss Florence Tate of Clifton High school (1898-1903)  principal/headmistress: Miss Margaret Gardner MA (1909-30) Miss Burrows MA (1939-42) Miss E A Hopkins MA (1946-51)

Blackburn Higher Elementary School Blakey Moor (1924-35)

Blackburn (C of E) Higher Grade School (1889-1935) Darwen Street boys, girls and infants Extension designed by Stones & Gradwell archts. Richmond Terrace and built by Lewis builders in 1895 at a cost of £2,500.                                                                                          head master: Nicholas Taylor (1889) H W Boddy B Sc. (1897-1909)

Blackburn Higher Grade School (Public) (1897) Preston New Road  

                                                                                                       head master James W Caithness BA (1897-1909)

Blackburn Hindu Centre (1995)

Blackburn Hockey Club (1954)                                                  president T Finch (1954)

Blackburn Horticultural Society (1826) held a show on Alexandra Meadows for three days in Whit-week 1873

Blackburn Hospital Players (1994)

(In Blackburn Hundred) Domesday Book 1086-7

            King Edward held BLACKBURN. There are 2 hides and 2 carucates of land. The church had had (sic) 2 bovates of this land, and the church ST MARY had 2 carucates of land in Whalley quit of every customary due. In the same manor (is) woodland 1 league long and as much broad, and there was a hawk's eyrie.

            To this manor or HUNDRED belonged 38 free men holding 5 ½ hides and 40 carucates of land as 28 manors There is woodland 6 leagues long and 4 leagues broad, and they were (subject) to the above customary dues.

            In the same HUNDRED King Edward had Huncoat at 2 carucates of land, and Walton-le-Dale at 2 carucates of land, and Pendleton at half a hide.

            The whole manor with the HUNDRED rendered at farm to the king £32.2s

            Roger de Poitou gave the whole of theis land to Roger de Bully and Albert Greslet, and there are as many men who have 11 ½ ploughs, (to) whom they themselves have granted quittance (from rent) for 3 years, and therefore it is not valued.

Blackburn Hundred Pitt Club founded in 1814 and held an anniversary dinner at the Hotel King Street 28/5/1828.

Blackburn, Hyndburn & Ribble Valley Community Health Council (1974)

Blackburn Ice Arena (1991) Lower Audley Street Blackburn

Blackburn Ice Hockey Development Association (2003)

Blackburn Improvement Act       Surveyors Office Chapel Street (1842) James Bury surveyor

Blackburn Incorporated Law Association (Society) and Library Richmond Chambers (1903-51);

secretary: George Porter (1903); Richard Wilding (1912-15) & R Bonney (1915); Harry Schofield (1930); G Nicholas (1935); J W Hollows (1939-51) librarian: William Parkinson (1930); R Entwistle (1951)

Blackburn Independent Academy                                                                     see Blackburn Academy

Blackburn Indoor Bowling League (1988)

Blackburn Industrial Music Circle (1946-52)

Blackburn Industrial Provident Society (shopkeepers) (1870) 79 High Street Nova Scotia

Blackburn Industrial (Provident Society) and Co-operative Provision Society Ltd. grocers, drapers, clog & shoe makers. Merged with Grimshaw Park and Daisyfield in 1920 to form Blackburn (Amalgamated) Co-operative Society

Central Stores (4) 10 York Street (1878-81); office 3 Procter Street (1881); branches: (79) 69 Bolton Road (1870); 79 High Street Nova Scotia (1878); 6 James' Street (1870); 20 Park Road (1878); 22 Canterbury Street (1878); 7 Ivy Street (1878); 4 Hollin Bank Buildings (1878-81);

manager: Robert Smith (1881); secretary: Nathan Rostron (1878-81); manager: P Duerden; secretary P H Smalley (1915)

Blackburn Infectious Diseases Hospital                                                         see Park Lee

Blackburn Inner Wheel club (1988)

Blackburn Insurance Committee 44 Ainsworth Street (1935-47)    clerk: Harry Whittaker (1935-47)

Blackburn International Club 14 Astley Gate (1951)

Blackburn International Piano Week (1994)

'Blackburn Journal' a tory competitor started 21st December 1822 by Thomas Rogerson and ceased after a few weeks

Blackburn Jubilee Boys' Club Tontine Street (1939)

Blackburn Junior Chamber of Commerce founded in 1960s

Blackburn Judo Association (1965) now Blackburn Martial Arts club

Blackburn Juvenile Employment Bureau Richmond Terrace (1939-47) secretary: G F Hall B Sc (1939-57)

Blackburn Labour Party 52a Victoria Street                                         secretary: George R Shepherd (1915)

            Cort Street (1929) Clayton Street (1941-8)

Blackburn Ladies' Auxiliary of the Licensed Trade (1996)

Blackburn Ladies' Choir (1915)

Blackburn Ladies' Circle (318) (1988)

Blackburn Ladies' Bowling League (1988-2002)

Blackburn Ladies' Speakers club (1988)

Blackburn Law Library Richmond Terrace (1942-7)               librarian: W Chappell (1942); R Entwistle (1946-7)

Blackburn Law Students' Debating Society Richmond Chambers Richmond Terrace (1930-51);

                                                            secretary: Geoffrey Kershaw (1930); J Yates (1935); J W Hollows (1939-51);

Blackburn Liberal (Registration) Association Reform Club Victoria Street (1930-5)

                                           secretary & agent: A G Matkin (1930); Miss Kathleen Scott (1930); T E Bennett (1935)

Blackburn Licensed Victuallers' Association (1851-1923)              secretary: W Durham (1852)

Blackburn Life Saving Club (1988) Belper Street Baths

Blackburn Light Operatic Society (1980) Winsor Hall           see Blackburn Amateur Dramatic & Musical Society

Blackburn Lions club (1983)

Blackburn Literary (club) Society (1870-1958) Cobden Buildings 6 Cort Street (1870); re-founded 1921 Jubilee Assembly Room Market Hall (1921-40);

                                                hon secs: G L Bliss & J F Cooper; H W Holgate (1932-4); John Sharples (1935-56);

Blackburn Literary & Philosophical Society King Street (housing a museum) founded 26th July 1843

                                                                                                president: Joseph Feilden; secretary: Richard Cardwell.

Blackburn Literary Scientific & Mechanics' Institute (1855)                       secretary: W E Taylor (1855)

Blackburn Local History Society (5/1989-2011) Blackburn Library

Blackburn Lower Division Rifle Corps (formed 1852) volunteers

Blackburn Loyal Local Association of Volunteers (250 strong) formed in 1798 under the command of Captain Henry Sudell of Woodfold Park. Forerunners of the corps of riflemen and artillerymen of King Street and Canterbury Street barracks

'The Blackburn Magazine of Knowledge and Pleasure' published by Benjamin Simpson printer of Water street

Blackburn Magistrates' Court Poor Box (1953-4)

'Blackburn Mail' office 2 Water Street started 29th May 1793; Fleming Square; ceased 1832

Publication day Wednesday                 editors: Jonathan Waterworth (1793-6); Joseph Hanby (1796-1821)                                                                          Elizabeth Hanby (1921); Thomas Hansby (11 years)

Blackburn Male Voice Choir (1955-65) formed by Fred Smith conductor James Metcalfe

Rehearsed at Queen's Hall

Blackburn Managers' Mutual Association 208 London Road (1930)        secretary: J Bradley (1930)

Blackburn Market (opened for business 28/1/1848) Sudell's Croft architect Terence Flanagan costing £9,000

Separate Fish Market added 1868

Blackburn Market Tenants' Association                                                         secretary: R Goldstone (2000-2)

Blackburn Martial Arts Academy (2003) St Bede's RC High school LiveseyBranch Road Blackburn

Blackburn Masonic Hall Co. Ltd. Richmond Terrace (1930-2002) 

                                                         secretary: F Osborne (1930-5); Harry Smith (1939-42); T E Richmond (1946-7)

Blackburn Master Bakers' and Confectioners' Association (1923)          secretary: Y Holden (1923)

                                                                                                president: T H Carr (1922); Thomas Chadburn (1923)

Blackburn Master Cotton Spinners' and Manufacturers' Association 13 Richmond Terrace (1885)

6 Richmond Terrace (1897) 54 Church Street (1900)          secretary: Joseph Watson (1885-97) John Taylor (1900)

Blackburn Maternity & Child Welfare Centre Victoria Street (1930)

Blackburn Meister Singers (1890-1930/1939)                                                 president: William Coddington (1892)

Hon. Secretary: J W Clough (1930)                                                                       president: John A Ormerod JP (1930)

performed 'HMS Pinafore' & Iaolanthe (1891); 'Princess Ida' & Olivette (1892); The Yeoman of the Guard at The Palace Theatre (1929);

'Blackburn Mercury' started 17th June 1843 by Hargreaves and Gill of King William Street and ceased about 1847

Blackburn Methodist Mission (1947) Queen's Hall Darwen Street

Blackburn Mill Managers' Association (1878) merged with Preston and Bolton to form the Noth Lancahsire Textile Management Association closed down in 2008

Blackburn Mineral Waters Co. Ltd. Pearson Street (1878-81)                      manager: John McGeorge (1878-81)

Blackburn Mission Brotherhood (1920) Club Room 10 Clayton Street Sunday Meetings in The Palace 3 to 4 o'clock                                                                                                 president Rev J W Allcock Hon Sec T Leach

Blackburn Municipal Parks Amateur Bowling Association (1926-45)      secretary: Fred Lunt (1945)

Blackburn Music Society (1942) King George's Hall                         secretary: Irene M Scotts (1942)

Blackburn Musical Theatre Company (2007) Thwaites Empire Theatre Ewood see Blackburn Amateur Dramatic & Musical Society

Blackburn Mutual Permanent Benefit Building Society 14 Adelaide Street (1852)

                                                                                                                        secretary: R Townley (1852)

Blackburn NALGO Angling club (2003)

Blackburn Naturalists Field Club (1915-96) 27 Ainsworth Street    secretary: J Smith (1915)

Blackburn Netball League (1988)

Blackburn Northern Cricket & Tennis Club formed at the St James' Sports Ground (1938) Pleckgate Road

Blackburn Northern Hockey club (2003)

Blackburn Nurses' Home                                                                                 see Blackburn & District Nurses' Home

Blackburn Old Bank (1856)                                                                                 see Messrs Cunliffes Brooks & Co.

Blackburn Old Contemptibles' Association (1951)

Blackburn Old Mill (1848) a flourmill along side of the Blakewater at the bottom of Mill Lane

Blackburn Old People's Welfare Society (1953-4)

Blackburn Old Road (1966)

Blackburn Olympic Cricket and Football Club (1882) Hole i' th' Wall, Shear Brow winners of the FA Cup in 1883                                                                                                              secretary: William Bramham (1885)

Blackburn Operative Spinners' Association (1924) 9 Peter Street (1924); 20 Mincing Lane (1946)

                                                                                                                        secretary: J Johnson JP (1924)

Blackburn Orchestral Society                                                                secretary: Leslie D Brothers (1922)

Blackburn Orphanage Whalley Road Wilpshire first building opened 1891 second building (girls' home) foundation stone laid on 20th July 1905. Designed by Briggs & Wolstenholme architects Blackburn. Foundation stone laid by John Rutherford Mayor of Blackburn 1st September 1889 and opened on 23rd July 1891                                                                                            superintendent: James Dixon (1891-1935) Tom Street (1942-51)

Closed 1986 now Child Action Northwest                                                          see Blackburn Child Care Society

Blackburn Orphanage Cup donated by Sir John Rutherford in which local football teams compete annually and raise money for the Orphanage

Blackburn Orpheus Glee and Madrigal Union (pre 1889) Denis Towers (tenor) Denis Baron (alto) Harry Abbott (second tenor) Robert Birkett (bass);

Blackburn Outdoor Airgun club (1996)

Blackburn and Padiham Railway opened 15th October 1877

Blackburn Parish Church Men's Club (1903) president: Bishop Thornton; secretary J Ingham and treasurer Tom Parkinson

Blackburn Parish Tithe Committee (1819) organised sale of all tithes within the Township of Blackburn sums to be paid by landowners at the New Inn on Saturday 27th February 1819 at 11 o'clock

Blackburn Park Road F C (1878) founder member Lancashire Football Association Won the LFA Junior Cup.

Blackburn Parks Bowling League (1963)

Blackburn Partnership was launched by the Prince of Wales on 2nd June 1988

'Blackburn Patriot' (1864-70) 17 King William Street (Saturdays)                James Walkden (1870)

Blackburn People's Animal Clinic (1930s) Brewery Street

Blackburn People's choir (2003)

Blackburn Perpetual Benefit Building Society (1852) 7 Clayton Street                secretary: John Clough (1852)

Blackburn Personal Services Society (1939-1980)

12 Simmons Street (1939-66) Harrison House Simmons Street (1969-70)                                                                                                                                                   secretary: Miss J L Smith (1951) Mrs R Smith jt. (1969-70)

Blackburn Pharmaceutical committee (1939-51) (24) 16 Richmond Terrace; secretary: Fred Law (1939-51)

Blackburn Philanthropic Burial Society (1839) Leyland Street (1852) 3 Princes Street (1870-94) was formed in 1839 with 140,000 members covering Blackburn, Darwen, Accrington and surrounding villages. The person responsible was Thomas Wetherill d May 1840 buried St Mary's Church, Blackburn. Income £14,000 per annum King Street (1903)

secretaries: A Emmett (1852) William Crossley (1870) Abraham Culshaw (1894) W C Lamonby (1903)

president Thomas Austin

Blackburn Philanthropic Mutual Assurance Society (late 19th c-1966) Mutual Buildings Darwen Street

                                                                                                                  secretary & manager Fred Dewhurst (1947)

Blackburn Philanthropic Mutual Insurance Co. (1870) 3 Princes Street  secretary: William Crossley (1870)

Blackburn Philharmonic (Choral) Society (1822-66) 36 Darwen Street; 57 Preston New Road (1897-1900) 

conductor: William Tattersall (1897-1900) secretary: Owen Phoenix (1922-3) William Durham

Blackburn Philosophical & Scientific Society (founded 1944-58)            

                                                                                                 secretary L W C Maidment DFC BSc FRGS (1954-5)

Blackburn Photography Society (1951) 60 Victoria Street

Blackburn Phrenological and Geological Society (1840)                            president : Thomas Wilson (1840)

Blackburn Pickwick Club (1903)

Blackburn Picture Palace Co. Ltd., Mincing Lane                                          see Central Hall

Blackburn Pitt club

Blackburn 100 Pitt club (1814) meetings held at the New Inn

Blackburn Police Court Prison Gate Mission & Detention House, 145 Preston New Road (1930-5);

                                                                                                                         superintendent: W Bebbington (1930-5)

Blackburn Poor Law Union was formed on 17th January 1837 overseen by a Board of Guardians, 29 in number under the chairmanship of John Lister. This was the body in charge of children's Cottage Homes on Queen's Road and the work-house. A workhouse had been in operation in Blackburn as early as 1777.

A purpose built workhouse was built on the corner of Kay Street and Merchant Street (Workhouse Street later Hurchinson Street) Grimshaw Park in 1791. A new workhouse was planned for the Whinny Edge site off Haslingden Road and the foundation stone was laid on 20th April 1861 opening on the 16th February 1864. Designed by J E & J D Oates it cost £30,000 and was to accommodate some 1,000 inmates.

Blackburn Prayer Book Society

Blackburn & Preston Railway (now the East Lancashire line), at a length of 9 ¾ miles from Farington Station the works were commenced in September 1844 and completed in May 1846 at a cost of £160,000. It was opened on Whit Monday 1st June 1846.

Blackburn Printers Society Victoria Street (1915)

Blackburn Probus Club (1988)

Blackburn Property Owners' (and Ratepayers') Association 33 Richmond Terrace (1912) 1a Tacketts Street (1915-63) 21 Victoria Street (1966)

secretary: A B Weall (1930); A Hindle (1935); T Birtwistle (1939-47); J Duxbury (1947); Alfred Astley (1951)

Blackburn Provincial Operative Cotton Spinners Association 7/9 St. Peter Street; 20 Mincing Lane (1947-51);      president: W S Gregson;                    secretary; J Johnson JP (1912-15); J Clarke (1947); H Read (1951)

Blackburn Public Higher Grade School (1903) Preston New Road

Boys head master: James W Caithness (1903); Girls' New Park Street: Miss Mary A Johnstone (1903)

Blackburn Public Prize Band (1946)

Blackburn Radio Hospitals (1996)

Blackburn Radio Society of Great Britain (1937)

Blackburn Ragged School Church                                                                   see Ragged School

Blackburn Rambling Association (1930-96)

Blackburn Ratepayers Action Group (formed 1966)

Blackburn Rectory (1752-65)

Blackburn Referees' Association (1922)                                                         chairman: W S Brearley (1922)

Blackburn Reform Club (1863)                                                               see Reform Clubs

The (Blackburn) Renaissance Singers (1994-6)

Blackburn Rifle Club (1942) Quarry Street (1951) Canterbury Street Barracks, Open Air Range Moorgate off King's Road (1957)

Blackburn Road, Knuzden Brook (1966)

Blackburn Road, Moss Bridge (1966)

Blackburn Road Runners (1996-2003)

Blackburn Rotaract club (1988)                                                             president: Shaun Gibson (1990)

Blackburn Rotary club (1921)                                                                 hon. agent: J W Carmichael (1923)

Inaugural dinner held at Old Bull Hotel in 1921. “Homerton" 257 Preston New Road (1951)

Blackburn Round Table No 83 (1988)

Blackburn Rovers Disabled Supporters' club (1995)

Blackburn Rovers Family Club (1995)

Blackburn Rovers Football and Athletic Co. Ltd. Alexandra Meadows (1878-81) Leamington Street (8/12/1881-1885) 3 New Water Street (1897) Ewood Park (1939);

secretary: James H Fielding (1885) J Walmsley (1897-1903) R B Middleton (1909-15) and manager Arthur Barritt (1930-5) Reg. H Taylor (1939-42)                                                              see Ewood Park

Blackburn Rovers Supporters' Club (1951)

Blackburn Rugby Union Football Club Ramsgreave Drive re-formed in 1920 originally having played from 1877 at Pleckgate Hole 'ith Wall and Four Lane Ends. From 1920 matches were played on the Yellow Hills before moving to Ramsgreave Drive in 1933. Won Thwaites' Lancashire Trophy in 2004 the first trophy in 125 years     

                                                                                                secretary: P Watson (1939); C I W Ibbotson (1942-51)

Blackburn Rural District Council office Union Offices Cardwell Place (1899) 4 King Street (1924-35)

42 Wellington St. St. John's (1935-58);

clerk: R C Radcliffe (1899); John Birch (1924-35); J B McClurg (1939-42); Philip A Clifford (1946-51); surveyor and engineer: Leslie D Brothers MIME MICE (1930-42) 11 Richmond Terrace; Walter Johnson (1947);

Blackburn Rural District Food Control office 35 Wellington Street St John's, (1942-51)

Blackburn Rythm club (1942) Victoria Street founded by Freda Barker pre runner of Blakey's

Blackburn St. Andrew's F C (1879)

Blackburn St. George's F C (1878) founder member Lancashire Football Association

Blackburn St. Mark's F C (1878) founder member Lancashire Football Association

Blackburn Salvation Army   Citadel

Blackburn Salvation Army band

Blackburn Sauce manufactured by James R Parkinson wholesale druggist & drysalter of Ainsworth Street in 1878

Blackburn (Trustee) Savings Bank was opened on the 7th March 1818, Clayton Street in 1831 moved to 6 Lord Street West in 1867.

James Hargreaves (1828-9) agen:t Thomas Atkinson actuary: William Henry Morrice (1848) agent: Thomas Brennand actuary: John Garstang (1852) actuary: William Wood (1878-1903) cashier John William Ratcliffe (1881) clerk Thomas Parkinson (1881-1906) actuary: Thomas Parkinson (1900-12) W H Whalley JP (1915-35) William Hindle (1939-47) Albert Darwent (1951-61)

In 1903 the number of depositors was 23,000 having been 6,501 in 1874

Blackburn Savings Committee (1951) Savings Bank Lord Street West

Blackburn School of Art, Science and Technical School Kensington Place Sudell Cross opened 24 September 1883.                                                                          headmaster: A G Grubb (1885-9); secretary: W Ditchfield (1889)

Blackburn School Board office (Elementary Education Sub-committee (1903), founded in January 1871, the board consisted of 13 members with their office at 14 Richmond Terrace (1871-81) Library Street (1897-1903)

First chairman Sir Harry Hornby                      clerk: William Ditchfield (1871-81) Nicholas Taylor (1897-1903)

Blackburn School of Irish Dancing (founded 1960)

Blackburn Schools' Athletic Association (1933) formed to control the affairs of football, athletics, swimming (1905) and girls' games.

Blackburn Schools' Football Association the Harry Boyle Cup (1897-8) was famous in football circles

                                                                                   see Blackburn & Darwen Schools' Football Association (1974)

Blackburn Science and Art School (evening department) Paradise Lane (1878-81)

principal: Thomas Isherwood (1878-81)

Blackburn Scotch Travellers' Association (founded 1/7/1837)

Blackburn Sea Cadets (1964-2011) TS Mohawk Philips Road (2005-8); Somme TA Barracks (2008-11); new building Somme Barracks Moss Street (2011);

Blackburn Senior Gateway Club (1995) over 16s YMCA Clarence Street

Blackburn Shooting Stars Majorette Troup (1996)

Blackburn Sinfonia (1980-96) Billinge High School

Blackburn Skating club (2003)

Blackburn Skating Rink and Recreation Grounds Canterbury Street       manager: James Ramskill (1881-9)

Blackburn Skating school (2003)

Blackburn Small-holdings and Allotments Society formed 24th January 1908

Blackburn Society of Arts and Crafts 9 Exchange Street                             secretary: L Airey (1915)

Blackburn Society of Friends (1824-1979)

Blackburn Solitaire club (1995) Ewood WMC Bolton Road

Blackburn Soroptomists International (founded 1936)

Blackburn Southend Homing Society (2004)

Blackburn Spiritualist Temple (1969) St Peters Street closed 2013 and demolished 2014. New church designed by Lea Hough Chartered Surveyors and built by Rosslee Construction Ltd opened Princes Street off King Street 3/11/2013

Blackburn Sports and Leisure Centre Feilden Street jointly Blackburn council and Blackburn College. Opened Monday 9th March and officially opened by Rebecca Adlington OBE 20th March 2015.

'Blackburn Standard' office (9) 5 Duke Street (1835) 17 King William Street (1835-85) 41 Church Street (1889); founded on 21 January 1835 (Wednesdays) by James Walkden (1835-71)

a Saturday edition first printed in 1832. Wednesdays (1870)                          editor: Benjamin Bryan (1878-81);

publishers: James Walkden (1848-71) bookseller printer & stationer Victoria Street; Henry Davies & Co.

(1878-81); North East Lancashire Printing & Publishing Co Ltd est 1832;  manager: S T Weston (1903)

Blackburn Strauss Orchestra (1901)

Blackburn Street (1870-1941) from 1 Whalley Range to Wimberley Street Nos 1-89 and 2-74

Blackburn Stroke club (1995)

Blackburn Sub-Aqua club (2003)

Blackburn Subscription Bowling Green Club Cicely Hole (pre 1739); St Peter's Street near to Free Grammar School opened 13th May 1847; Shear Bank Road 1867;

The central portion of the pavilion was built by Alderman Henry Duckworth in 1869 later extensions were made.

Secretary: M M Margerison (1900)

Blackburn Subscription Library Fleming Square                                          librarian: Thomas Atkinson (1828-9)

Blackburn Sunday Football League (1988)

Blackburn Sunday School Billiard League (1904)

Blackburn Sunday School Union (Mission) 20 Albany Road (1930-47); 29 Lynthorpe Road (1951);                                                                                                              secretary: H S Fish (1930-47); secretary: T H Smalley (1951)

Blackburn Swimming club (1881) 18 New Market Street (1881); Primrose Bank (1930-5); 33 Preston New Road (1942-51)                                               secretary: Joseph Jenkin (1881); J Brunskill (1930-9); A E Briscoe (1942-51)

Blackburn Symphony Orchestra (1965-2014) musical director Richard Haworth (2013-4)

Blackburn Table Tennis League (2003)

Blackburn Tailors' Co-operative Society Ltd. 28 Mincing Lane;            manager: E Duxbury; secretary W Harris

Blackburn Tape Sizers' Society (Association) 2 Victoria Street (1912-25); secretary: J W Ainsworth (1912-25)

Blackburn Teachers' Orphan Fund (1898)

Blackburn Technical College                                                                 see Technical College

Blackburn Technical College F C was a member of the Lancashire F A League from 1924-1974 runners up in the Lancashire Amateur Cup to Old Blackburnian's in 1947.

Blackburn Technology Management Centre Greenbank Business Park built in 1994 by John Sisk (Northern) Ltd. consists of 20 workshops with reception.

Blackburn Technical School (1897-1915) Blakey Moor

secretary: A W King (1897-1903) A H Whipple (1912-15)        principal: R H Pickard D Sc Ph D (1909)            

Blackburn Technical High school (1946) Blakey Moor became Blackburn Technical & Grammar school (until 1966) moving to Beardwood

Blackburn Temperance Club and Society's Public House 12 Cort Street (1878)

                                                                                                                        manager: William B Barnes (1878)

Blackburn Temperance Public House and Club Co. Ltd. 12 Cort Street (1881)

                                                                 manager: Edward Owens (1881); secretary: Richard Wolstenholme (1881)

Blackburn Temperance Society (formed in 1831- 1931) by Rev Francis Skinner DD and held its meetings at the Music Hall Market Street Lane

Blackburn Textile Management Association (1996)

Blackburn Textile Manufacturers' Association (1902-83)

Blackburn Textile Society (formed 1921)

           hon. secretary: A W Pickup “Dorley" Sunnyhurst Lane Darwen (1958): president: William Sturzaker (1951)

Blackburn Theatre Trust Ltd (1983)                                                      see Empire Theatre

Blackburn Thursday Amateur Football League (1895)

F Hargreaves secretary of the LFA was also chairman of the league for 10 years

'The Blackburn Times' established 2nd June 1855. Saturday edition (1870) priced 1d; Friday edition in 1951. Moved from 1 Corporation Street to 76/82 Northgate on 16 June 1902 ceased production in 1982.

publishers: J G & J Toulmin (1870-1903); proprietors: George Toulmin (1903); George Toulmin & Sons (1930); Provincial Newspapers  (1939-51)

Blackburn Tower Speakers' Club (1996)

Blackburn Townswomen's Guild (Oct 1954)

Blackburn Trades Council and Labour Party Victoria Chambers Victoria Street (1930-5); 21 Clayton Street (1939-66) merged in 1923                                                                          secretary: George B Eddie (1930-51)

Blackburn Tradesmen's Association 20 Richmond Terrace (1909)

                                                                                                                        president: Coun. W Kenyon (1909)                                                                                                                 secretary: W I Garland (1909); V Manley (1909-12)

Blackburn Tradesmen's Glass Association 4 Strawberry Bank (1951)    secretary: J Edgar Dixon (1951)

Blackburn Tramway Men's Institute 1 Fleming Square (1912)       secretary: H West (1915); Fred Berry (1924-5)

Ainsworth Street (1939)                                                                              secretary: R Barker (1939)

Blackburn Trinity F C (1914-5) played 28 games winning all including 3 trophies

Blackburn Trustee Savings Bank                                                                     see Blackburn Savings Bank

Blackburn Turkish Baths Richmond Terrace opened 25/5/1891by Blackburn Turkish Baths Co Ltd who operated them until liquidated on 6/3/1920                  lessee and manager: A Arbury (1894-1903); G H Hinchcliffe (1912-20)

Blackburn Typographical Society (1871-1981)

Blackburn Union Club (1870) 11 Church Street (1870)                     secretary: Joseph Ward

Blackburn Union office Cardwell Place foundation stone laid by James Hoyle 22/12/1886 architects Stones and Gradwell MSa 10 Richmond terrace. House the Guardians of the Poor. Demolished after later use being the Registrar's Office

Blackburn Victoria Benefit Building Society (1870) 17 Market Street Lane    sol. William Pickop

Blackburn Vocal Society (1896)

Blackburn Water Polo Team won the English Championships in 1923 under the captaincy of Richard (Dick) Hodgson

Blackburn Waterworks Company (1870) (4) 2 Clayton Street                     see Water

Blackburn Waterworks office Municipal Offices                                             see Water

Blackburn WEA (1938-55)

Blackburn Weavers' Winders' Warpers' Association Clayton Street (founded 1853-1964);

Wellington Street St John's (1964-  );

'Blackburn Weekly News' office Victoria Street (1915)

'Blackburn Weekly Standard & Express' 41 Church Street (1903-4) manager: Samuel Thomas Weston (1903)

'Blackburn Weekly Telegraph' office Railway Road                                      Saturdays

proprietor and publisher: Thomas P Ritzema (1903-15); North-Western Newspaper Co. Ltd. (1930);

'Blackburn Weekly Times' 31 Lord Street Liberal newspaper born out of the demise of The Darwen Examiner   

Edition No 1 Saturday 2nd June 1855 priced 1d.

proprietor & publisher: Frederic Joseph Nichols (1855-58) printer & stationer

Blackburn Wesleyan Mission band

Blackburn West Rotary Club (1996)

Blackburn Women's Liberal Association (1922)

Blackburn Workshop's Bowling League (1940)

Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council formed 1974. Education, Highways and Social Services however were still being administered by Lancashire C Council. Became unitary borough 1st April 1998 when these services were handed back

Blackburn with Darwen Carers Centre Oakenhurst Road

Blackburn with Darwen Council for Voluntary Service (2003)

Blackburn with Darwen Racial Equality Council (2003)

Blackburn with Darwen St. John Ambulance (2003)

Blackburn with Darwen Snooker League (2002) formed from Darwen Hotels League (1962) and Blackburn Hotels League

Blackburn with Darwen Sports Acro club (2004) Harrisons Gym Charles Street Blackburn

Blackburn with Darwen Youth Forum (2004)

Blackburn Waterworks Company (1844)                                                         see Water

Blackburn & Withnell Rifle Volunteers Corps (1864)

Blackburn Workshops for the Blind Thornber Street (1942-58); Mill Hill Street (1960s);                                                                                                                                                            manager: E Greenhalgh (1942-51)

Workroom for the Blind Women hosiery manufacturers Mayson Street (1912-15)

Blackburn Young Unionists League Club 41 Church Street                      secretary: J Seed (1915)

Blackburn Youth Employment Bureau Richmond Terrace (1951) secretary: G F Hall (1951)

Blackburn Youth Theatre (2001) Thwaites' (Red Brick) Theatre

Blackbutts (1750) Brown Street & north of John Street

Black Diamond Street (1870-1929) Bolton Road / 28 Highfield Road Nos 5-21 and 2-12

Black Hill Farm (1915-59) Haslingden Road Guide

Black Hill Farm Lower Darwen (1902-58)

Blackesnape (Blakesnape) (1614) Eccleshill

The Black Hole (1772) the tunnel from Blackburn Station on the Daisyfield side

Blackwater Street (1852) Penny Street

Blackyate (1831 map) now known as Pleckgate in Wilworth area

Blakewater College previously Everton High School since 2012 Tauheedul Islamic Boys' High School

Blakewater Lodge (1982)

Blakewater Street (1852-1966) Off Anvil Street Lark Hill

Blakey Court (1948-51) Blakey Street No 9 (1951)

Blakey Moor (Blakley, Blakeley, Blakely, Blaklemoor, Blakleymore, Bleakey Moor) originally large open space mentioned in 1249 as a park or chase in Blagborne Ville later with squalid slum property used for political meetings, fairs, cattle markets etc. 35 Northgate Nos 5-63 and 2-86

Blakey Moor (Central) Higher Elementary School (1911-15) mixed. Was erected in 1910-11 at a cost of £26,000; opened in July 1911 by the Right Hon. Walter Runciman, President of the Board of Education. Higher Elementary School (392 children) on first floor, ordinary Elementary School (421 children) on the ground floor and a ladies' plunge bath 75 ft by 25 ft was constructed in the basement costing £4,435 but closed in July 1998. There was provision for instruction in science, art, handicraft and domestic subjects. In 1920 the mixed classes were separated and two schools were formed – The boys' Central School upstairs (headmaster H W Boddy B Sc (1927) and the Girls' Central School downstairs (headmistress Miss W Alty MA (1927) they were evacuated in 1939 to Troy and never returned, they were evacuated from Troy to Spring Mount Preston New Road. Became Blakey Moor Secondary Modern School in 1944 with the newly created Blakey Moor Technical High School taking over the lower floor Closed as boys' secondary modern school in 1958 the pupils were transferred to the new Witton Park Secondary School. The Tech and Grammar pupils were moved to Billinge School 8 years later and their places taken by Bangor Street Secondary Modern boys who 2 years later moved to Pleckgate School merging with Blakey Moor Girls. The building was taken over by the Blackburn College Business & Secretarial Studies School in 1984. Demolished in 2002

Blakey Moor Co-operative Society (Limited) grocers, drapers etc

Central Stores: 26 & 30 Simmons Street (1870-8); Follywell Street; Frances Ann Street;

                                                                                                                        secretary: Thomas Collinson (1878)

Blakey Moor Council School (1947-51) senior boys and girls

Blakey Moor Industrial Co-operative Society Ltd. grocers, butchers, drapers, boot and shoe dealers Simmons Street.

Branches: 59 Follywell Street, Cherry Tree; 26 Adelaide Street; 47 Sarah Ellen Street; 32 Hazel Street; 231 Whalley New Road; 58 London Road; 20 New Bank Road; 157 Wensley Street; Eldon Street;

manager: Peter Duerden ; secretary: Thomas Collinson (1878); Walter Hatton (1903)

Blakey Moor Secondary Modern Boys' School (1951)

Blakey Moor Secondary Modern Girls' School (1951)

Blakey Street & back (1818-1966) 6 Winter Street Nos 11-49 and 32-86

Blakey Street Court (1929-59) off Blakey Street

Blakey Street Mission formed in 1894 in the former public house 'The Rock of Ages' it was to last for 60 years.                                                                                                             see St. George's

Blakewater the river, which is now largely under ground has plagued the town for centuries with winter floods and summer smells. Culverting in earnest commenced in 1962. It rises near School Lane Guide and flows due north, under Knuzden and along Abbott Clough through Whitebirk following closely the old parish boundary. It is joined by Little Harwood brook in the Greenbank area and then flows through the old Notre Dame grounds before going under the town eventually arriving at Witton Park and joining the River Darwen at Feniscliffe Bridge

Blakewater College Shadsworth Road was previously Shadsworth High School

Blakewater Street (1851-1959) 33 Larkhill Nos 7-41 and 4-38

Bleasdale's Band (1940) (Old Reno's) 48? Roney Street off Johnston Street

Blind Society for Blackburn and Darwen (1996)

Blow Up Cottages (1848-1900) Little Harwood named after explosion at nearby colliery in 1819. Local pond used for curling especially by the Rose and Crown pub team.

Boardman's Court (1844-1949) Redlam Witton later off Dale Street Whalley Banks

Board of Guardians ceased 27 March 1930                                                     see Select Vestry

Boardroom 8 King Street (1870);                           office: 8 King Street (1878); Cardwell Place (1901)

                                 clerks: Thomas Brennand (1878); Robert Carr Radcliffe (1901); Charles E Bygrave (1903-15)

Board of Trade Labour Exchange 100 Darwen Street opened in 1910. Central office for Blackburn Accrington Darwen and Rishton              district manager: Livingstone          manager: H N Grundy (1912); Tom Robinson (1915)

Ministry of Production Library Street (1946-7)                                    district manager: J L G Robinson (1946-7)

Boating Lake Queen's Park also used for skating in winter when the lake froze over until 1970s.

Bogart Barn (1836) Revidge

Bog Height (Bog Bank 1724) betwen Four Lane Ends and Earcroft on Broken Stone Road

Bog Height Road, Moss Bridge (1966)

Bog House (1851) Pleasington

Bohemian Club (1897) 3 New Market Street                             secretary: T Whittaker (1897)

Boland Street (1899) 21 Pine Street Nos 3-33 and 2-62

Bold Street (1870) 1 Randal Street to Wimberley Street Nos 1-93 and 16-82

Bold Street Sawmills (1903) J Widdup & Sons (1903-1945)

Bolton Darwen & Blackburn Railway Station Nova Scotia opened in 1848 demolished in 1881

Bolton Road (1851) 75 Great Bolton Street Nos 1-609 and 22-562 became Bolton Road between 1852 and 1854 having previously been High Street Nova Scotia

Bolton Road (1885) Lower Darwen Nos 200-460

Bolton Station (1870) Great Bolton Street

Bolton Street (1832-51) Richmond Hill

Bolton Street (Great) (Novas Lane) (1824-1903) Darwen Street St. John's / Nova Scotia Nos 1-75

Bolton's Court (1870-1990) 28 Richmond Terrace / Richmond Hill

Bolt Street (1870-1966) 2 Manner Sutton Street

Bombay Street (1899-1982) East Street Nos 2-72 to be bulldozed 2012

Bonaccord Mill nr Higher Audley Street Mill erected by W B Dewhurst in 1865-6. 4 storey, stone, spinning mill Built as a co-operative in the mid 1860s but leased to Glenny and Cruikshank (1870-3) cotton spinners Leased by E & T Knowles (1873-1885) cotton spinners & manufacturers, spinning ceased 1885 Then Shackleton's Corn Millers used it as a store. Gutted by fire in 1938 and later demolished

Bonaccord Street (1870-1966) 128 Higher Audley Street Nos 1-13 and 2

Bonchurch Street (1929-41) off Audley Range

Bond Street (1868-1903) from Nab Lane to 30 Feilden Street Nos 1-13 and 8-26

Bonsall Street (1903) Shorrock Lane Mill Hill Nos 49 & 73 and 6-60

Bonsall Terrace (1903-41) Bonsall Street / Shorrock Lane Mill Hill

Booth Street (1903) Nos 1-19 and 2-26

Boothman Street (1929-82) 11 Lower Hollin Bank Street

Boothman Street Mill owned by L & C Cotton (1930) cotton manufacturers

Borough Analyst (1924-47)          W H Roberts M Sc FCI Liverpool (1924-42); J F Clark MSc FRIC (1946-7);

Borough Arms Exchange Street Built by James Caughey in the 1850s

Borough Engineer's office (1897) Municipal Offices Victoria Street;          

Engineer: William B Bryan C E (1881) J B McCallum (1885-9) William Stubbs (1897-1915) H M Webb B Sc AMICE (1930) W Pickstone MInstCE MIMunE (1951)

Borough Improvement Rate Collector's office Municipal Offices Victoria Street;

collectors: G S King, Richard Kay, James Duckworth (1881)

collectors: W Barton (1889); G E Eastwood (1889-1915); George Pickup (1903) and Frank Duckworth (1889-1903)

Borough Magistrates' Clerk's Office (1897) Town Hall                                     clerk: Malam Brothers (1897)

Borough Police Fire Brigade Clayton Street (1852-89) formed on 1st March 1852                                                                                        superintendent: Thomas Marshall (1852); chief George Lewis, inspector J Fox (1889)

The force consisted of 1 superintendent; 1 sergeant and 10 constables

Borough Police Station (1870) Town Hall                                                        superintendent: William Laverty (1858)

chief constable: Joseph Potts (1870-8) Major H W Shoubridge B S C (1881) William Ward (1885) Isaac George  Lewis (1897-1912) C Hodson (1915)                                  inspectors: Thomas Houlden and Robert Eastwood (1870)

Sessions House Northgate:                                         chief constable: C Hodson OBE (1930); C G Looms (1939-51)

Borough Surveyors' office (1870-8) Town Hall                    Frederick Smith (1870); William B Bryan CE (1878)

Borough Treasurer's office (1870-81) Municipal Offices Victoria Street; Town Hall (1897-1951)

treasurer: Michael McManus (1870) William Counsell (1878) John H Bailey (1881-1915) R G Pye FSAA FIMTA FSS (1924-39) J Nennet ASAA (1947) N W E Hamm FIMTA ASAA (1951)

Borough Works (1903) 11 Mincing Lane Albert H Duckworth (1903) wire worker

Borrowdale Avenue (1982)

Borrowdale Road (1966)

Bottom Gate (Botham Gate) (1750) started at 49 Copy Nook to 172 Bottomgate then Furthergate Nos 1-131 and 2-172

Bottomgate Billiards Hall 51 Bottomgate                                                          J E Shorrock proprietor (1930)

Bottomgate Farm (1870)                                                                           John Barton (1870)

Bottomgate Independent School (1870)

Bottomgate Industrial Co-operative Society Ltd. grocers, drapers, tailors, clog and shoe makers. 4, 6, 8 & 5 Ordnance Street (1870-8); Walpole Street (1870); 129 Higher Audley Street (1878-81); 72 Withers Street (1878-81); 29 & 31 Furthergate (1878-81); (41) 49 Lower Audley Street (1878-81); 78 Audley Range (1878-81);                                           secretaries: Robert Walsh (1878-81); manager: John Bolton (1878); Timothy Grime (1881)

Bottongate Spring works (1958) James Crook complete mill furnishers.

Bottomgate Sunday School (1838-48)

Boulevard (Spring Gardens) a large open space going back to Roman times, as a causeway erected by Agricola crossed the Blakewater near Salford and the holy well probably supplied legionnaires with water. The 1822 Gillies' map shows it already taking shape alongside Hallows Spring Lane.

The railings, piers, lampholders and statue erected in 1905 were Grade 2 listed 1974. The cab shelter was erected in 1913 and removed in 1944. It was developed as a bus station (designed by the Borough Engineer's Department) by the use of Blakeley Shelters (covering an area of 5,000sq ft) and completed in May 1956.

Boundary mill Bastfield Willow Street Little Harwood built 1879 by William Thompson 500 looms shirtings and jacconettes (1894). Owned by Thompson, Riley & Co Ltd (1897-1927) cotton manufacturers

Boundary Villa (1881-1941) Whalley Old Road/Coniston Road

Bow Street (1824-1966) 24 Salford Nos 3/5 & 10                                             Thomas Veevers (1832)

Bowden Avenue (1982)

Bowen Street (1903) 63 Queen Victoria Street Mill Hill Nos 1 and 2-8

Bower House Fold Bridge (1848) Livesey

Bower House Fold (1786-1959) Primrose Terrace Livesey                         James Dearden (1870); Ann Eccles (1870)

Bower House Fold Lane (1848) Livesey now Shorrock Lane

Bower Street (1903) Marsden Street Mill Hill 45-49 and 52/54

Bowk House (1824) at the Montague Street end of Winter Street

Bowland House (1982)

Bowlplex 10-pin bowling alley Peel Leisure Park Lower Audley closed June 2015 see Ten Pin

Bowman Court (1982)

Bowness Close (1982)

Boxwood Drive (1982)

Boxwood Street (1885) 172 Cedar Street Nos 1 and 21-59

Boyle Street (1899-1982) Brookhouse Lane no houses

Bracken Close (1982)

Bradda Road (1941) Snaefell Road

Bradshaw Close (1982)

Bradshaw Street (1818-1959) 64 Feilden Street / Hanson Street Nos 17-25 and 2 & 12-32

Brandyhouse Brow (1851)                                                                                  see Grimshaw Park

Brae Side (1870) Edgeware Road 7 houses

Brae Side F C (18  ) T P Campbell played for them before playing as guest for Blackburn Rovers F C

Bramwell House Heaton Street (Salvation Army Hostel) built on site of Dr Morley's house.

Branch Mill owned by Hilden Manufacturing Co Ltd (1958)

Branch Road (1888-1982) 466 Bolton Road Lower Darwen 1-51 and 2-8

Branch Road (1832-52) became the top part of Montague Street (1869-70)

Branch Road Tabernacle                                                                                    see Montague Street Baptist Church

Brandy House Brow (1836-1982) Grimshaw Park

Brantfell Road (1903) off East Park Road Nos 2-68

Branthwaite Close (1982)

Brantwood Avenue (1951) Intack

Brantwood Road Knuzden Brook (1966)

Brecon Road (1941) Monmouth Road

Brennand's Yard (1824) Church Street

Brewery Bridge over canal at Grimshaw Park named after the Park Place Brewery.

Brewery Row (1872-1959) 2a Burnley Road

Brewery Street (1870-1982) 24 St Paul's Street Nos 2-22

Briar Nook (1929) Park Crescent

Briar Road (1941) Rosewood Avenue

Brick House Farm (1881) Lower Darwen

Brick Makers' Association Mill Hill Livesey (1881)

Brick Street (1941) off 297 Audley Range

Bridge End Farm (1870) Lower Darwen                                                            Thomas Haworth (1870)

Bridge Mills (Speculation Mill) Moorgate Street Mill Hill built by David Kearton & Co. (1853-66) in 1853 powered by a Swift, Derham & Co. 25hp beam engine. Building work completed in1866 by Benjamin Swain & Co. the mill was worked by Richard Meadows (1878) cotton manufacturer followed by Richard Galloway

(1884-94) 690 looms mulls jaconettes tanjibs checks stripes handkerchiefs etc. Then purchased by James N Boothman (1902-12) and run by Lawrence Cotton also used by Richard Galloway (1903-4) and exors. it closed in 1925.

Bridge Street (1852) Spring Gardens now called the Boulevard it extended from Jubilee Street to Station Road (Railway Road)

Bridge Street (1870-1982) Bank Top Witton Nos 1-11


            Canal             Aqueduct; Audley; Bolton Road; Bower House Fold; Cherry Tree; Cicely Hole (1893); Eanam; Eden; Golden Hill; Grimshaw Park; Hall Street; Harwood; Highfield Road; Hollin Bridge Street; King's Mill Hill (widened 1911); Livesey Hall; Moorgate Fold ferro-concrete (1911); Shorrock Lane (1926); Whitebirk;

            Foot                Merchant Street (1893);

            Rail                 Cherry Tree; Cicely Lane; Clinton Street; Cob Wall Viaduct; Iron Freckleton Street; Lower Hollin Bank Street; Laburnum Road; New Chapel Street Mill Hill; Plane Street; Seven Trees; Skew Bridge; Mickle Hey Ramsgreave Road; Three Arch Preston Old Road; Waterfall;                                                   see also Tunnel

            Road              Aqueduct over Darwen (1911); Cob Wall (1844); Darwen Street (27) (House of Correction) (1852); Derrikins Bridge Whalley New Road; Ewood (1923-5) (£4,000); Feniscliffe; Gorse Street ferro-concrete (1911); Havelock (£3090); King Street; Little Harwood Recreation Grounds fero-concrete (1911); Sour Milk Hall Harwood Street (1911); Union (1893) Union Street / Old Chapel Street; Waterfall;

Bridgewater Court (1982)

Bridgewater mill Bridgewater Street / Hart Street built by Thomas Hart (1861-2) cotton spinner. The last mill to be built for the sole purpose of spinning In 1877 taken over by D & W Taylor (see Audley Bridge Mill) cotton spinners & manufacturers becoming John Taylor (Blackburn) Ltd. (1893-1959) branch of Joshua Hoyle & Sons (Burnley) Ltd who was the last proprietor when the mill closed in 1959. Demolished in 1962-3 had 35,208 ring spindles

Bridgewater Street (1903-66) 2 Redlam Brow Nos 2/4 and 19

Bridlington Crescent (1951)

Bridlington Terrace (1951) 10 Lytham Road became Thornton Drive (1980)

Briercliffe (1870-1941) 33/5 Wellington Street (St John's)                              John Deane, Rev. John Morgan (1870)

Briers (Bryers) Farm (1870-1915) Wilpshire                                 Thomas Lund (1870) Robert Catlow (1881)

Bright Street (1870-1982) 1 Harwood Street / Stanley Street Nos 7-29 and 28

Bright Street mill Greenbank built by Henry Livesey (1876) leased to tenants (1886-96) including John Brown, J H Haydock manufacturer (1891) 878 looms printers jaconettes and fine shirtings. Re-built by John Bright to incorporate 650 looms worked by 220 people. Haydock & Duerden cotton manufacturers (1894). Taken by Richard Thompson & Co. (1896-1912) cotton spinners & manufacturers successively then by Dean, Holt & Co. Ltd. (1920-50) cotton manufacturers followed by Pickup & Young (1950-6) when weaving ended 1956 Closed down in 1956 and the building was then worked by Shaw's Brush Fibres from 1957 also Greenbank Engineering Co. Ltd. (1957-66

Bright's Working Men's Reform Club (1870) 36 Bank Top

Brighton House (1929-41) St Silas' Road

Brighton Terrace (1912) previously Banana Street Woodbine Road / 63 New Bank Road

Brindle Street (1870-1982) 17 New Wellington Street Livesey Nos 1-5 and 2-12

Bristol Close (1982)

Britannia Cricket club (1855) Mile End

Britannia mill Bolton Road built in 1856 by Joseph Harrison & Sons and leased to John Oddie with 130 looms.

Britannia works Canterbury Street Thomas Parkinson engineers & millwrights (1894)

Britannia Yard (1929-59) Penny Street

British Eccles School (1870) Lower Darwen

British Legion Association Astley Gate (1924-39) Barton Street (1941) 60 Victoria Street (1946-8) 13 Clayton Street (1951-8) Cardwell Place (1960s)          secretaries: J W Conboy (1930-5); Thomas Kenyon (1939); J Whitehead (1924-30); A Holden (1951)

British Legion (Blackburn) Club Ltd. 14 Astley Gate: secretary: J Conboy (1930); Thomas Kenyon (1939)

Clayton Street (1951)          closed in 1953

British Northrop Loom Co. established in 1902 by William Livesey of Greenbank Iron Works and others to import the automatic loom from USA. By 1905 the loom was being made at the Greenbank works followed by the erection of the first Northrop building in 1907. In its hey-day it employed 2,700 workers but had dropped to 500 in 1968. Demolition and a fire in 1982 had left one remaining building.

British Railways (1951)

Goods Yard: Great Bolton Street (1951-8)                                                           agent: S Jones (1951)

Passenger Department: Railway Road (1951-8)

Stations: Mill Hill, Cherry Tree, Lower Darwen (1951)                          stationmaster: G Morrison (1951)

British Railways Road Motor Engineers' department Hamilton Street (1951)

British Red Cross Society Richmond Terrace (1924-47);                              secretary: E Rudd JP (1924-47)

British Road Services (East Blackburn Group), Bennington Street (1951)

British School (1870) School Street 92 Oxford Street run by schoolmaster James Walsh (1870)

British Socialist Party club New Water Street (1903-24)                                secretary: F E Broughton (1915)

British Waterways Office Eanam Wharf  c 1820 Grade 2 listed 1974 along with capstan and warehouses.

Britannia Foundry Greaves Street owned by Seth Lang (1870-8) iron founder & machinist

Britannia Mill Bolton Road built by Joseph Harrison in 1856 with 130 looms. Leased to John Oddie & Son Ltd (1856-1955) cotton manufacturers 536 looms checks and fancy goods with Syke mill Belthorn Offices, beam engine and boiler house demolished 1984.

Brittannia Works Canterbury Street owned by Thomas Parkinson (1878-1903) brass & ironfounder coppersmith & machinist

Britten Close                       Roman Road

Broad Entry (1872) St Peter's Ward

Broadfields Farm (1942)

Broad Fold (1848-72) next to Little Harwood Hall St Michael's Ward

Broadfold (1956-9) St. Stephen's Ward

Broadfold Avenue (1941) off Benson Street Little Harwood

Broadfold Farm (1844-1949) Little Harwood St. Stephen's Ward

Broadhalgh Farm (1870-1951) Livesey Branch Road, Feniscowles            Thomas Cliffe (1870)

Broadhalgh Farm (1870) Livesey                                                                        Humphrey Waddington (1870)

Broadhalgh Terrace (1903-66) Feniscowles

Broadhead Farm (1825-2001) Moorfield Avenue Ramsgreave                     William Ellison (1870)

Broadhurst (1851) Feniscowles

Broadlands Special School (1992-99) Roman Road

Broad Leach Farm (1915) Ramsgreave

Broad Walk (1966)

Broadway (1929) Pleckgate Road

Broadway Street (1903) Bentham Street Livesey Nos 1-19

Brodick Road (1959) Shadsworth

Brogden's Court (1852) Darwen Street

Brogden's Yard (1824) off Back Lane between Market St Lane and St Peter's Street

Broken Stone Road (1966)

Bromley Street (1870-1980) Addison Street / 183 Preston New Road Nos 1-65 and 2-58

Brook Farm (1825-2001) off Pleckgate Road Ramsgreave        John Harrison (1870) Edward Shorrock (1881)

Brook Street (1824) now Quarry Street

Brook Street (1870) 5 Carr Street / Whalley Range Nos 9/45/4/26/28

Brook Street (1870-1951) Mill Hill Livesey

Brookfield Villa (1878-1941) 91 Preston New Road

Brookfield Mill owned by E & G Hindle Ltd (1912) cotton spinners & manufacturers

Brookfield Street (1903-80) 5 Carr Street Nos 1-45 and 4-34

Brook house (Brookhowse, Brookehouse, Bruchouse, Bruckehouse, Bruckhouse) (1545)

                                                                                           William Beardsworth & William Kenworthy (1832)

Brookhouse Cottages (1852) Brookhouse Fields/197 Whalley Range     

                                    E K Hornby MP, William Henry Hornby (1870); William Henry Hornby Jnr. (1870-81)

Brookhouse CP School Troy Street (1992-99)

Brook House Estate (1750)

Brookhouse Fields Mill Ward Street Whalley Range built by David Murray (1860) muslin manufacturer and sold to Forrest, Moulden & Tiplady (1861-70). Owned by C C & J Dunkerley (1870-2) manufacturers then leased by J W Wood & J M Rishton (1872-1891) cotton manufacturers 892 looms shirtings jacquards and dhooties. Followed by Brookhouse Field Mills Co (1894-1904) Ward Street Mill Co. Ltd. (1903-26) closed 1930. Demolished 1970s

Brookhouse Fold (1851)

Brookhouse Gymnasium between Whalley Road and Whalley Old Road founded by W H Hornby and W Kenworthy for their workers' recreation opened 21st August 1840 and provided facilities for 'quoiting, football, tennis ball, skittles, etc'

(Old) Brookhouse yeoman's dwelling occupied by the Bolton's from the 1500s demolished about 1860

Brookhouse Lane (1844) 103 Larkhill / 48 Whalley Range Nos 9-67 and 10-64

Brookhouse Lodge (1844-52) built by William Kenworthy later to be the Sisters' of Notre Dame Convent Girls' School

Brookhouse mills Whalley New Road John Hornby laid foundation stone in 1828 building a 3 storey spinning mill. Six-story mill added alongside in 1832 by William Henry Hornby. A still larger mill added upstream in 1844 and the final phase was another six-storey mill in 1875. Then worked by Astley & Inchelwood followed by T & J W Fielding in 1882 The area between Brookhouse and St. Michael's Church was completely covered containing 1,288 looms and 76,838 spindles employing 1,200 people making shirtings. The Hornby's had built 183 cottages around the complex where their workers lived. William Henry Hornby & Co Ltd was still cotton spinning and manufacturing in (1891-1922) 77210 spindles 1261 looms shirtings. The mills were last used for cotton weaving by Haworth Bros. (Blackburn) until 1954. They re-opened for textile accessories by Thomas Reeder 3 years later.

Brookhouse Rectory Estate comprised 317 acres in Audley and 78 acres in Brookhouse. Owned by the Fleetwoods and Feildens until 1853 when the Ecclestiastical Commissioners took over control of the Rectorial Estates of Blackburn. The estate extended from the north side of the Blakewater to Ousebooth and the Hole i'th Wall Shear Brow. Some parts of the estate were later sold Mr Ward and Mr Hornby.

Brookhouse School (1848-52) Whalley Road funded by W H Hornby and associated with St. Michael's church.

Brookhouse Well (1154)

Brookhouse Wesleyan School Chapel

Brooklands (1870-1941) 9 West Park Road                                                      John Hutton (1870)

Brooklands Terrace (1899) St. Stephen's Road Little Harwood Nos 1-15

Brooklyn House (1870-1941) 93 Preston New Road           Capt. Robert Jackson RN, Thomas Hindle (1870)

Brookside Hostel (1980)

Brookside Lane Knuzden Brook (1966)

Brook Street (1929-80) 2 Queen Victoria Street

Brook Street (1929) Fore Street Lower Darwen

Brook Street (1844-72) Eanam

Brook Street (1870) 5 Carr Street / Whalley Range

Brookway (1980)

Brook's Yard (1870-1941) Little Peel Nab Lane St Paul's Ward

Broomfield House (1881) Broomfield Place Witton

Broomfield Place (1870) Witton Nos 1-11 and 2-18

Broomfield Terrace (1870-1941) 107 Redlam Witton Nos 1-23

Broom Street (1888-1903)(now Woodfold Place) Nos 1-19 and 2-22

Brothers Street (1903) Broadway Street Livesey Nos 2-42

Brotherston Drive Fearnhurst (1990s)

Broughton Close (1980)

Brow Brick & Tile Works (1903) Grimshaw Park Whitaker & Co Ltd (1903)

Brown Calf Farm                                                                                        see Heys Gate Farm

Brownhill (1750)

Brownhill Arms

Brownhill Congregational church (bef 1929–69) became Trinity United Reform Church in (1988)

Brownhill Cottages 577-587 Whalley New Road was a short row of handloom weavers' cottages converted in 1915.

Brownhill Drive (1929) Arterial Road / Whalley New Road

Brownhill Entertainers (1994)

Brownhill Farm Bank Hey Lane (1870-1911) 73 acres when sold (1911)   John Lund (1870) T Lund (1911)

Brownhill Housing Estate (pre 1948)

Brownhill Plantation (1969) off Whalley New Road

Brownhill Road (1929) 722 Whalley New Road

Brownhill Terrace (1903-41) Whalley New Road 7 premises

Brownhill United Reform church was moved stone-by-stone from Blackburn Cemetery and rebuilt on its present site

Brownlands Farm (1870-1942) Pleasington                                                     Robert Chester (1870)

Brown Law (1851) Pleasington

Brownlow Street (1903) Shadsworth Road Nos 2-16

Brown Street (1788-1980) continuation of James' Street across the Blakewater to 149 Penny Street Nos 1-25 and 2-44

Brown Sand Farm (1851) Pleasington

Bruce Street (1929-80) 148 Harwood Street                                          No houses

Brunel Drive (1980)

Brunel Nursery School Brunel Walk (1999)

Brunel Walk (1980)

Brunswick Mill (works) Canterbury Street (1853) built by John Fielding hand-loom manufacturer and William Hopwood surveyor with 432 looms. Leased to Henry Sellars (1862-5) then Henry Green & Sons (1870-76) Taken over by Clayton Mill Co Ltd (1876-85) cotton manufacturers who were liquidated The lease was acquired by Henry Mercer Bros & Co Ltd (1885-1930) cotton manufacturers 522 looms dobbies dhooties and India duty free shirtings with Atlantic mill 964 looms dobbies dhooties & India duty free shirtings. The machinery sold 1933. James McMurdo (Manchester) Ltd (1958) jacquard machines

Brunswick Street (1818-1980) 14 Harrison Street Nos 3 & 33 and 52/56

Brunswick Terrace (1836) Nova Scotia

Bryan Street (1929-80) Pritchard Street

Builders' Labourers' Union Weir Street                                                            secretary: M O'Malley (1912-15)

Bullen Street (1870-1980) 34 Harrison Street

Bullion Moss (House) Farm also see Cunliffe Moss (1832-2001) off Whinney Lane Ramsgreave

                                                                                                                        William Holden (1832)

Bull Farm (1881)

Bull Inn Row (1851) Heyes Lane hand loom weavers cottages now demolished

Bull Meadow (1819) land on which St. Peter Street is now

Bullocks (1789)

Bull's Head (1870-1941) Whalley New Road was a hamlet within Little Harwood

Buncers (1844) Buncer Lane above Witton Lodge

Buncer Lane (1930) by-pass relief road (978 yds long) Billinge End Brow was inaugurated by the Mayor Alderman Luke Bates in 1930 costing £18,000

Buncer Wood (1938) Witton Park off Buncer Lane opposite Livingstone Road

Bunker's Farm (1902) Witton

Bunker's Hill (1851) Gib Lane Livesey

Bunker's Hill Close (1980)

Bunker's Hill Cottages

Bunker's Hill Farm (1957)

Bunker's Hill Wood (1900)

Burford Close (1980)

Burgess Street (1929) nr Accrington Road Board School

Burial Board formed in 1854 opened the Cemetery on 1st July 1857. Situated in Whalley New Road it has 40 acres of land. There are three mortuary chapels and a house for the registrar costing £19,000.

Offices: 32 Clayton Street (1870-85) clerk: Thomas Ainsworth (1870-85)

Transferred to the corporation 26th March 1893 The revenue in 1914 was £1,800 with an average interment annually of 2,500. The total number of interments up to December 1910 was 118,155 and by 1950 176,000 averaging 1,800 per year.

Burley Mill Wrigley Street owned by Burley Mill Co Ltd (1930) cotton spinners & manufacturers

Burlington Street (1870) off Leamington Road / 32 Adelaide Terrace Nos 3-29 and 2-42

Burmah Mill (Burmah Dye Works) Gladstone Street / Cobden Street Brick weaving shed built in 1886-7 by Micah Birtwistle and leased to Cobden Street Manufacturing Co. Ltd. (1887-1928) weaving dhooties with 468 looms. Amalgamated with Alexandra Mill Co Ltd (1928-1933) cotton manufacturers Closed in 1933 to be used by Fountain Yarn Dyers (Blackburn) Ltd. for dyeing Operations ended 1983.

The Burn radio station started broadcasting on 106 FM on Monday 17th September 2001 backed by the Lancashire Evening Telegraph, the Fusion Radio Group and various individuals. Station manager Peter Salt

Burnley Close (1966)

Burnley (Old) Road (1851) 57 Furthergate had 108 “Orlit" prefabricated houses built from 1948.

Nos 9-145 and 10

Burnside Works Weir Street (1958) Peter Walker (Blackburn) Ltd jacquard machines.

Bury Hill (Brow) (1844-1949) 224/212 Brandy House Brow Grimshaw Park possibly handloom weavers' cottages

Bushousefold (1851) Feniscowles

Business & Professional Women's club Blackburn (2001)

Business Training and Civil Service College (1912) 9 Exchange Street Smart & Co

Butcher's Yard (1872) St Mary's Ward

Bute Billiard Club 30 Alma Street (1939-51)                                         secretary: A Entwistle (1939-47)

Bute Road (1966)

Butler's Delph (sandstone) (1848) between Yellow Hills and Pleasington

Butler Street (1870-1966) 76 Regent Street / Anvil Street Nos 1-35 and 2-30

Buttermere Close (1980)

Buxton Street (1870-1941) Turner Street /14 Wood Street

Byerden House (1881) Corporation Baths Freckleton Street

Byr(a)om Street (1818) 69 King Street Nos 3-115 and 4-54

Byrom & St Peter Street Sawmills (1903) Thos Higson & Sons (1903)

Byrom Terrace (1941) 21 Lansdowne Street

Byron Street (1844-70) Bank Top

Byron Terrace (1980)​

​​back to top​​