​​​Blackburn Encyclopedia Q-U​

Quaker (Friends) Meeting House Barley Street Snig Brook (1794-1809); Clayton Street (1809-24); Paradise Terrace King Street was erected in 1824 in Alice Sudell's 'Cherry orchard'. Seated 226 members 1851 census records 32 members and 17 attendees. Gravestones are not named only numbered. Now used by "Spiritual Healing" group, Blackburn Hindus, Blackburn Ramblers and Amnesty International.

Quarry Bank (1878) Preston New Road

Quarry Street (1832-1980) 35 Eanam previously Brook Street Nos 5-59

Quarry Street mill with Hole House mill Livesey Smith and Forrest 885 looms shirtings & jacconetts (1887).

R T Livesey and Co Ltd (1891-4) 858 looms shirtings and jacconettes

Quarter Sessions Court Borough Police Court, Town Hall (1889). The first Court of Quarter Sessions for the Borough of Blackburn was held on October 18th 1886

Recorder: Miles Walker Mattinson MP; clerk of the peace: W E L Gaine Borough coroner: H J Robinson; Court crier: W Wilkinson (1889)

Quay Street (1851) Higher Barn Street

Quay Street Mill Eanam owned by Pickering & Abbott (1870) cotton manufacturer then Thomas Abbott  (1878) cotton spinner & manufacturer

Quebec Road (1958)

Queen Elizabeth Street (1878-1929) 65 Taylor Street

Queen Street (1795-1878) from 59 Northgate to Blakey Moor named after Queen Charlotte

Queen's Hall (The Blackburn Methodist Mission and Community Centre) Darwen Street (1923-71) was opened on 3 January 1924 to seat 1600 persons (by 1939 seating was 1750) costing £46,555. Closed in 1971 and demolished in 1974. The mission was founded in 1906 in Clayton Street premises, later transferred to rooms in Town Hall street, then rented the Palace Theatre for Sunday afternoon and evening services before moving in 1923. Rev. Charles J Tribe (1951) Rev G Eric Dobson (1965)

Queen's Park Queen's Road laid out under the supervision of the Borough Engineer was opened on the 20th June 1887 by the Prince of Wales to commemorate the Jubilee of Queen Victoria's accession to the throne. The total 33 acres of land bought from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, was at a cost of about £10,000 with some £13,000 being spent on construction. A condition of sale was that the Corporation had to construct an approach and an encircling road. Added later was an artificial lake (The Serpentine) about 3 1/2 acres in extent where in summer motorboats and rowing boats (40) were available for hire from the cafe adjacent and in winter ice skating was enjoyed. There were 4 bowling greens (first one opened 4th May 1904) with pavilion two tennis courts and a children's play area with swings. At the top entrance where there was an ornamental arch, there were also eight cannons similar to those in Corporation Park. These along with a World War 1 tank were sold as scrap in 1937. In 1912 a bandstand with seating for about 1,750 persons was erected but removed for the war effort in 1941.                                                                                    superintendent: William Hudson (1897-1912)

Queen's Park Close (1980)

Queen's Park Deck access flats (1977)

Queen's Park flats three multi-storey blocks Alexandra House, Victoria House and Elizabeth House completed in 1965. Comprising 80 units each they were demolished on Sunday 13th January 2002

Queen's Park High School (9/1988-9) Shadsworth Road. New building opened by the Lord Lieutenant of Lancashire Simon Towneley in 1990                                               see Shadsworth Secondary Modern School

Queen's Park Hospital and Institution Haslingden Road opened in 1864 and since additions have regularly taken place notably in 1901, 1925 and 1929. The value of the hospital and institution in 1930 was over £250,000. In 1948 there were provision for 1200 persons. matron: Miss E A Richards (1930); Mrs Poole (1935-42); superintendent: C H Roberts (1930); master: George W Poole (1935-42); A J Hopkinson (1951)

Queen's Park Road (1899)108 Audley Range Nos 1-145 and 2-128          previously Chalk Street (1937) ?

Queen's (Park) Tennis Club Shadsworth Hall Shadsworth Road (1930-51)

                                                secretary: W Schollick (1930); O N Barlow (1935-47); Fred Haworth (1951);

Queen's Park Terrace (1903-30) Queen's Road Nos 2-14

Queen's Place (1878-1929) Gawthorpe Duke's Brow Nos 1-7

Queen's Road (1903) Queen's Park Road Nos 1-217

Queen's Street (1878) Livesey Nos 5 and 8-44

Queen's Terrace (1903-30) Holland Street

Queen's Terrace (1878-1980) 86 New Chapel Street Mill Hill Livesey Nos 6-24

Queensway (1966)

Queen Victoria Statue Boulevard was unveiled by HRH Princess Louise Duchess of Argyll on 30th September 1905 at its present location. It cost over £3,000 all of which was raised by public subscription. The sculptor was Mr. E Bertram MacKennel and is a much admired work of art. The eleven foot statue is made from Sicilian marble surrounded by a Butler Delph stone balustrade

Queen Victoria Street (1903) Peel Street Mill Hill Nos 1-77 and 2-40

Queensway (1980)

Quick Place (1861) Barton Street

Radcliffe Street (1929-58) 29 Bank Top

BBC Radio Blackburn took to the airwaves in December 1970 in King Street see BBC Radio Lancashire

Ragged School Bent Street formed in 16th October 1881 by Christian friends connected with Presbyterian, Wesleyan, Congregational and other churches. Appointed Mr James Dixon (1881-9) secretary and Mr John Walkden (1891-  ) treasurer and rented premises in Leyland Street.       

Foundation stone Bent Street laid by Earl Compton MP 3rd July 1897. Foundation stone laid by Mr R A Yerburgh JP for extension 1st August 1908. Further extension opened by Earl Peel 29th October 1966. Then part of the United Reformed Church known as The Ardley Centre. Last service held Sunday 19th October 2008 for demolition and rebuilding. Replaced by the new Kingsway purpose built social services centre.

superintendent: Jesse Chilman (1901-41); David Pluckrose (1941-47) Rev Philip Royston-Bishop (1947-71)

chairman: Canon J E Samuel (1935) J P Robinson (1971)

Ragged School Brass Band (1896)

Ragged School Amateur Minstrels

Railton Avenue (1929) Green Lane

Railton's Foundry Blakey Moor                                                               see St Paul's Foundry

Railway Court (1903-29) 2 Cherry Tree

Railway Grove (1903) Alder Street off Bay Street Little Harwood Nos 16-26

Railway Lines

Blackburn & Preston opened 1st June 1846

Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway opened to Blackburn Whit Monday 1846 later Darwen Bolton & Manchester. Bolton Blackburn & Chatburn 1850 (Hellifield by 1881) Loop line Padiham & Rose Grove Burnley 1st June 1877

Blackburn Chorley & Wigan opened (goods) 1st November 1869 (passengers) 1st December 1869

Railway Road (1903) Nos 1-45 and 4-12                                                           previously Station Road

Railwaymen's Club 45 Ainsworth Street (1930-9)

Railway Side (1929) Albert Street

Railway Station (Station Road) Railway Road (1846) Blackburn entered the railway age on Whit Monday 1st June 1846 when line to Preston was opened. Resident engineer Terence Woulf Flanagan built the first station for £6,309 when lines to Bolton, Chatburn and Colne were constructed. This station was re-built in June 1885 by Robert Neill & Son for £53,233 and opened 12th September 1886

station master: Roger Houghton (1878) E Howard (1881); Goods Dept. George Street: goods agent: Thomas Mitchell (1881)

Railway Street (1870) Stanley Street Terrace

Railway View (1929) 4 Galligreaves Street

Railway View (1878-1980) 34 New Chapel Street Stanley Range Mill Hill Livesey Nos 2-24

Raith Court (1851)

Rake's Bridge (Railway) 36 Fore Street Lower Darwen built in 1842. Nos 1 and 8-32

Ramsey Road (1958) off Marlton Road

Ramsey Road East (1958) Sunny Bank Road

Ramsey Street (1929) off Geraldine Street

Ramsgreave (Romsgreaue, Romesgreaue, Romesgreave, Romesgreue, Romsgreave, Romsgreaue, Romsgreave) (1360) originally a 200 acre wood in the chase of Blackburn

Ramsgreave Avenue (1966)

Ramsgreave Drive (1929) Arterial Road / Lammack Road

Ramsgreave Farm (1902)

Ramsgreave Hall Farm (1841-1996) Higher Ramsgreave Road                  

Thomas Charnley (1870); Edward Harrison (1870); Robert Harrison (1881)

Ramsgreave Lane Farm (1870) Ramsgreave                                      

Duckworth (1870); James Fecit (1870); Thomas Kay (1870); Thomas Walmsley (1870)

Ramsgreave Road

Randal Street (1870) 28 Limbrick / Oswald Street Nos 1-61 and 12-116

Randal Street mill (1891-1922) Limbrick James Haydock doubler of heald yarns and reed and heald manufacturer

Randal Street Paper Mills (1903) Blackburn Paper Co Ltd (1903)

Randolph Street (1899) 4 Queen's Park Road Nos 1-33 and 2-24

Ratcliffe House (1851) Feniscowles

Ratcliffe Street & back (1851-72) 29 Bank Top

Rating Surveyor and Valuer 4 King Street (1935-42)                         J H Wilson FSA (1935-42)

Raven Road (1929) Manor Road

Raven Wing Higher & Lower (1832) Revidge                                        see Higher & Lower

Ravenglass Close (1980)

Raven's Bank (1903-29) Revidge Road

Ravenswood (Raven's Wood) Farm (1902) Bank Hey

Ravenswing Avenue (1958) Revidge Road

Ravenswing (Ravens Wing) (1872) Revidge Road

Ravenwing Estate (1807) Revidge now Lower Ravenswing and Higher Ravenswing Houses.

Rawstorne Street (1903-80) Arthur Street Nos 63-101

Raynor Street (1958-66) Winter Street

Reading Close (1980)

Reading Room Exchange (1870)                                                                        secretary: W Roylance (1870)

Reaps (Reapes) (1609) Whinney Lane

Rechab's Terrace (1872-1929) Brown Street

The Rechabites' Hall 7 Cable Street Water Street (1850-70) will hold 600 people

Recorder of Court Quarter Sessions Northgate (1897-1915)                                             

      M W Mattinson KC. (1897-1915) Sir Harold Smith (1924-5) J Henry Thorpe OBE (1930-42)

Recruiting Office 40 Ainsworth Street (1915-25); 47 Eanam (1939); (army) 47 Preston New Road (1942);

Officer: Major T G Hopkins (1909); recruiting sergeant: C W Platts (1915); naval, William G Mulachy (1939)

Rectory Street (Road)(1851-1929) 16 Pomfret Street / Wellington Street

Red Brick Theatre                                                                                      see Empire Theatre

Red Cap Accrington Road.

Red Cap Farm (1935-42)

Red Delph Wood (1938) Witton Park past the site of Witton Hall

The Redeemer CE Church Shadsworth Road opened in the 70s. Services ended December 2002. The church was badly gutted by fire January 2003.

The Redeemer Parish created on 1st April 1982 Shadsworth estate

Redlam (Redlom, Redlumb, Redlomme, Redlome, Redlumme) (1583) the area was known as Redlum Farm

Redlam (1885) Redlam Brow Witton No 187 late 18th c. Grade 2 listed 1986. Nos 1-107 and 38-196 107, 121 and 125-33 weavers cottages

Redlam Brow (1852) 144 Bank Top Witton Nos 1-7 and 2-32

Redlam Cottage (1851)

Redlam Farm (1851) Witton

Redlam Works Pleasington Street (1958) Mercer's Fire Protection Engineers

Red Lion Inn Whitebirk (1735) Grade 2 listed in 1974. Used to have a bowling green at the front

Red Rake (Readreake) (1750) Revidge Road handloom weavers' cottages opposite Corporation Park. Nos 5 and 7 (1903) 2-7 (1951)

Red Rake Farmhouse (1816) had handloom weaving, was demolished, the farm become part of Corporation Park

Red Sand Street (1929) St Ives Road

Red Scar Farm (1870)                                                                                           John Worthington (1870)

Redvers Road Moss Bridge (1966)

The Reed Hotel (St Paul's Tavern) (Albion Inn) St Paul's Street (1758 once owned by the Sudells of Woodfold Park then the home of Robert Railton whose foundry was close by. The licence was surrendered by Messrs. Cunningham & T & W Thwaites Ltd. in 1913

Reed Manufacturers' Association 7 Lord Street West (1930-9) secretary: E & B Haworth sols

Reform Club (Central) (1861-1951) (Liberal Party) 37 Victoria Street (5/1864-70) 28 Victoria Street (1881-1909) New Market Place Higher Church Street Preston New Road

Building at 37 Victoria Street commenced in May 1864 and opened in 1866 at a cost of £5,000. It comprised a news-room and billiards room. It's gentlemen members were of Liberal politics.

president: James Briggs (1878);                                             

secretaries: Frank Johnston (1870) Richard Slater (1878) J H Briggs and R F Lonsdale (1881) steward: Albert Longmire (1878) J Makinson (1881) secretary: George Slater (1885) H J Abbott (1889) J N McNeill (1897) J Higson & J Kenyon (1900) James H Kenyon (1903-25) secretaries: J H Kenyon & H Tomlinson (1930) J J Widdup & A P Matkin (1935) T Greenbank (1939-51)

Reform Club (Working Men's) Audley House 9 Audley Lane (Park Ward) founded 1870;

secretary: James Almond (1870) G B Illingworth (1878) A McLellan (1881) E Charnley (1885) William Cooper (1889-1897) Thomas Pye (1897-1909) C Davis (1912) Thomas Smith (1930-42) John H Somers (1947)

E Atherton (1951)

Reform Club (Working men's) branches, Brights' 36 Bank Top (1870-89); Cavendish 139 Moss Street (1870) Russell (1870) Randal Street Cob Wall House (1889-1935) Beechwood Road sec William Aspinall (1897-1900) Cobden (1870-1925) Corporation Street; King William Street (1897-1909) sec J E Hand (1897-1900)  St. Paul's (1903) 55 Montague Street (1897-1909) sec W Barton (1897) J Swarbrick (1900) Galligreaves Street (1903); Intack / Knuzden Intack Crescent (1885-97) sec J Bradley (1897) 307(311) Accrington Road (1903-12) Kendal Street (1897-1909) sec Thomas Woolfall (1897-1900) St. James' Street, Livesey (1885-1947): 86 Duckworth Street (1897-1925) sec William Shuttleworth (1897) St. John's and St. Michael's Kendal Street (1912-15): St. Peter's and St. Luke's (1915) Nuttall Street;(1915) Mill Hill (1885-1942) St. James' Street sec Alexander Dearden (1897) William Smith (1900) Redlam Witton (1885-9) Lower Darwen sec R E Entwistle (1897) F Whalley (1900)

Refuge Assurance Company

Moved from Montague Street to new purpose built offices on Ainsworth Street May 17th 1890. Built by Stones & Gradwell, architects, Richmond Terrace

Regency Club Regent Street (1960s) gambling club

Regency Hall (1969)

Regent Buildings (1929-49) 1 Larkhill

Regent Picture Palace 107 King Street (1920-61) opened on 14/10/1920. Became Roxy in1935. Closed in 1961 to become a credit drapery store John Blundell Ltd. The Peoples Mission Hall was between 95 & 103 King Street (1915-25)

Regent Street (1878-1980) 72 Victoria Street Nos 7-45 and 2-88

Regent Street Mission (1852-1930)

Regent Street Special School (1924-5)                                                 headmistress: Miss Annie Clayton (1924-5)

Regent Works (1903) Old Chapel Street Thomas Crossley (1903) weighing machine makers

Registrar of Births and Deaths office (Blackburn East sub-district) 4 King Street (1924-58)

T H Cross (1924-5)

No. 1 South-Eastern sub-district: J R Atack (1924-30); No. 2 South Western District: H T Wade (1924-30); No. 3 Northern District: George Heatley (1924-51); J Parkinson (1935-9); West sub district: G Heatley (1942); R Holden (1951); East sub district: J Parkinson (1942-51);

Registrar of Marriages 4 King Street (1924-30); Richmond Terrace (1935);

T H Cross, Carnlough, Feniscowles (1930-35); H T Wade (1930); Reg. Clayton (Blackburn Diocesan) (1935);

Relation Street (1929) 22 Stopes Brow

Relieving Officers Roger Greaves (1870); George H Ashworth (1942); Richard Cowell (1942); J L Dunkerley (1942); Walter Dewhurst (1942); Fred Ormerod (1942)

Renfrew Crescent (1966)


Guide reservoir in 1852 had an area of 11 acres and contained 75m gallons of water.

Audley reservoir in 1852 was 2 roods containing 362,000 gallons.

Pickup Bank reservoir 5 acres contained 31 ¼ m gallons

Daisyfield or Green reservoir 2 acres containing 12.3 m gallons

Retail Fruit Trade Federation – Blackburn Branch commenced 1942 closed 1999. First president Fred Harty father of Russell Harty

Revidge (High Ground) Revidge Road was constructed in 1826 under the direction of the famous road maker John McAdam. It was one of a number of relief measures to alleviate the distress and find work for the starving weavers. A stone with inscription as follows:- Mount Revidge: the road at this place was made by removing the rock, during the distress in 1826-7.  Just off Revidge Road on the right going from Billinge End was the Mile End handloom weaving colony (now Mile End Road) where as late as 1851 three-quarters of those in employment were still engaged in handloom weaving. The bricked-up cellar loomshop windows can still be seen to-day

Revidge Community Association (2000)

Revidge Delf (1844) behind Top of Revidge where old Tank used to be

Revidge Estate (1750)

Revidge Fold (1836) Revidge Road Four Lanes End 18th c. Grade 2 listed 1974

Revidge Fold Farm (1881-1966)                                             Joseph Holdsworth (1878) R H Thorp (1966)

Revidge Fold United Reform Church

Revidge Fold United Reform Church Amateur Dramatic Society (2001)

Revidge Lane Ends (1844) junction of Dukes Brow and Revidge

Revidge Moor delph (1618) under a decree from King James that an acre of land be reserved for the getting of stones for the farmers and tenants

Revidge Mount (built 1878) Revidge Road terrace facing Brantfell Road. Nos 2-18

Revidge Road (1885) 254 Shear Brow / Preston New Road Nos 1-225 and 4-208. 397-407 535 & 537 weavers cottages

The Revidge Tank built by Ashton Frost & Co. of Blackburn 1897 at 700ft above sea level. A water storage reservoir standing on the site of a bronze-age burial mound dating from about 1500 BC At the end of the 1800s was known as the “Blackburn Pier". Demolished in 2001 as the Borough and North West water couldn't come to an agreement about its preservation. The stainless steel disc, which was on a table on the tank indicating the views from the top was taken down some time ago is still in the hands of the North West Water Co.

Revidge Youth Football Club (1995-2000)

Rewe Close (1980)

Rheinfels (1881) 169 Preston New Road

Rhodes Avenue (1980)

Rhodes' Farm (1878-1951) Pleckgate Road     below Aspinall Fold                         Henry Forth (1878)

Rhyl Avenue (1966)

Rialto Luxury Cinema Penny Street (21/12/1931-74) a new 1878 seater luxury cinema with Holophane lighting built by William Livesey & Co. designed by S Butterworth & Duncan and opened in 1931 later bought by Rank-Odeon and became the Odeon in 16/5/1959, was used as the Victor Sylvester Dance Studio before it became Top Rank in 1968 was closed 23rd March & demolished in 1974. The Compton 3 Manual/ 7 Rank theatre organ was removed in 1964 to become spares.

Ribble House (1980)

Ribble Social Club 4 Salford (1935)                                         secretaries: W Battersby & T Rumfitt (1935);

Ribble Street (1885-1980) 69 Whalley Range Nos 1-35 and 2-32

Ribblesdale Place (1947-66) Ouzehead Lane / Saunders Road No 2

Ribchester Road (1852) Northgate

(Back) Richard Street (1851)

Richard Street (1851-1980) 58 Whalley Banks King Street

Richard Street Mill Whalley Banks Mill Co (pre 1922)

Richmond Chambers (1881-1949) Richmond Terrace. 6 businesses (1903)

Richmond Crescent (1947)

Richmond Hill (1795-1980) Bolton's Court / James' Street Nos 7-15

Richmond Street (1852) Whalley Banks

Richmond Terrace (completed 1838) (West Street) Limbrick / 51 Ainsworth Street / St. John's Place built of light-coloured brick with a Flemish bond coursing was completed in September 1838. Each house had Ionic columns at the doors. The homes were for wealthy business and professional people with servants. Nos. 1-21 and 22-27 built 1835 were Grade 2 listed in 1973 and 1974. Nos 28/30 (1903) previously known as West Street.

No 11 bears shield of arms and lettering donating Witton Estate Office

Ridings Building Ewood (1879) No 157

Rifle Club Quarry Street (1942-7)

Rifle Volunteers (1st V B. E L Regiment) H Q Canterbury Street;

      Col. Robinson C O; Captain H J Martin adjutant (1903)

Rifle Volunteer's (2nd L R V) H Q Canterbury Street

                                                                                                                        adjutant: Major H C Whitlock

Riley's Court (1851-1949) Moor Street / Starkie Street

Riley Street (1870-1966) 47 Higher Audley Street Nos 3-111 and 10-124

Riley Terrace (1903-30) 347/381 Whalley New Road

Rimmington Close (1980)

Ripon Street (1885) 43 Queen's Park Road Nos 1-55 and 2-94

Risedale Close (1980)

Rising Sun F C (1879)

Ritz Cinema (1953)                                                                                     see King's Hall

River Street (1885-1980) 108 Higher Audley Street 2 businesses (1888) 4 (1903)

River Street Mill owned by Wm Armitage (1903) wadding manufacturer Garden Street Mill Co Ltd (1912) cotton manufacturers

Rivington Street (1903-80) 76 Newton Street Nos 6/8

Road Hole Farm Billinge Scar (1789)

Robert Street (1851) John Street

Robert Street (1870-1980) 31 Mosley Street Nos 1-13 and 10-16

Robin's Nest (1881-1980) Adelaide Terrace

Robinson Street (1899-1980) off 246 Whalley Old Road Little Harwood Nos 2-16

Rockcliffe (1929) Grimshaw Park

Rockcliffe House (1878) Mosley Street / Robert Street

Rockcliffe Street (1870-1966) Highfield Road / 114 Grimshaw Park bordering the Highfield estate of Sir William Coddington sold to Blackburn Corporation in 1898.  Recreation area laid out in 1923 to the Borough Engineer's design. Comprises two bowling greens pavilion and children's playground Nos 31-45 and 20-60 some demolished 2008

Rockfield mill Bolton Road owned by English Spinners Ltd (1951-8) paper yarn spinners previously Greenwood Bros Ltd (1878-1930) cotton manufacturers 667 looms dobbies and dhooties with Carr mill Haslingden. Also Geo Holden Ltd cotton manufacturers (1925) Rockfield Cloth Co. in 1887 had 336 looms & 16000 spindles shirtings.

Rockfield Street (1958-66) 28 Highfield Road

Rock Mount (1864-2013) 4/6/8 Adelaide Terrace                                 Joseph Dugdale, John Whalley (1870)

Rock Terrace (1870-2013) 132/154 Duke's Brow / Revidge              Mrs C Barton (1870) No1

Rock View (1870-2013) 39 Alexandra Road

Rockwood (1870-2013) 4 East Park Road                                                                    Mrs Margaret Yates

Rodgett Row a group of cottages connected with Whalley Banks Mill in the early 1800s.

Rodgett Street (1878-1958) 3 Bates Street

Rodney Street (1929-80) Hardman Street / Sandon Street

Roebuck Close (1980)

Roebuck Street (1885-1966) 7 Dickinson Street Nos 1-33 and 4-34

Roe Lee (Rowley) (1750) Whalley New Road

Roe Lee Cottages (1980)

Roe Lee (Lea) Farm (1870-1966) St. Michael's Ward              Thomas Cort (1870) R Margerison (1966)

Roe Lee Lane (1870) Toddy Lane Ends

Roe Lee mills and Roe Lee New mills used by J E Sharples & Sons (1891-1904) 816 looms jacconettes mulls Turkish reds spots coloured and fancy handkerchiefs. Owned by Duckworth & Eddleston (1902-30) then by John Duckworth & Son (Blackburn) Ltd (1939) had 1,050 looms. In 1887 was Higson & Sharples with Peel mill 1296 looms fine cambrics mulls & jacconetts etc

Roe Lee Park was opened on the 30 May 1923 by John Duckworth JP and John Eddleston JP of Duckworth and Eddleston cotton manufacturers at Roe Lee Mills who gave the site to serve a growing population in the Whalley New Road district. It has an area of 17 acres containing 3 bowling greens five tennis courts a putting green and children's playground. The park is surrounded by a Municipal housing estate and in this layout both the estate and the Park owe to each other much of the resulting effectiveness of setting and any necessity for fencing the park has been rendered superfluous

Roe Lee Park housing estate

Roe Lee Park (Junior) CP School (1928-99) Emerald Avenue was erected in 1928-9 at a cost of £14,600 and was formally opened in July 1929 by Alderman Sir William Forrest OBE chairman of the Education Committee.                                                                                                  headmistress: Miss Ellen Grimes (1951)

Roe Lee Park Tennis Club (1951) 5 courts

Roe Lee Shed (1929) near Cemetery

Roe Lee West Cricket and Football Club Rosewood Avenue, new clubhouse opened 1976.

R O F Social Club New Market street (1951)                                         secretary: R Duffield (1951)

Roller Skating Rink (19  -14) situated in what is now Voith Fabrics (Scapa Dryers) The first roller skating rink was opened on Canterbury Street in 1872 by Mr Ramskill closing in 1894. Three more opened in Mincing Lane (Central Hall cinema) 1911, St Peters Street (Olympia cinema) the third being the Scapa Dryers being purpose built. In 1933 the Alfredo rink opened in the Overlookers' Hall in High Street. Later in the 1960s Star Skate opened.

Rolleston Street (1929-80) 247 Wensley Street now Rolleston Road

Roman Catholic first church built (1773) with burial ground of plain brick hidden in Chapel Street behind the old County Police Court sufficed for 50 yrs until St Alban's was built.

Roman Catholic club Fleming Square (1870)                                      secretary: John Rigby (1870)

Roman Road (1903) Bury Hill. Nos 40 & 110-166 and 167/171

Roman Road Community Centre (1996)

Roman Road CP School (1992-99) Fishmoor Drive

Roman Road Industrial Estate (1979)

Romney Walk (1980)

Ronald Street (1929-80) off Moss Hall Accrington Road

Roney Street (1878-1980) Sarah Ellen Street / 28 Johnston Street Nos 1-47 and 6-48

Rope Walks

                        Cicely Hole Mount Street Boulevard (1795-1848)

                        Northgate (1822)

                        Simmons Street (1822)                                                       Roger Pomfret (1822)

                        Broad Fold Little Harwood (1931)

                        Mill Hill (1958)                                                                      Edmund Haworth Ltd (1958)

Rose Bank (1878-1929) 9/11/13 Duke's Brow

Rosebay Avenue (1980)

Rose Bud Cottage (1929) 160 Duke's Brow

Rose Cottage (1881) next to Troy Preston New Road

Rose Cottage (1851) Pleasington

Rose Hill (1844-80) Higher Barn Street off Higher Eanam

Rose Hill (1870) Patterson Street

Rose Hill (1980) Pleasington

Rosehill Farm (1881-1929) Lower Darwen

Rosehill Terrace (1929) Haslingden Road

Rose Hill Foundry Higher Eanam owned by Robt Willan & Daniel Mills (1852-1950s) iron and brass founders machinists and power-loom makers

Rosehill (Rose Hill) mill 1 Higher Barn Street built 1860 by Willan & Mills, machinists leased/sold to Messrs. James & W E Briggs cotton spinners & manufacturers (1870-91) 28,000 spindles 392 looms mulls jacconettes fine fabrics etc. Albion Mill Co Ltd cotton manufacturers (1894) Then Calcutta Mill Co Ltd (1902) cotton manufacturers with John Walker (Blackburn) Ltd (1894-1903) cotton spinners followed by James Dewhurst & Co Ltd (1912-22) cotton manufacturers and succeeded by the Audley Ring Mill Ltd (1912) cotton spinners & manufacturers. The spinning mill was closed but Queen Street Mill Co. (Darwen) Ltd. continued to use the weaving shed until the machinery (393 broad looms) was sold off in 1931

Rose Hill Terrace (1930) Haslingden Road Guide

Rose Street (1870-1966) 26 Mosley Street Nos 3/7 and 10-24

Rose Terrace (1903-30) 404 Whalley New Road

Rosebery Terrace (1903-30) Calder Street

Rosewood Avenue (1958) Whalley New Road

Ross Street (1899-1980) off Daisy Street / Mosley Street Nos 1-5 and 2-12

Rossall Terrace (1951) Manxman Road

Rotary Club of Blackburn Borough (1979) meet at Northwood 1 West Park Road

Rothesay House (1903) Spring Lane Witton

Rothesay Road (1958) Shadsworth

Rothwell Farm (1902) Lower Darwen

Rothwell Scar Farm (1915-35) Lower Darwen

Rotunda Ainsworth Street built to give access from the shopping precinct across Ainsworth Street to the market. Threatened with demolition in 1993, closed 2011 to be demolished with market

Roughs (1851) Pleasington

Rough Hey (1851-58) Whinney Lane No 143 handloom weavers' cottage

Rough Hey Farm (1786-1902) Whinney Lane Lammack

Rover Street (1885-8) Nos 7-35                                                               (now Wellfield Road 1903)

Rowan Close (1980)

Row Lee (Rowley) (1750)                                                                          see Roe Lee

The Roxy Picture House (1951)                                                                         see Regent Cinema

Royal Air Force Association HQ & Club 53 Regent Street (1948-58)

Royal Air Force Recruiting office 1 Preston New Road (1939)

Royal Lancashire Volunteers, disbanded in 1802. Colonel was Thomas Clayton Little Harwood Hall and High Sheriff of Lancashire.

Royal Ancient Order of Foresters (1838) 100 in number mounted on horseback

Royal Chambers (1878-1949) 33 Victoria Street 3 businesses

Royal Hippodrome Ainsworth Street (1909)                                         see Cinema Royal

Royal Independent Mechanics (1838) 150 in number

Royal Infirmary Bolton Road                                         see Blackburn & East Lancashire Royal Infirmary

Royal Infirmary Nurses' Home 1 Sunny Bank Road (1951)

Royal Mill Little Harwood owned by E & G Hindle Ltd (1907-60) cotton spinners & manufacturers sold to Lion Brewery (1960)

Royal Oak Avenue (1980)

Royal Oak Inn Rosewood Avenue 1764 listed 1974 of local interest.

Royal Ordnance Factory Romas Road known as “The Fuse" Opened 1938 closed 2002

Royal Park Gardens (1857) Addison Street                                                        see California Gardens

Royal Shepherds (1837-8)

Royalty Theatre (1894)                                                                             see Alhambra

Royal United Free  Mechanics (1838)

Roycrofts (1750)

Royshaw (Roishawe, Roishey, Royeshawe, Roysawe, Roysey, Royshawe, Royshey, Roysley, Rysha, Ryshaw, Ryshawe) (1600) situated in Pleckgate area where there is a Royshaw Avenue

Royshaw Avenue (1980)

Royshaw Close (1980)

Royshaw Farm (1836)

Royshaw Grove (1903-29) (352) 336 Whalley New Road

Royshaw Hill (1843) at Green Gown Pleckgate Road

Royshaw Lower to the east of Aspinall Fold Pleckgate Road

Royshaw Mill Boxwood Street owned by Henry Livesey Ltd (1891) 430 looms fine shirtings. Royshaw Mill Co Ltd (1902-22) cotton manufacturers then by Thompson Riley & Co Ltd (1912-15) cotton manufacturers

Royshaw Street (1929) Sycamore Street

Royshaw Street mill with Bright Street mills Henry Livesey Ltd had 804 looms fine shirtings (1887). John Hargreaves & Co. cotton manufacturer (1894)

Royshaw Terrace (1903-30) 265/275 Whalley New Road

Royshaw Upper (1853) to the east of Green Gown Pleckgate Road

Royshaw View (1903-29) (342) 336 Whalley New Road

R S P C A 52 London Road (1924-5) 97 Roe Lee Park (1929-35) 42 The Croft (1939-60s) 5a Feilden Street (1951)                                                                         inspector: George Sargeson (1924-42); P Cameron (1951)

R S P C C 17 Wellington Street St John's (1941)

Ruby Street (1929) 522 Whalley New Road

Ruby Terrace (1903-30) 492 Whalley New Road

Rupert Street (1851-1929) Hamilton Street

Russell Street (1847-1980) 80 Park Road Grimshaw Park / Gt Bolton Street Nos 11-31 and 2-26

Russell Street (1878) Livesey

Russell Working Men's Reform Club (1870) Randal Street

Russia (1831 map) on the top bend of Pleckgate Road

Ruthin Close (1966)

Rutland Street (1903-80) 99 Redlam Witton Nos 1-17 and 20-28

Ryburn Avenue (1958) off Beardwood Brow

Rydal House (1881) 4 Duke's Brow

Rydal Mount (1903-29) 2/4 Adelaide Terrace                                                    see Rydal House

Rydal Place Preston Old Road Witton (1902) named after Lake District

Rydal Road (1929) Little Harwood

Rydal Street (1879)

St. Aidan's Avenue (1912) late Caroline Street 23 New Chapel Street Mill Hill

St. Aidan's Close (1980)

St. Aidan's CEP School (1924-2011) Norfolk Street Mill Hill mixed and infants

St. Aidan's Church Mill Hill consecrated September 1932 accommodates 300 people. The foundation stone was laid by the Bishop of Blackburn. A previous church had been built in 1826.

St. Alban's (1832)

St. Alban's Men's Club 14 St. Alban's Place (1951)

St. Alban's Boys' Recreation Centre 19 St. Alban's Place (1942-51)

St. Alban's Catholic Higher Grade School (1924-1951) St. Alban's Place 

       see St. Alban's RC Modern Secondary Boys' school

St. Alban's Catholic School (1870-1947) St. Alban's Place boys and girls; (1951) boys, girls and infants

St. Alban's Close (1980)

St. Alban's Court (1980)

St. Alban's Hall next door to the church used as a church when the present building was being erected from 1898.

St. Alban's Place (1836-1980) 2 Whalley New Road Larkhill Nos 1-27

St. Alban's R C Church St. Alban's Place Brookhouse first church recorded in 1773 in a pair of cottages in Chapel Street. A second building was used in 1781. A church was erected in 1824 accommodating 1,000 people. The opening took place on 22nd June 1826. It was much embellished in 1850 and in 1877 a magnificent high altar of pure marble designed by Angelo Herbert was added costing £900. The present Decorated Gothic style church is the fourth building having been opened on 8th December 1901 by the Bishop of Salford. Designed by Edward Goldie of London and built by John Boland of Blackburn at a cost of £20,000 excluding the spire and tower. It never did receive its spire but a tower instead. It seated 1,000 people. The previous chapel commenced in 1824 after the land had been bought for £1,260 3s 9d and was opened with solemn mass June 1826 adding a tower in 1883.

St. Alban's RC Infants school

St. Alban's RC Junior Boys' school St. Alban's Place

St. Alban's RC Junior Girls' school Yates' buildings

St. Alban's RCP School (1992-2011) Trinity Street

St. Alban's RC Modern Secondary Boys' School (1951)

St. Alban's Square (1872)

St. Alban's View (1836-1930) 83 Larkhill

St. Andrew's C of E Church Livesey built in 1877 of Early English style from designs by Paley & Austin costing over £6,000 including site. Consecrated on 10th February 1877 The organ by Bishop & Sons of London cost over £600. Was consecrated on 10th February 1877 and seats 552 worshippers, all free. A new vicarage built in 1894 at a cost of £2,500. Closed 2007.

St. Andrew's CEP School (1992-2004) Scotland Bank Terrace merged with St. Bartholomew's C of E P school 2004 at Fernhurst Farm estate Ewood 2006

St. Andrew's Close (1980)

St. Andrew's Elementary Schools the foundation stone was laid on 12th May 1912

St. Andrew's Mission Norfolk Street Mill Hill was opened in February 1896 at a cost of £1,200. Was designed by Stones & Gradwell 338 Livesey Branch Road, recently occupied by Livesey Amateur Boxing Club

St. Andrew's (C of E) National School (1849-1951) Livesey Branch Road Waterloo Livesey opened 2nd December 1849 mixed and infants

St. Andrew's Parochial Hall 220 Livesey Branch Road (1912-15)   secretary: J Aspin (1912)

St. Andrew's Place (1870) 17 Wellington Street St. John's / Strawberry Bank Nos 4/6

St. Andrew's Street (1870) 16 Wellington Street St John's / 43 Limbrick Nos 1-15 and 4-8

St. Andrew's Terrace (1903-29) 190 Livesey branch Road / Wellington Road Livesey

St. Anne's Branch of Rescue Society and Boys' Orphanage (1897-1929) France Street Franciscan Sisters

St. Anne's R C Church France Street / Paradise Lane opened 4th May 1851 having started a mission in 1849. On Saturday 4th July 1925 the foundation stone of a new church was laid and opened at a Christmas eve 1926 Midnight Mass. Costing over £36,000 it was officially opened by Dr. Henshaw Bishop of Salford on 6 February 1927. Fire severely damaged fabric prior to 'Xmas 2000. Re-built and opened by the Rt Rev Bishop Brain leader of the East Lancashire Catholic Community Sunday 13th June 2004.

St. Anne's Catholic Club 3 Paradise Lane.                                                       secretary: Thomas O'Hara (1903)

15 Clayton Street (1912-15).                                                                                  secretary: P Cunningham (1915)

St. Anne's Catholic School Paradise Lane (boys) (1870-81); Paradise Street (girls and infants) (1870-81); Witton (1878); Prince's Street (1903-51) boys, girls and infants

St. Anne's Parochial Hall Paradise Street (1939-66)

St. Anne's RCP School (1992-2011) Feilden Street

St. Ann(e)'s Street (1844-1980) 16 Grimshaw Park

St. Ann(e)'s Terrace (1912-30) Wellington Road Livesey

St. Anthony's RC church (1959)

St. Anthony's RCP School (1992-2011) Shadsworth Road

St. Anthony's Presbytery North Road (2011)

St. Barnabas' C of E Church Addison Street / Johnston Street was designed by W S Varley of Blackburn and erected in 1875-6 at a cost of £6,500. It accommodated 722 worshippers. The foundation stone of a church/school premises was laid on 16th September 1876. Church re-established in co-op building on 85 Johnston Street in 1988 with community centre, bookshop and cafe after the closure and demolition of the original building because of dry rot in 1979.

St. Barnabas' Community Centre (1996)

St. Barnabas (C of E) National School (1878-1951) Johnston Street mixed and infants

St. Barnabas and St. Paul's C of E primary school (1972-2011) off Oakenhurst Road opened 1972

St Barnabas Street (1885-1980) Belle Vue Street Nos 3-27 and 2-40

St. Bartholomew's C of E Church Ewood consecrated 12th December 1910 and cost £7,000. Designed by Diocesan Architect Mr Seward of Preston Foundation stones were laid by G Stewart Bowles MP and Miss Lund of Preston New Road in November 1909. Demolished 2008

St. Batholomew's C of E Church Jack Walker Way Ewood designed and built by Cassidy and Ashton (2006)

St. Bartholomew's CEP School (1903-2004) Bolton Road Ewood mixed and infants merged with St. Andrew's C of E Primary school (2004) at Fernhurst Farm estate Ewood 2006. Demolished 2008

St. Bartholomew's Sunday School foundation stone laid by Sir W H Houldsworth MP on 9/5/1896

St. Bede's RC High School (1992-2012) Livesey Branch Road demolished for new school 2014

St. Bees Close (1980)

St Cecilia & Vocal Union (1896-1922)                                       conductor E C Robinson MB FRCO (1922)

St. Cedd built 598 and mentioned in the Doomsday Book was later to become St. Mary's then the Parish Church and Cathedral. This church had 2 bovates of land and 2 carucates at Whalley free of all custom or fees territorial or ecclesiastical.

St. Chad's Mission Church Pleckgate Road (1912-51)

Held teenage dances in 50s and 60s, a youth club and a badminton team & football team (1920s). Used as overspill for Four Lane Ends school (1950)

St. Clement's (1851)                                                                                               became St Thomas'

St. Clement's Church (1951) Bottomgate

St. Clement's Close (1980)

St. Clement's Female Friendly Society (1857-1912)

St. Clement's School (1852) Billinge

St. Clement's Street (1870-1980) 150 Bottomgate Nos 11 and 82-88

St. Clement's Terrace (1851)

St. David's Avenue (1980)

St. Francis' Church Feniscliffe nr Cherry Tree a perpendicular church opened 25th July 1892 and consecrated 29th November 1893. Designed by Aldridge & C Deacon of Liverpool costing £7,000 Lieutenant General Randal Joseph Feilden gave the site and £1,000 towards the cost.

St. Francis' C of E School (1903-15) Norfolk Street Mill Hill mixed and infants

St. Francis' CEP School (1939-2011) Cherry Tree Lane

St. Francis' Cricket Club (founded 1951)                                                          William Gosgrove founding member

St. Francis' Iron School Henry Whalley Street (Bower House Fold), built and opened on Whit Sunday in 1889 at a cost of £500 accommodates 400 persons.

St. Francis' Mission Church Norfolk Street, Mill Hill foundation stone laid by J Rutherford MP on 31st August 1895.Designed by Stones & Gradwell Blackburn consisting of large room 63ft x 24ft.

St. Francis' Players (Drama Group) (1994)

St. Francis' Road (1958) off Preston Old Road

St. Gabriel's Amateur Dramatic Society (1965-83)

St. Gabriel's Avenue (1958) Brownhill Drive

St. Gabriel's C of E Church Pearl Street Whalley New Road erected in 1900 and accommodated 370 people. It was originally a mission from St Michael's and All Angels Church which started in the back kitchen of 532 Whalley New Road, Roe Lee. It was erected in 1900 at a cost of £1,000. The foundation stone for the new church on Brownhill Drive was laid on 5th March 1932 by the Bishop of Blackburn Dr P M Herbert and consecrated by him in 1933 costing £20,000. This church was designed by F X Velarde of Liverpool and accommodated 500 people. Between 1969 and 1975 some £40,000 of work was necessary on the roof and tower because of water penetration. The large red neon illuminated cross was installed on the tower in October 1964.

St. Gabriel's C of E School (1903-79) Pearl Street mixed; (1912-30) mixed and infants; (1939-51) Cornelian Street mixed and infants

St. Gabriel's CEP School (1979-2011) Wilworth Crescent

St. Gabriel's Church Institute 79/81 Cornelian Street (1930-51)                  secretary: A Haresnape (1930)

St. Gabriel's Mission Church Pearl Street (1915)

St. George's Academy Preston New Road (1878)

St. George's Avenue         (1958) previously Archibald Street (1926-9) Angela Street

St. George's Free Church of England (1907) St. George's Avenue Mill Hill opened St George's Day 1907 having been established by Rev Henry Sobey. Originally built of corrugated iron with brick foundations it accommodated 300 worshippers.

St. George's Presbyterian Church Preston New Road foundation stone of church and schools laid 4th March 1865. Was opened in 1868 at a cost of £7,000 it had about 600 sittings. Was closed (1973) and demolished 1974 having been sold for £90,000 to developers. The church was united with Four Lanes End and is now called the United Reformed Church.

St. George's Place (1870) 46 Preston New Road Nos 42/46

St. George's Public Higher Grade School moved to Blakey Moor in 1911 joining teh Parish Higher Grade School to form the Blackburn Higher Elementary School under the headship of W H Boddy.

St. George's Mission Hall started in 1894 rented then bought 58 Blakey Street opened 5th December 1896 (1951)

St. George's Works Blakey Street (1958) W H Barker expanding wraiths for beaming and taping.

St. Francis Road (1929) off Preston Old Road

St. Hilda's C of E Secondary Modern Girls' School (1939-51) Dickinson Street opened in 1939 merged with St. Peter's school to form St. Wilfred's school in 1965.

St. Ignatius Choral Society (1920)

St. Ives Road (1912) late Cabin End Road 236 Accrington Road Intack

St. Ives Shuttle Works built (1911) by British Stationery Manufacturing Co

St. James' CEP School (1992-2011) off Stopes Brow Lower Darwen

St. James' CEP School (1912-99) Oozebooth Terrace mixed and infants

St. James' Church Shear Brow is a gothic edifice designed by F J Robinson erected in 1874 at a cost of £4,200 exclusive of site. It contained 644 sittings of which 444 were free.

St. James' Church Lower Darwen is a gothic fabric with a hexagonal tower erected in 1829 at a cost of £5,491. It contained 654 sittings of which 410 were free. Demolished 1969. New church built 1969 near by.

St. James' (C of E) National & Sunday Schools (1877-1903) Shear Brow mixed and infants. It opened in 1877 and was enlarged in 1895.              Pleckgate Mixed (1878-81)

St. James' (C of E) National School Blackamoor (1873-1925) mixed and infants; (1947-51) infants. Demolished in 1996/7 after being used by Messrs Trevor Dawson & Co. for business purposes

St. James' (C of E) National School (1870-1951) School Lane Guide mixed and infants

St. James' National School (1881-1903) Lower Darwen mixed and infants extension opened 1st October 1905

St. James' C of E School (1930) Roman Road mixed and infants

St. James' Place (1951) St. James' Road

St. James' Road (1885) 178 Shear Brow Nos 3-203 and 4/6 & 148-162

St. James' Scout Troop (1951)

St. James' Sports Ground Pleckgate Road (1938) now Blackburn Northern

St. James' Street (1903) 33 New Wellington Street Livesey Nos 1-13 and 4-12

St. James' Square off Chapel Street (1893-1929)

St. James' Square (1980)

St. James' Terrace (1881) Wellington Street Livesey

St. John Ambulance Association 15 Richmond Terrace (1897) St. Peter Street (1903) 51 East Park Road (1924-51) Corps HQ Princess Street (1942-58) Brigade HQ Kensington Chambers Sudell Cross (1924-5) Mill Lane (1929-41)                                                                     hon secretaries N A Smith & J Haworth (1897)

secretary: John Smith (1924-51)               divisional superintendent: G Ormerod (1924-5) T Fielding (1930)

St. John's Ambulance Brigade (first est 1880s) Canterbury Street (1909-12); Mill Lane (1930); Cardwell Place (1974); Princes Street (1960s);                              hon. surgeon and superintendent: B G Elliott (1909)

HQ opened in Lees Hall Teetotal Mission, Mincing Lane in 1976 having been purchased 2 years before at a cost of £10,000. This was to close in 1999.

St. John's Chambers (1878-1949) 35 Richmond Terrace

St. John's the Evangelist C of E Church Victoria Street erected in 1787-9 at a cost of £8,000 and consecrated 31st July 1789. Henry Sudell contributed half of the cost. Contained 1,390 sittings of which 224 were free. It was enlarged and beautified in 1848. The vestry by J Brindley was added in 1865 and in 1891 the interior galleries and chancel additions. Services ended in 1975 and was later acquired by Blackburn Borough Council. This was followed by some £24,000 being spent to restore the structure of the building and to allow public access to the ground floor only. Grade 2 listed in 1951.

St. John's Church Institute 42 Bold Street (1903-51)

secretary: J Sagar (1930); G Walkden (1935); H Fielding (1939-42); M A Simpson (1942-51); H Fielding (1951)

St. John's C of E Junior and Infant (National) Schools (1844-1951) Greenbank Street / Altom Street / Bicknell Street opened on 8th April 1844 boys, girls and infants. The foundation stone was laid by Joseph Feilden, who had given the land. Built by William Stones the cost was £2,250 it was opened on Easter Monday 1845. Pleckgate (1870). Converted to a mosque in 1978

St. John's Female Friendly Society (1850)

St. John's Labour Party 13 Victoria Street (1951)

St. John's Lodge (1878-1929) 41 Richmond Terrace

St. John's Parish (1847) from Seven Acre brook along Borough boundary to Cemetery gates, along Whalley New Road to Derikins Bridge, following the river to Brookhouse Lane bridge, Brookhouse Lane, Whalley Road, Penny Street, Old Chapel Street, river, Fisher Street, Cort Street, across Market Place, New Market Street, Northgate, Astleygate, Fish Lane, Barton Street, across Blakey Moor, Queen Street, Northgate, Limbrick, Shear Brow and Four Lane Ends, to Seven Acre brook. Population: 10,180.

St. John's Place (1824-1929) James' Street / 29 Victoria Street

St. John's School House (1851)

St. John's Terrace (1878-1929) Ainsworth Street

St. John Vianney RC church (1959)

St. John's View (1903-30) Ainsworth Street

St. John's Working Men's Conservative Club (1870) 119 Whalley Range

St. Joseph's R C Church Mary Street Audley designed by Goldie and Childe of London opened 30th August 1877 by Cardinal Manning. Cost a total of £12,000. The site was purchased by Mr R Shakeshaft from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, and presented by him to the building committee. The foundation stone was laid on Whit-monday 1875. The schools were included under the church. It was closed in 1977 and demolished in 1981. Meetings had been previously held from 1869 in three cottages in William Hopwood Street.

St. Joseph's Catholic School (1878-81) William Jackson Street Audley boys, girls and infants; Mary Street (1903) boys, girls and infants; Cumberland Street (1912-47) boys, girls and infants

St. Joseph's Place (1903-12) Cumberland Street

St. Joseph Street (1878) 44 William Hopwood Street

St. Joseph's Terrace (1903-30) Cumberland Street

St. Jude's Church Accrington Road erected 1914 costing £7,000. Land donated by Fred Baynes Esq. Designed by A R Gradwell & Son. Formerly a Mission Church in Hozier Street from 28/2/1886. Consecrated in April 1914 by the Bishop of Manchester. First vicar Rev John Jennings. Church demolished in the 1990s to build a new church and community centre retaining the Tower. Now St Thomas and St Judes. Eight bells were consecrated and installed on 13th April 2015 replacing bells installed in 1932.

St. Lawrence Avenue (1966)

St. Luke's Church Duckworth Street (1870)

St. Luke's C of E Church Bank Top consecrated 20th December 1877, designed by Stevens and Robinson of Derby the cost of building was £6,700. The foundation stone was laid on 16th October 1875. Contained 702 sittings, of which 436 were free

St. Luke's (C of E) National School (1870-1951) Duckworth Street mixed and infants

St. Luke's Church Institute Dickinson Street (1912-25)          secretary: J Gregson (1912); E Livesey (1915)

St. Luke and St. Philip's CEP School (1992-2011) Hancock Street

St. Margaret's Way (1980)

St. Marks' Church Burnt Field Buncer Lane Witton whose foundation stone was laid on 6/10/1836 and built by subscriptions being consecrated by the Bishop of Chester on 9th June 1838 was Grade 2 listed in 1974. It contained 600 sittings, half of which were free. Joseph Feilden gave £200 towards the £700 cost in addition to the site. The Diocesan Society gave £40. The architect was Edmund Sharpe of Lancaster, which was his first commission and as such built the octagonal tower at the east end rather than the west as in most churches. Built in the Romanesque style it is said to be a copy of a church on the Rhine. Comsecrated 10/6/1837 by the lord bishop of Chester. In August 1849 he gave £50 for the decoration of windows with stained glass. In 1850 an organ by Jacksons of Liverpool was built in the balcony. The addition of the south transept took place in 1870 and the north transept in 1886. The bell was cast by Meare and Son of Swainbank London in 1889 and the boxes and benches were replaced with pews in 1890. The organ, which had been in the balcony, was re-sited in the north transept in 1914-15.

St. Mark's Church Institute Higher Witton Road (1951)                                 secretary: J R Ibbotson (1951)

St. Mark's Conservative Club Witton formed in 1925 and foundation stone laid by Major James Hawley Gilbert Feilden in October. Erected at a cost of £4,300 it was opened by Mr. A Norman Dugdale who deputized for Major J H G Feilden.                                                                                   See conservative clubs.

St. Mark's Dramatic Society formed in 1935 closed 1976

St. Mark's (C of E) National School (1878-81) Redlam Witton mixed; (1903-39) infants

Wensley Fold (1870-81) mixed

St. Mark's Parish (1872) Witton includes the township of Witton and part of the township of Blackburn, commencing near Griffin Inn and proceeding along Banktop and Throstle Street to the river, and thence along the boundary of St. Paul's parish to the toll bar. Population: 6,006

St. Mark's Place (1947) Rolleston Road / Wensley Street

St. Mark's Road (1958) 187 Wensley Road

St. Mark's School (1844) near church

St. Martin's Drive (1980)

St. Mary the Virgin                                                                                      see Parish church

St. Mary the Virgin with St. Paul

St. Mary's Catholic College (1925-2015) secondary school for boys started at Springfield, 40 Shear Bank Road (1925-30) by the Marist Fathers on the invitation of Bishop Casartelli; Marist fathers home: 51 East Park Road (1948); 24 & 36 Shear Bank Road (1951).

210/212 Shear Brow (1930-2011) purchased for £2,650 a new school was built at a cost of £8,000 to accommodate 150 students. Formally opened by Bishop Henshaw in November 1930.Classed as Secondary Grammar School in 1951 became co-educational 6th form College in 1979 

                                                headmaster: Rev. William Fox SM (1930); Rev A Cusack SM DD MA (1939-51)

St. Mary's Catholic School (1878-1955) Dean Street Islington boys, girls and infants

St. Mary's C of E Parish Church Darwen Street / Church Street                  see Parish Church (Cathedral)

St. Mary's Close (1980)

St. Mary's National School (1878-81) Darwen Street Boys, girls and infants became Higher Grade schools

St. Mary's Parish (1872) from Audley Higher Barn bridge (above the railway station), along canal to top of Lower Audley Street, thence to Park Road, thence to Railway bridge, thence along railway to bridge to Nova Scotia, along Freckleton Street to the river, to Daren Street Bridge, and along Darwen Street, Mill Lane, Back lane, Astleygate, Northgate, New Market Street, across Market place, Cort Street, Fisher Street, the river, Old Chapel Street, Penny Street, Syke Street, Eanam, Audley Higher Barn Lane to the Canal Bridge. Population: 5,200

St. Mary's R C Church Islington a neat gothic building whose foundation stone was laid on 16th May 1864 by the Bishop of Salford the Rt. Rev. William Turner and opened the following year on the 4th May 1865. It was designed by John Cundall of London and the cost of erection was £5,000. It accommodated 700 persons. It had been preceeded by an 'Iron Chapel' erected on the site of the Boys' School to come on 13th October 1860. Closed 4/11/1987 and demolished, only the presbytery remains now as day nursery for infants

St. Mary's R C Junior School Dean Street (1871-1945) boys, girls and infants

St. Mary's R C Primary School (1950-1992) Bennington Street opened on 20th April 1952. The architects were Messrs. Greenhalgh and Williams of Bolton.

St. Mary's R C Sixth Form College (1992) Shear Brow                                  see St. Mary's Catholic College above

St. Mary and St. Joseph RCP School (1999-2011) Bennington Street

St. Mary's Ward Conservative & Unionist Association Women's Branch (1936)

                                                President: Miss L Sumner (1936) Hon Sec Miss Heyes (1936)

St. Mary's Well on Gillies Map of Blackburn 1822 between River Blakewater and Cicely Hole covered by railway station                                                                                                          see also All Hallows Well

St. Matthew's C of E Church Cambridge Street Higher Audley erected 1885-6 to designs by W C Habershon and Co., of London it cost £7,100. Demolished 1970.

St. Matthew's Chapel/School Higher Audley designed by James Bertwistle of Blackburn The foundation stone was laid on 31st July 1880.

St. Matthew's CE Primary School (1912-92) Cambridge Street mixed and infants

St. Matthew's C of E School (1903) Withers Street mixed and infants; (1939-51) Oxford Road mixed and infants

St. Matthew's CEP School (1999-2011) Withers Street

St. Michael and All Angel's C of E Church Whalley New Road was consecrated in 1869. The foundation stone laid on 3rd January 1866. Designed by Stevens and Robinson costing £6,000 Contained 802 sittings of which 400 were free. Closed in 1977 and demolished. Superceded the one in Daisyfield below services now held in Palm Street.

St. Michael's Church Daisyfield built by the Wesleyans and later purchased by the vicar of Blackburn in 1828. A brick building it was opened on 29th September 1839 by license from the bishop of the diocese.

St. Michael's Church Institute 84 Whalley New Road (1924-51)

St. Michael's (C of E) National School (1870-81) Whalley New Road boys, girls and infants; (1903) mixed; (1912-15) mixed and junior; (1924-30) mixed and infants; (1939-51) junior; Union Buildings infants (1878-1903)

St. Michael's Close (1980)

St. Michael's Court (1980)

St. Michael's Parish (1872) includes the township of Little Harwood, part of the township of Rishton (not belonging to the parochial chapelry of Great Harwood) and lying west of the canal and part of the township of Blackburn, commencing on the canal at the junction of Rishton and Blackburn and proceeding along the canal to Eanam Bridge, thence along Eanam Road, Bancroft Street, Birley Street, Whalley Road, Brookhouse Lane, river to Derikins Bridge, Whalley New Road to boundary of Blackburn township, near Cemetery Gates, and along that boundary to the junction. Population: 7,543

St. Michael Street (1903) 334 Whalley Range Nos 5-33 and 2-28

St. Michael with St. John CEP (1992- 99) Swallow Drive

St. Monica's RC Secondary Modern School Green Lane (opened 1961) head teacher Sister Gabriel

St. Oswald's National School Cabin End opened on 6th August 1837 with 150 pupils

St. Oswald's CE Primary School (1859-2011) Mount St James Knuzden mixed and infants. John Reddish of Knuzden Hall laid the foundation stone on 2nd July 1859 and the school opened the following year.

St. Oswald's Church (1870) Knuzden Brook was built in 1878 at a cost of £3650. The architects were Messrs J & M Aspinall of Blackburn. The foundation stone was laid on the 8th May 1875 by the Mayor of Blackburn William Coddington Esq.,

St. Patrick's Catholic School (1878-81) 21 Quarry Street girls and infants; (1903) infants;

St. Paulinus' Catholic (Academy) School Astleygate (1878) believed to be fore runner of St. Alban's Higher Grade RC School

St. Paul's Avenue (1929-80) 30 Feilden Street

St. Paul's C of E Church St. Paul's Street was brick clad with round arched windows it was first built as a chapel of ease in 1791-2 but broke away from the established church and joined the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion until the vicar Rev. Samuel Dean left and it was consecrated into the C of E on 20th December 1829. In 1801 it had been put up for sale in the 'Blackburn Mail'. Vestry in south-west corner, chancel and entrance halls at the east end added 1866-7 at a cost of £1,000. Seated 879 of which 315 were free. The last service was held in May 1955 and it was demolished in 1956. The church organ built by Rushworth & Dreaper of Liverpool was erected in 1913 by J E Fielding in memory of his wife and was sold to the Marton Parish Church, Blackpool.

St. Paul's Foundry (Railton's Forge) Nab Lane / St. Paul's Avenue was owned by Robert & John Railton (1850) engineers & ironfounders. Then owned by Clayton Goodfellow & Co (1878) It was demolished in1928 having been purchased many years before for a future extension of the technical college.

St. Paul's Methodist Church Hr Audley Street

St. Paul's Mill Co. Ltd. Nab Lane and George Street West (1878-81) cotton manufacturers (manager: William Exley (1878); James Eddleston (1881) then Frederick Shorrock (1902);

St. Paul's (C of E) National (Primary) School (1858-1925) St. Paul's Street / New Park Street boys, girls and infants; (1930-51) junior mixed and infants. The daughter of Joseph Feilden, who had given the land, laid foundation stone in April 1858. Preston New Road (1870)

The boys' and girls' schools were amalgamated from 1st September 1960. It was demolished in 1967

St. Paul's Parish (1872) from Seven Acre brook along highroad to Shear Brow, Northgate, Queen Street across Blakey Moor, Barton Street, Feilden Street, Adelaide Street, George Street West by river to end of Throstle Street thence northward by a straight line past Foxhouse (but not including it) to the Preston New Road (a short distance above Addison Street) thence to toll bar, and along Borough Boundary to Seven Acre brook. Population: 13,219.

St. Paul's RC Church Feniscowles

St. Paul's RCP School (1992-2011) off Preston Old Road Feniscowles

St. Paul's Street (1832-1980) 86 Blakey Moor Nos 1-35 and 2-46

St. Paul's Street West (1845)

St. Paul's Working Mens' Club 6 Victoria Street (1870) Montague Street (1923-2011)

St. Peter's Catholic Club Witton (1912-15)                   secretary: Charles Brothers (1912); J Dixon (1915)

St. Peter's C of E Church St. Peter's Street was erected in 1819-20 at a cost of £13,000. Consecrated on 11th September 1821 and sat 1500 worshippers of which 950 were free. Closed and demolished in 1976.

St. Peter's C of E Boys' Secondary Modern School (1941-65) Byrom Street built on the site of a timber yard and Bath Mill weaving shed. Merged with St. Hilda's C of E Secondary Modern Girls' School to form St. Wilfred's C of E High School in 1965 Demolished 2008

St. Peter's Church Institute 56a King Street (1889)

St. Peter's in Chains RC New School /Chapel Mill Hill the foundation stone was laid on 6th August 1887 by Bishop Vaughan and opened on 25th July 1889. It was designed by Edward Simpson of Bradford with the building costing £5,500 exclusive of site. The last mass held was on 24th June 1956 when the new church opened.

St. Peter's in Chains R C Church Mill Hill first foundation stone laid 1914 second foundation stone laid in 1954. Opened by Bishop Beck in 1956

St Peter's Foundry Canterbury Street (1858) built by William Ainsworth later leased by John & James Nuttall millwright & ironfounders. James & John Lang (1894) iron & brass founders

St. Peter's Place (1852) Chapel Street

St. Peter's RC (Sacred Heart) New Mission (Chapel of Ease) 70-74 Lansdowne Street Mill Hill opened 21st February1876

St. Peter's RC School (1903-51) Watson Street Mill Hill mixed and infants

St. Peter's (C of E) National School (1870-8) Bent Street boys

Byrom Street (1870-81) boys, girls and infants; (1903-51) mixed, junior and infants;

St. Peter's Parish (1872) from River (near Galligreaves Hall) along boundary of Borough to Preston Old Road, Banktop, Throstle Street, river, George Street West, Adelaide Street, Feilden Street, Fish Lane, Astleygate, Back Lane, Mill Lane, Darwen Street to bridge, along river, Freckleton Street, Canterbury Street, Alice Street, Coal Yard wall, Galligreaves Street, Taylor Street, footpath (near Galligreaves Hall) to the river. Population: 8,048.

St. Peter's RC Infant School (1992-2011) Hawkins Street

St. Peter's RC Junior School (1992-99) Watson Street

St. Peter Street (1870-1980) 32 Darwen Street Nos 7-19 and 8-34

St. Peter's Street British School (1878) boys, girls and infants

St. Peter Street Mill owned by Absalom Smith (1878) cotton manufacturer then St Peter Street Manufacturing Co Ltd (1912-22) cotton manufacturers

St. Peter's Street Wesleyan Schools (1862-81) mixed & infants and detached house for master designed by W Botterill of Hull built by Dent & Marshall of Blackburn at a cost of £1800

St. Philip's Newcastle Street (1930)                                                                    secretary: A Marsden (1930)

St. Philip's Bowling and Tennis Club Sandon Street (1924-51)                  now Dugdale Memorial

                                                                                    secretary: William Fielden (1930); G Gillibrand (1935-51)

St. Philip's C of E Church Griffin Witton was erected in 1880. Early English designed by John Lowe of Manchester with a tower of 90 feet. The cost of £9,000 to build was raised by subscriptions, aided largely by the Dugdale family. Services previously held in Griffin school. Merged with St Luke's in 1973 and closed 1974 followed by being demolished on 16/8/1975 leaving the tower. The altar and stained glass windows went to other churches all over the country including Iowa USA.                                                                                     see 1930 Blotter

St. Philip's C of E School (1903-25) Avondale Street Griffin Witton boys, girls and infants; (1930-51) mixed and infants

St. Philip's Parochial Hall Griffin Street / Newcastle Street (1912-35) opened by Adam Dugdale.     

 secretary: A Marsden (1935); G Gillibrand (1939)

St. Philip Street (1888-1980) Greenfield Street Witton Nos 1-65 and 2-38

St. Silas' C of E Church Preston New Road is a handsome gothic edifice designed by Paley & Austin, Lancaster. Foundation stone laid 8th December 1894 by Mrs. Tattersall of Quarry Bank, Billinge End Road. Was opened for devine service on Ascension Day 9th May 1898 and consecrated 18th July 1900 the cost of erection being £10,000. The porch, baptistery and tower without spire were not added to until 1913. The house Fair Elms (next door) was later demolished to make way for a new vicarage. New organ presented by Miss Lund and opened by Dr E C Bairstow on 11th February 1904. After the new belfry (104 ft) was completed in 1913 costing £3,000 the bells were not added until 1982 from Holy Trinity Church. In the meantime the sound of bells was broadcast from the belfry by loud-speaker. Grade 2 listed in 1974.

St. Silas' National School Billinge mixed (1878); Preston New Road (1881) mixed

St. Silas' Parish Rooms Preston New Road (Billinge Sunday School) was first held prior to 1834 in an upper room of a cottage in Dinckley Square. In 1846 the Parish Rooms were licenced for worship as a Chapel of Ease for St. Paul's Church. 30 years later as the district was developing the idea of a new church was promoted and the site given and enclosed.                                                                                  see above

St. Silas' C of E School (1903) Clematis Street mixed new portion opened by Chairman of County Education Committee Sir Henry T Hibbert 30th January 1904 costing £3,000; (1912-51) mixed and infants;

Preston New Road (1903) infants

St. Silas' CE Infant School (1992-99) Clematis Street demolished 2010 temporary at St Stephen's P school

St. Silas' CE Junior School (1992-99) Clematis Street demolished 2010 temporary at St Stephen's P school

St. Silas' Road (1885) New Bank Road Nos 7-21 and 2-56

St. Stephen's Avenue (1929) 230 Whalley Old Road

St. Stephen's C of E Church Little Harwood built in 1908 opened 22/2/1908 and consecrated on the 23rd April. Of gothic style the cost of erection was £5,540. The foundation stone had been laid by W H Hornby Bart MP on 12/5/1906. The site was given by Norman Watney in September 1897.

St. Stephen's CE Infant School (1992-99) St Stephens Avenue

St. Stephen's CE Junior School (1992-2011) Phillips Road New school opened 2009

St. Stephen's Conservative Club and coach house Little Harwood Hall Robinson Street (1791) Grade 2 listed in 1951

St. Stephen's C of E Schools (1886-1951) Brooklands Terrace Little Harwood mixed and infants. The foundation stone was laid by W H Hornby Esq on 1/8/1885 for a Sunday school, which opened 18/7/1886. It became a day school on 2/8/1886 and as a Mission Church on 30/9/1886

St. Stephen's Road (1899) 218 Whalley Old Road Little Harwood Nos 1-23

St. Stephen's Street (1899) 17-37

St. Teresa Little Flower Catholic church (1951-66) Bentley Street

St. Teresa of the Child Jesus RC church Intack (1937)

St. Thomas' C of E Church Lambeth Street foundation stone laid 22nd September 1860 and was opened in 1865 at a cost of £5,600. The architect was E G Paley of Lancaster. Sat 1,054 persons (600 free) Closed and demolished. Moved to Newton Street (1972)

St. Thomas' C of E Primary School (1972-2011) Newton Street

St. Thomas' Church Institute Newton Street (1924-51);

St. Thomas' (C of E) National School (1870-1925) Lambeth Street boys, girls and infants; senr mixed and infants, junr); (1939-51) mixed, infants and juniors

St. Thomas' Parish (1872) from Lower Audley canal bridge along the canal to that part of the township of Rishton which is not included in the ancient parochial chapelry of Great Harwood thence along the boundary of such part of Rishton to its junction with the township of Blackburn, thence along that township boundary to the boundary of Christ Church parish and along that boundary to the canal bridge. Population: 12,492

St. Thomas' Place (1881-1929) 40 Billinge Street

St. Thomas' Street & Terrace (1872-1966) Lambeth Street / 40 Billinge Street / Skiddaw Street Nos 3-77

St. Thomas' Wescoe Memorial Hall (1897)

St. Thomas' Working Men's Conservative Club (1870) Higher Eanam

St. Wilfred's C of E High School (1966-2011) Shakespeare Street formed in 1966 when St Peter's C of E Boys' Secondary Modern School and St Hilda's C of E Girls' Secondary Modern School were merged. Re-built in 2003-4 using Duckworth Street site opened by Princess Ann

St. Wilfred's Neighbourhood Centre (2004)

Sabden Walk (1980)

Sackrey Farm (1870) Ramsgreave                                                                      James Kenyon (1870)

Sacred Heart R C Church Preston New Road had its foundation stone laid on 9th October 1937. Opened Sunday 25th September 1938 costing about £12,000 Church Hall built and opened in 2000.

Sacred Heart RCP School (1903-99) St. Silas' Road / Lynwood Road mixed

Sacred Heart (Catholic) Mission Room Witton (1889) served from St. Anne's see St. Peter's RC Mission

Sacred Heart School Lansdowne Street Witton (1881)

Salford (1832) the area where the crossing of the River Blakewater took place Nos 1-97 and 2-46

Salford New Brewery (1834) owned by Henry Shaw

Salford Bridge the improvement consisted of bridging over the river Blakewater, pulling down old property and forming wide streets in the central part of the town commenced in 1881 costing £45,000. The ivy-covered house on the corner was replaced by Hepworth's store, which later became the Corporation Tramway offices and still later Woolworth's was built. Drinking fountain forming part of the central lamp at Salford was removed to Pleasington playing fields in 1927.

Salford Chambers (1912-30) 67 Church Street

Salford House (1878) 93 Salford

Salford New Brewery owned by Henry Shaw & Co. (1870) brewers & maltsters then Thomas Dutton & Co (1878) brewers, closed in 1923. Whitbread vacate premises for new brewery at Samlesbury 1973. Demolished in 1986

Salford Street (1840-51)

Salisbury Dye Works Ewood (1958) Robinson Brothers (Blackburn) Ltd.

Salisbury Mill Ewood owned by Bank Top Mill Co (1912-30) cotton manufacturers

Salisbury Street (1903-80) Cecil Street Daisyfield Nos 3 and 2-12

Salisbury Street Primitive Methodist Chapel (bef 1895)

Salvation Army Water Street (1889) seating 400                                              Captain Doiege (1889)

3 London Road (1963);

Salvation Army Band formed in March 1882 under Captain David Gilbard bandmaster Jim Abram

Salvation Army Citadel Vicar Street Salford opened in 1925 Merchant Street;

Salvation Army Hall Angela Street Mill Hill (1951)

Salvation Army Hostel 29/31 King Street (1930-63) Regent Street (1960s) Heaton Street;               

capt. W T Fowler (1930); manager: George Seabrook (1921) A Dowling (1935); J Littlejohn (1939); captain E W Pailthorpe (1951);

Samaritan (1836) Grimshaw Park

Sand Holes (1872) St Thomas' Parish

Sandon Street (1903-80) Agnes Street Nos 2-64

Sandpiper Close (1980)

Sandwich Close (1980)

Sandy Lane now Bank Lane (1848)

Sandy Lane (1903-80) Branch Road Lower Darwen Nos 1-11 and 2-108

Sandy Lane (1980) Pleasington

Sanitary Inspector's office 51 Ainsworth Street (1903); Northgate (1915)

Medical officer of Health: A Greenwood M D; sanitary inspector (1903) chief (1915) James Graham.

Sapphire Street (1903) 348 Whalley New Road Nos 2-10

Sarah Ellen Street (1870-1903) 131 Montague Street renamed Devonport Road Nos 1-79 and 2-60

'Saturday Football' 18 Darwen Street (1930)                                        proprietor: E Walmsley (1930)

Saunders Road (1899) off 213 Preston New Road 16 families

Saville Villa (1878) 72 Preston New Road

The Saviour Church Longshaw the foundation stone was laid on 23rd March 1901.

Savings Bank Lord St. West                                                                     see Blackburn Savings Bank

Savoy (Cinema) Picture House Bolton Road Nova Scotia (opened 1922-57)       first to show talkies 1929 “Broadway Melody" lasted for two weeks. Originally owned by Yorke family then ABC Night Club (1931). Closed in 1957. Re-opened for bingo and as a social club. Now carpet warehouse.                                                                                                                                                       general manager: Alan Farman (1923)

Sawer's Yard (1851)

Sawrey Street (1929) 369 Preston Old Road Feniscliffe

Saw Mill Lane (1844) (Highfield Road) Bolton Road

Saxon (Hotel) Inn                                                                                       see Moat House

Scar Farm (1930-51) Preston New Road

Scar Lane

Scar(r) Street (1878-1980) 75 Portland Street Witton Nos 7-33 and 4/8

Scarborough Road (1958) 170 Manxman Road

School Board Four Lane Ends mixed (1878)

School Board Offices Library Street                                                       see Education Offices

School Clinic Health Office 119 Bolton Road (1924-5); Victoria Street (1930); 35 Richmond Terrace (1935-51)

School Lane (1958) 325 Haslingden Road Guide was Spew Spout Lane

School of Dancing (stage) (1947) 3 New Water Street                                    Miss Dora Wilson (1947)

School of Domestic Science Whalley Range (1935-51) & Troy Street (1935-51); Regent Street (1946-69)

School of Dramatic Art (1939-51) 135 Preston New Road       principal: Miss Ida Shaw LYCL (1939-51)

School of Mental Children 39-41 Alma Street (1951)

School Street (1844-1980) High Street / 47 Bolton Road Nova Scotia Nos 7 and 44

School Street (1878) Livesey

School Street Independent School (1870) Nova Scotia

Science and Art School (1878) Paradise Lane

Science and Art School (1878) Quarry Street. Evenings

The Scientific Institute established 4th January 1831 at Music Hall with library and museum had 123 members

chairman: Dr Whittaker

Scotchman's Wood (1893) Witton Park

Scotland Bank Farm (1848-1966) Moorgate Fold Heys Lane                       H Marshall (1966)

Scotland Bank Mill Livesey owned by Henry Eastwood & Co Ltd (1911-58) had 612 looms

Scotland Bank Terrace (1930) Scotland Road Higher Audley

Scotland Bank Terrace (1947-80) 96 Heyes Lane

Scotland Road (1878-1958) 173 Higher Audley Street Nos 1-123 and 2-130

Scotland Terrace (1870-1929) Audley Range / 58 Scotland Road Nos 54-60

S D P Club 55 Montague Street (1912)                                                   secretary: H Hartley (1912)

The Sea Cadets started by Stan Haworth of Padiham 1964 Accrington Road school; Holy Trinity Primary School playground; Troy Street; Courtauld's Imperial mill canteen PhilipsRoad

Now TS Mohawk purpose built £135,000 building in the Somme Barracks Moss Street (2013)

Seascale Close (1980)

Seaton Court (1980)

Selbo(u)rne Street (1888) West View Witton Nos 3-149 and 2-36

Select Vestry (1795) the only means of local government prior to 1803 but continued until the newly formed Town Council in 1854. It was a loose body of townspeople who were appointed when the warden's of the parish church were appointed annually. Handed over responsibility for paving, lighting, watching and cleansing to the Police Commissioners from 1803

Selous Road (1966)

Selous Street (1906-66) Spring Lane / Preston Old Road Witton named after famous explorer Frederick Courtney Selous african big game hunter. Nos 2-16. Now 2-40 now Selous Road

Sessions House Northgate opened on 25th July 1912 to house Borough courts and police station by Sir Harry Hornby MP. Joint architects Briggs Wolstenholme & Thornley and Stones Stones & Atkinson built by W J Woof Cronshaw & Sons at a cost of £46,788

Sett End (1929) Shadsworth

Sett End Road (1980)

Seven Acre Brook (1808) handloom weavers' cottages Lammack Road Nos 1-11

Seven Acre Brook Farm (1836-81)                                                                     Moses Nightingale (1878)

Seventh-day Adventist Church

Seven Trees Whalley New Road The area became known as this when seven cedar trees were planted between St James' Road and Bastwell at the beginning of the 1900s. Unfortunately one wsa cut down in January 1989.

Seven Trees Avenue (1929-80) off Willow Street

Seven Trees Nursery School (1999) Whalley Street

Seven Trees Terrace (1870-1930) 186 Whalley (New) Road

Sewage Works established at Samlesbury on land owned by Sir Henry de Hoghton from 1875.

Shackerley (1843) small hamlet north of Shackerley Toll Bar

Shackerley Toll Bar Yew Tree Preston New Road charged travellers on the turnpike road from Blackburn to Preston for nearly half a century from 1842. Closed 31/10/1890 and demolished. Stood on Preston side of Yew Tree traffic lights across from County Hotel

Shackleton Street (1878-1980) 31 Higher Eanam

Shadsworth (1750) the area designated by Shadsworth Road today

Shadsworth Close (1980)

Shadsworth Community Centre Shadsworth Road opened in 1974. It comprises a sports hall (35m x 19m x 8m) 2 squash courts, a swimming pool (25m x 10.5m), meeting room, general activities area, snack bar, bar, and a substantial all weather flood-lit playing area.

Shadsworth Baptist church (1969) Oban Drive

Shadsworth Coppy (1929) Shadsworth Road

Shadsworth C Infant School (opened 29/8/1955) Rothesay Road

Shadsworth C Junior School (1954) Arran Avenue architect F V Powell AMICE Blackburn Corporation

Shadsworth Farm (1878-1949) Fecitt Road

Shadsworth Hall (1929-58) Shadsworth Road built by William Carr

Shadsworth Housing Estate post-war construction comprising 9 shops and 1,324 houses and flats accommodating some 3,500 people when built

Shadsworth Industrial Estate

Shadsworth Neighbourhood Association (1996)

Shadsworth Road (Intack Crescent) (1903) Haslingden Road Nos 16-30 (1859) Nos 16-44 and 187-207

Shadsworth Secondary Modern School Shadsworth Road opened 3rd September 1957 with 510 pupils later to become Queen's Park High School when merged with Eveton High School. Continually expanded until in 1973 it could take 1050 pupils became Blakewater College

Shakeshaft Street (1888-1980) 21 Audley Lane  Nos 3-39 and 4-36

Shakespeare mill Dickinson Street Bank Top owned by William Dickinson & Sons (1855-1904) cotton

spinner & manufacturer. James Dickinson with Phoenix mill (1891-4) 44,000 spindles 856 looms good shirtings. Followed by Shakespeare Mill Co Ltd (1912-30) cotton manufacturers Disused by 1937 the site was purchased by Blackburn Diocesan Board of Finance for conversion to a school. Birth of St. Hilda's C of E Girls' Secondary Modern School now St Wilfred's C of E Comprehensive School

Shakespe(a)re Street (1870-1980) 14 Duckworth Street Nos 2/4

Shakespeare Way (1980)

Sharples Farm (1870-1915) Ramsgreave                                                          Mary Haydock (1870)

Sharples Land (1750)

Sharples Row Novas

Sharples Street (1851-72) Duxbury Street

Sharples Street (1844-1980) 98 Bolton Road Nova Scotia 2 businesses 19-30 and 28

Sharples' Yard (1870) Daisy Street

Sharrocks (pre 1910) Billinge End

Shaw Close (1980)

Shaw Street (1870-1980) 12 Johnston Street Nos 1-81 and 2-82

Shearbank(e) (Shearebancke, Shearebanke, Sheearbanke, Sherebancke, Sherebanke, Shirebancke) (1618) Shire Brow

Shear Bank Close (1980)

Shear Bank Estate (1750)

Shear Bank Gardens (1947)

Shear Bank House (1878) 24 East Park Road

Shear Bank Road (1878) off Preston New Road Nos 4-26 Blackburn Subscription Bowling Green club was established there in 1869.

Shear Bank Terrace (1900-30) 46 Palmer Street

Shear Bank Villa (1929) 16 Shear Bank Road

Shear Brow (1844) (51) 88 Limbrick                                                        see Shire Brow

Shear Mount (1872-1929) 8 East Park Road

Shearwater Drive (1980)

Sheriff's Officer                               Edwin Hamer 54 Church Street (1889-25) 50 Ainsworth Street (1930)

Sherwood Road (1980)

Shetland Close (1980)

Shire Bank Fold (1832) a Jacobean farmstead now crossed by Shear Bank Road was the home of James Pemberton (1832) who gave his name to Pemberton Clough the area covered by Corporation Park. Eventually purchased from Joseph Feilden the owner in 1885

Shire Brow (now Shear Brow) (1836-70) starts at 51 Limbrick Nos 1-335 and 2-254

Shopping Precinct started in the 1965 by Blackburn Borough Council, Laing's Properties, the developers, and the Co-operative Insurance Society, the third and final phase was completed in 1980 and opened by Lord Thomson of Fleet in June by which time it was out of date. Project Architect was Mary Smallbone of Building Design Partnership wining a Civic Trust Ward in 1969. Phase1 was completed in 1968 comprising of 60 shops, 3 large stores, Peppermint Place, the multi-storey car park and town hall extension linking King William Street, Victoria Street and Lord Street. Phase 2 was built between 1969 and 71 comprising Tesco, the Co-op and Boots with extra car parking, bringing in Ainsworth Street, Springhill, Market Way, and half of Victoria Court and Cobden Court. and the third and final phase started in 1976 was finished in 1979. In 1986 Laings sold out to London Edinburgh Trust who promised a £15m refurbishment. In 1990 London and Edinburgh Trust had been transferred to Oppidan Estates. Late in 1993 the Co-operative Insurance handed over their interest to Edinburgh and London, which took over control with Blackburn Borough retaining a minority interest as land-owner. In 1994 Standard Life took over form Edinburgh and London Trust and immediately promised a much-needed facelift. A £11m development then took place on the first phase and was completed by Christmas 1995.

(The) Shore (1903-58) 918 Whalley New Road / Bull's Head 2 businesses & Woodbine House

Shore Farm known as New Hall in 1841 (1841-1958) Ramsgreave             Robert Alker (1881)

Shorrock Delph opened in 1618 under a decree from King James that two acres of land at Whinney Edge should be reserved for the getting of stones for the farmers and tennants.

Shorrock Farm (1851) Feniscowles

Shorrock Fold (1832-1980) the much used passage from 29 Church Street to Lord Street and the Market Square. One side was demolished when Thwaites' Arcade was built. Part of the other side was the back entrance to the Grosvenor Vaults.

Shorrock Hey (Shorrocke Hay, Shororck Hey, Shorrocke Hey) Pleasington (1614) Peter Ellingthorpe (1870)

Shorrock Hey Farm (1843-70) north of Billinge End Road Pleasington    

Catherine Dewhurst (1870) Thomas Eddlestone (1870)

Shorrock Hey Fold (1789-1843) Woodfold Park before Alum Scar

Shorrock Lane (1851-1980) 362 Livesey Branch Road Mill Hill previously Bower House Fold Lane (1848) Nos 1-93

Shorrock Lane Bridge constructed in 1926 at a cost of £3,000 previously Bower House Fold Bridge

Shorrock Lane Farm (1851-81)   John Booth (1870) Richard Phillipson (1878) William Hindle (1870)

Shorrock Street (1878-1980) 33 Joiners Row / Grimshaw Park Nos 1 & 9

Shorrock Yard (1872) St Thomas' Parish

Short Street (1870-1958) 11 Bond Street Nos 1-21

Shorthand Writers' Association (1891) 21 Lord Street (1891)                                 

Shrewsbury Place (1980)

Shuttle Mark (1898) tenement at Bencock north of Billinge

Shuttle Street (1870) Bancroft Street

Shuttleworth Street (1878-1958) Bancroft Street

Side Barn (1851) Livesey

Side Beets (1872) St Thomas' Parish

Sidney Street (1929-66) Down Street

Sidney Street works (1958) Richard D Shorrock & Sons healds and reeds

Sike (1750)

Silloth Close (1980)

Silverdale Close (1980)

Simmons Street (1870) Northgate off Sudell Cross Nos 1-17 and 2-32

Simmons Street Rope Walk (1822) owned by Roger Pomfret                                  see Ropewalks

Single Row (1903) Revidge Road

Single Street (1929) Revidge Road

Sink Street (1843) Grimshaw Park

Sisters of Nazareth, Nazareth House, Preston New Road (1939-51)

Sisters of Notre Dame (Convent), Whalley New Road (1930-51)

Sixty Steps - local name for Brantfell Road because of its number of steps leading up to Revidge

Skating Rink and Recreation Rooms Canterbury Street (1878-85)                                               

    secretary: J Ibbotson (1878); manager: James Ramskill (1885-9)

Skelshaw Close (1980)

Skew Bridge Railway bridge crossing Whalley New Road at Clarendon Road

Skew Bridge Mill (1951) John Fish Ltd along with Waterfall Peel Street Florence and Ewood mills.

Skew Bridge Shuttle Works Clarendon Road built (1912) by John Hodgkinson & Sons

Skiddaw Street (1870-1980) Lambeth Street / 23 Audley Street Nos 1-91 and 6-90

Skye Crescent (1958) Shadsworth

Slack Gate (1900-80) Blackamoor Road

Slater's Court (1824) off Thunder Alley (Town Hall Street)

Slater Lane (1980)

Slater Street (1899-1980) Moorgate Street

Slopes Lane (1911) now Brownhill Road

Smalding Bridge                                                                                        see Dam Heys Bridge

Smalding Cottage (1829-72) Dam Heyes Bridge on canal Audley owned by Tommy Whittaker

Smalding's Farm (1856) Audley estate 24 acres 2 roods 35 perches

Small Den Farm (1870)                                                                              Richard Eccles (1870)

Smalley Street (1870-1966) 15 Kemp Street

Smalley Street (1929) 80 Livesey Branch Road

Smalley Way (1980)

Smallpox Hospital Finnington Lane (1888-1941) opened during a smallpox epidemic in 1888. In 1895 the building was considerably improved and extended to accommodate 60 patients.

Smithers Street (1852) Penny Street

Smithies Street (1851) Primrose Bank

Smith Street (1870) Pickup Bank

Smith Street (1903) No 18

Smith Street (1878-1966) 16 Fort Street

Smithies Street (1870-1958) Primrose Bank / 20 Larkhill Nos 1-17 and 10a-28 & 74

Smithy End Farm (1881) Ramsgreave

Smithy House Farm (1870) Livesey                                                                   Ralph Richardson (1870)

Snaefell Road (1958) Manxman Road

Snape Fields (1856) Audley estate wirg Higher Walks 7 acres 1 rood 19 perches

Snape Street (1870-1966) 86 Withers Street / Audley Range Nos 7-55 and 12-84

Snig Brook (1818-1912) St. Paul's Street off Winter Street Nos 17-105 and 14-124 now Denville Street

Snig Brook Brewery (1820) built by Alderman Cunliffe leased by James Cunningham (1838) and T & W Thwaites from 1874 closed in 1921 Malt Street

Snowden Cottage (1851)

Snowdon Avenue (1966)

Snow Hill (1852)

Snow Street (1903-80) 1 Calder Street Nos 3-29 and 4-22

Snowdon Avenue (1980)

Social Club 639 Whalley New Road (1942-51)                                     secretary: William Swift (1942-51)

Social Democratic Federation (Party) (1897) 54 Victoria Street (1897) New Water Street                

                                                                        secretary: Harry Buck (1903) J Holden (1909) H Hartley (1912)

Socialist Club Montague street opened by Mr Harry Quelch on 18th January 1908

Society of Friends Paradise Terrace (1951)                              see Quakers Meeting House

Society for P. C. to Children 18 Richmond Terrace (1897-1909)

            hon sec: R C Needham (1897) James Fairfield (1909); inspector: G Turner (1897) J F Rushton (1909)

Sod Hall (Sod Hole) (1800-1929) 303-307 Revidge Road owned and rented by Thwaites' estate next to the Corporation Hotel were probably handloom weavers' cottages. Nos 3/4

Soho Foundry Foundry Hill Salford owned by John Dugdale & Sons (1870-1903) engineers, millwrights machinists & power-loom manufacturers

Somme Barracks Moss Street Daisyfield opened Blackburn TA HQ on 13th May 1990 by Major General Lord Michael Fitzalan Howard costing £1.5m. Home of D Company 4th Battalion The Queen's Lancashire Regiment covers 3.3 acres

Soroptimist International of Blackburn (2001)

Sough Lane (1966)

Sough Pits Farm (1996) Sough Lane Guide

Sour Milk Hall (1836-98) farmhouse

Sour Milk Hall Lane (1903-29) 10 Cob Wall continued over bridge Harwood Street Nos 2-20

Southfield (1870) 4 Shear Bank Road                                                    John Bolton (1870)

South View (1903-66) Wensley Street

Southview (1909) Blackamoor Road

Southview Terrace (1881-1929) Walter Street Audley Range

South West Street (1870-1958) 69 Duckworth Street

Southworth Street (1885-1980) Infirmary Road  Nos 1 and 2-28

Sower's Court (1870-1949) (20) 22 High Street                                               Miss Margaret Sower (1881)

Sparrow Terrace (1881-1930) 7 Quarry Street

Special School (1930-47) Regent Street boys and girls

Speculation Mill                                                                                          see Bridge Mill

Speedwell Street (1929-80) off Marsden Street

Speke Street (1966)

Spew Spout Farm (1930-66) School Lane Guide                                            G & P Derbyshire (1966)

Spew Spout Farm (1870) Lower Darwen                       John Thompson (1870); William George Ingham (1870)

Spew Spout Lane (1886-1966) (now School Lane) Guide

Spew Spout Road (1903) Nos 18-40 and 107

Spinners' and Minders' Institute 9 St. Peter's Street (1878-81)        secretary: Richard Greenwood (1878-81)

Spiritual Temple (Hall) St. Peter Street (1901-2013) foundation stone laid 29th June 1901 by J T Ward of Blackburn Alfred Smedley of Belper and Stephen Robinson of Blackburn architects Messrs Stones & Stones;  (New) Spiritualist Centre Princes Street (2013) foundation stone laid David Bruton president Spiritualist National Union and Kathryn Grundy vice president North Lancs and Cumbria Council designed by Lea Hough Chartered Surveyors; Tontine Street (1930)

'Sports Telegraph' Railway Road                                                          

publisher: Thomas P Ritzema (1903); North West Newspaper Co. Ltd. (1930

Spolding Cottage (1836) Audley

Spout Brow Bridge (1893) Witton site of the murder of little girl Barnes by Cross Duckworth in 1893 cleared away by 1909

Spout Fold (1843) Billinge End Road

Spout House Farm (1870) Lower Darwen                                                         Thomas Noble (1870)

Spring Bank (1878-1929) 60 Redlam Brow Witton

Springbank (1903-30) Preston New Road 3 familys

Springbank Court (2002) replaced the three tower blocks which were demolished in (2001)

Spring Bank Farm (1902-35) Feniscowles

Spring Bank Mill Livesey owned by Teale & Bateson (1870) cotton spinners

Spring Bank Oil & Tallow Refinery Livesey (1890) owned by Richard Byrne

Spring Bank Terrace (1870) (95)117/123 Preston New Road                       Capt. H W H Graham (1870)

Spring Bank Terrace (1878-1980) Stakes Hall / Albert Street Livesey

Springbourne Villa (1870) Montague Street

Springburn House (1870) Montague Street                                                      James Cunningham JP (1870)

Spring Farm                                                                                                             see Springs Farm

Springfield (1870-1929) 20/4 Duke's Brow

Springfield (1929) off Revidge Road

Springfield Avenue (1980)

Springfield House (1870) Four Lane Ends                                                       Frederick Yates (1870)

Springfield House (1868-70) 307 Preston New Road             built by James Lewis see Maternity Hospital

Springfield (House) (1878-1929) 30 Shear Bank Road

Springfield mill Guide owned by Munroe & Booth (1870) cotton manufacturers then Matthias Munroe & Son Ltd (1887-1939) cotton manufacturers 555 looms home trade goods also Nab Lane Manufacturing Co Ltd 381 looms fine shirtings jacconettes etc.

Springfield (Spring Field) mills (Th' Buttertub) Stanley Street owned by Lewis Brothers Ltd (1851-1928) cotton spinners & manufacturers 65764 spindles 1220 looms best shirtings & jacconetts then Lancashire Cotton Corporation (1930-37) spinning mill added 1858 second weaving shed 1860 having 1,400 looms. Closed 1928 sold 1930. Closed again, stripped of machinery and demolished 1937-8 195ft chimney felled January 1940.

Springfield Municipal Maternity Nursing Home (House) 307 Preston New Road (1878-1969) controlled by the Health Committee it was opened in November 1923 to accommodate 36 cases per month.

                                                                                 matron: Miss F Bambridge (1930); Miss M C Graham (1951)

Springfield Mill (Buttertubs) Stanley Street built by Lewis Bros. Ltd 1852 in 1891 had 69,084 spindles and 1220 looms best shirtings and jacconettes (1922)

Springfield Place (1903-58) 142 Redlam Nos 136-142

Springfield Street (1929) 17 Spring Gardens Witton Nos. 2-12 & 7-11 built mid 19th c. Grade 2 listed 1974

Nos 2 4 7 & 9 previously 2 weavers cottages

Springfield Terrace (1903-30) 402 Haslingden Road Guide

Springfield Terrace (1903-80) Cherry Tree Nos 1-15

Springfield Terrace (1891) Accrington Road

Springfield Villa (1929) 144 Redlam

Springfield Villas (1903-30) Revidge Road 3 families

Spring Fold Farm (1881-1902) before crossroads Haslingden Road Guide

Spring Gardens (1872) a row of seven 19th cent. terrace houses behind the Knuzden Brook Inn

Spring Gardens (1824-1958) Station Road / Railway Road No 15

Spring Gardens (1851-1929) 15 Witton Village

Spring Grove (1881) 129 Preston New Road

Springhill (1956-8) St John's

Spring Hill (1832-1951) Station Road / Railway Road Nos 1/3 and 2/4        William Hart (1832)

Spring Hill Cotton Mill (Factory Hill) (1707) second cotton mill erected 1797 ran by John Anderton & Co. (1818) then Richard Haworth (1824-8) cotton spinner & manufacturer (1848)

Spring Hill Rope Walk established (1797) by Thomas Hart of Leyland

Spring(s) Farm (1832-1980) past the crossroads on Haslingden Road Guide was demolished for M65 extension                                                                  Henry Laytham (1832) James Wilkinson (1906) J Leigh (1966)

Spring Lane (1878-1980) 196 Witton Village - Stancliffe Street new road opened Wednesday 19th October 1938 by the mayor Alderman James Fryars JP

Spring Lane Terrace (1881) Albert Street

Spring Mill (1818) James Anderton & Co. cotton spinners

Spring Mount (1929) 151 Revidge Road

Spring Mount (1832) top of Montague Street / Preston New Road

                                                                                               James Barlow (1832) William Coddington JP (1870)

Spring Side House (1844) Montague Street / Sarah Ellen Street                 Mrs Ellen Sturdy (1870)

Spring Street (1851) Commercial Street

Spring Street (1870-1980) Sarah Ellen Street (Devonport Road / Ada Street)

Spring Street (1870) Weir Street

Spring Street & back (1870-1958) 128 Wensley Street

Spring View (1888-1958) Ada Street

Spring View (1870) Sarah Ellen Street (Devonport Road)

Spring View (1903) Nos 2-20

Spring Villas (1870) 10/12 Duke's Brow

Springwell House (1878) 2 Shear Bank Road                                     James Eccles (1870)

Spruce Street (1883-1929) St James Road now Cromer Place

Stackhouse Yard (1824) John Briggs surgeon

Staffa Crescent (1958) Shadsworth       

Stafford & Mc'Callum (1864) Waterfall Founfry Canterbury Street engineers and toolmakers

Stafford Street (1929-80) 122 Lower Audley Street

Stakes (1851)                                  

Stakes (Stackes) Hall area (1638)

Stakes Hall Mill Hill Livesey was reputed to be the family home of the Astley family for over 300 years.

In 1881 The Stakes Hall Hotel at 12/14 & 16 Albert Street (opposite the site of Stakes Hall house) was occupied by John Hothersall who was a butcher, grocer, tailor and draper, eating house and straw dealer as well as owning a bath house. By 1915 Mrs Mary Hothersall was the licensee with James Hothersall as a butcher but no baths. In 1939 Joseph E Hothersall was the licensee.

Stakes Hall Farm (1870-1902)

Stakes Hall Place (1878-1980) 10 Albert Street Waterfall Livesey

Stakes Hall School (1881) Livesey

Stamp Office Clayton Street (1818); 30 Church Street (1870); 13 Fleming Square (1878-85); 25 Richmond Terrace (1885);                                                                                                 see Post Office

agent: Mrs. Mary White (1818); distributor: Edward Wharton (1870); William Gregson (1878-85);

Stancliffe Mill Stancliffe Road owned by J B Martin (Silk Velvet) Ltd (1939); Roche Velours Ltd (1939) and Silk Velvet Manufacturing Co Ltd (1939-58)

Stancliffe Street (1870-1980) Havelock Street

Stancliffe Street Mill owned by Witton Mill Co Ltd (1958) had 244 looms also Silk Velvet Manufacturing Co Ltd. (1958)

Standard Works Audley Jones Brothers (1922)

Stanford Gardens  Roman Road

Stanhill Road (1966) Knuzden

Stanley (1878-81) 10 Limefield / 305 Preston New Road

Stanley Place (1929) Longshaw Lane

Stanley Range (1903) Bonsall Street Mill Hill Nos 2-22

Stanley Street (1870-1980) Mill Street / Harwood Street / 127 Peter Street Nos 4-36 and 74 & 98

Stanley Street mill (1851) owned by William Birtwistle & Co (1863-1904) cotton spinners & manufacturers. Birtwistle & Thompson (1891) with Nova Scotia mill 44,100 spindles 1120 looms dhooties and Woodfold mill Over Darwen. Edward Briggs & Co cotton manufacturers (1894) Birtwistle & Thompson cotton spinners & manufacturers (1894) then Birtwistle & Oddie (1912) cotton spinners & manufacturers followed by Haworth Bros & Co (Blackburn) Ltd (1922-58) who had 560 looms

Stanley Street Terrace (1870) Harwood Street

Stanley Terrace (1878-1929) Cherry Tree Nos 2-30

Stanley Terrace (1872) St Michael's Parish

Stansf(i)eld Street (1878-1980) Bank Top Nos 1-135 and 4-146 to be bulldozed 2012

Star Brewery Eanam (1806-7) built by Edward Duckworth & William Clayton of Grimshaw Park

Star Cottages (1903-49) Feniscowles 2 houses

Star (Daily) Newspaper office 10/12 Railway Road                                        manager: C Towler (1903)

Star Skate (1982) seat 600 people. Held British Championships & Junior European Championships (1983)

                                                                                                manager George Head & wife Dorothea

Starkie Street (1818-1980) 24 Penny Street No 8 (1903)

Starkie Street Corn Mill built abt (1878) by Joseph & Mary Noblett

Starlight Club                                                                                              see Star Picture Palace

(The) Star Picture Palace Plane Street Little Harwood (1902-82) opened as a cinema in 1910 seating 755 customers. Owned by Edward Taylor and two other partners (David Strong) it stayed in the Taylor family ownership for 51 years. Converted to sound in 1930 with Western Electric system showed “Sunny Side Up" New Starlight Club (1964-70). Unit Four cinema (1970 closed 1982. Converted into mosque-madressa.

Star Paper Mill Co. Ltd. (opened 1875- closed 2008) paper manufacturers Feniscowles

                                    man: Henry Rayner (1878-81); secretary: John E Jepson (1878); Eli Jepson (1991)

Star Skate (1981-7) international roller skating rink Cecil Street operated by Star Skate Services Ltd

Station Road (1870) 62 Church Street                                                   now Railway Road

Statues                                                                                                          see Public Art

Staveleigh (1929) 26 East Park Road

Ste(a)d (Stid) Fold (1832-99) off east of Shear Brow

Stephen Street (1903) 60 New Chapel Street Mill Hill Nos 1-35 and 2-60

Stewart Street (1903) 325 Bolton Road Nos 1-13

Stirling Drive (1980)

Stirling Street (1929-80) off Archibald Street

Stockclough (1595)

Stock Clough Farm (1851-1942) Feniscowles

Stockclough Lane (1966) (Jam Pot Lane) Feniscowles


Church Street Market stocks

Lower Darwen stocks may well date to the 17th or 18th centuries still on show.

Witton stocks

Stock's Buildings (1872) St Peter's Parish

Stock's Farm (1955-66) Meins Road / Carr Lane                                             J D Haymes (1966)

Stocks' Farm (1878-1959) Witton                                                                        Richard Grimshaw (1878)

Stone Hill House (1843) between Bank Hey and Eddy Holes

Stoneleigh (1881) 26 East Park Road

Stones Court (1870-1949) 105 King Street

Stone Street (1870-1929) Addison Street

Stone's Yard (1903-30) Darwen Street

Stoney Butts (1716-1852) Lower and Higher situated between Grimshaw Park area and Railway Station. Name retained in new town centre shopping complex.

Stoney House Farm (1915) Wilpshire

Stonyhurst Close (1980)

Stonyhurst Road (1966)

Stoop Field (1836) Lammack

Stoops Fold (1844-1949) handloom weavers' cottages Lammack Road     Christopher Martin (1878)

2 cottages and Cunningham House

Stopes Brow (1912) Rakes Bridge Lower Darwen No 3-69 and 4-36

Stopes Brow Farm (1902-35) Lower Darwen

Stopps Farm (1915) Ramsgreave

Store Street (1903) 28 Raikes Bridge Lower Darwen Nos 3-15

Stout Street (1844-1980) 71 Whalley Banks King Street Nos 2-20

Strangers' Friendly Society                                                                                 treasurer: Thomas Hart (1852)

Strawberry Bank (1844) 34/6 Preston New Road Nos 1-7 and 4-22

Strawberry Bank Villas (1878) 40 Preston New Road Strawberry Bank Nos 38-40a

Struan Mill Quarry Street Eanam owned by John Yates (Blackburn) Ltd (1897-1930) cotton manufacturers

The Blackburn Subscription Bowling Green Club existed as long ago as 1734 and most of the Blackburn gentry have been members. The original bowling green was at the foot of the slope at Cicely Hole and was removed in 1844 when the Feilden's the owners of the land sold it to the railway but provided another site near the old Grammar School on St. Peter Street. In 1869 it moved to its present site on Shear Bank Road. Originally there were 18 members in 1734 but by 1877 membership was limited to 100.

Studley Terrace (1903-30) 134 New Bank Street / Road

Sudell Cross (1878) King William Street Nos 1-10

Sudell's Court (1836-52) Church Street

Sudell's Field (1818)

Sudell House King Street

Sudell Nook (1831-1980) Haslingden Road

Sudell Street (1724) now top of King Street

Sudell's Yard (1818)                                                                                              Dixon Robinson attorney (1818)

Suffolk Street (1903) 27 Parkinson Street Mill Hill Nos 1-23 and 2-16

Sulby Road (1958) Park

Sullivan Drive                      Roman Road

Summerford Terrace (1903-30) Whitebirk Road

Summerville Walk (1980)

Sumner Street (1870-1980) Dean Street / 46 Islington Nos 4-26                  demolished 1971

Sumney Street (1870) Audley Lane

Sun Cottages (1930) Feniscowles

Sunny Bank (1870-1929) (10) 8 Shear Bank Road Nos 8-12                        William Forrest (1870)

Sunny Bank (1903-29) 117 Whalley New Road

Sunny Bank Road (1929) Longshaw Lane

Sunny Bower (1903) Whalley Old Road Litttle Harwood 3 premises

Sunny Bower Close (1966)

Sunny Bower Road (1966)

Sunnyhurst (1929) St Silas

Sunnyhurst Road (1980)

Sunnyside (1878) 5 West Park Road

Sunny Side (1870) 291-293 Haslingden Road Guide

Sunneyside Avenue (1980)

Sunny View (1903-29) Sandy Lane Lower Darwen

Superintendent Registrar's office 8 King Street (1878) 4 King Street (1881-1951)                     

superintendent: Thomas Brennand (1878) Henry Whittaker (1881-97) John Birch (1903-30) Henry T Wade (1935-42) George Heatley (1951)

Surbiton Place (1870) (109)131 Preston New Road                            Mrs Mary Ann Smithson (1870)

Surrey Road (1966)

Surrogates (1897)              Revs Henry Wescoe, J A Rushton and J O Pinck (1897)

Surveyor of Taxes office 12 New Market Street (1870); 14 Astley Gate (1878);                            

surveyor: W J R Vivian (1870); Richard Read (1878-81); collector: Robert Duckworth (1870);

2 Richmond Terrace (1881); Thomas Blackwell (1903)

19 Richmond Terrace (1912-15) No. 1 district William McLeod (1912-15): No. 2 district C E Horncastle (1912); G H Cross (1915)

Sussex Drive (1980)

Sussex Walk (1980)

Sutton Street (1929) Feniscowles

Swallow Drive (1980)

Swallow Street (1851-1966) (23)17 Hilton Street Brookhouse Nos 2-10

Swallow Street Mills (The Lather Box / Lather Pot) Brookhouse Street owned by Henry Ward & Sons (1870-8) cotton spinners & manufacturers. A great fire costing £30,000 swept through the mill 21/22 September 1901 where E & G Hindle Ltd (1901-59) cotton spinners & manufacturers had a handkerchief department along with Beardsworth Street Beech Street Gate Street and Duxbury Street. Demolished for housing

Swan Brewery (1894-5) Larkhill owned by Blackburn Brewery Co Ltd sold to Dutton's in 1928 with over 100 public houses

Swan Farm (1930-42) Lower Darwen

Swan Farm Close (1980)

Swan Street (1870-1980) Paterson Street / Denham Street / Mosley Street Nos 19-29 and 20/24

Swansea Terrace (1903-30) 522 Whalley New Road Nos 8-12

Swarbrick Street (1852-1958) 53 Birley Street Nos 3/25/45 and 10-30

Swedenborgian church (1867)

Swift Close (1980)

Swimming Baths                                                                                        see Corporation Baths

The Sycamores (1878-1929) Park Crescent off East park Road

Sycamore Road (1929) Teak Street / Rosewood Avenue

Sycamore Street (1966-90)

Syke Mill Belthorn owned by John Oddie & Son Ltd (1870-1930) cotton manufacturers

Syke Street (1818-1980) 68 Penny Street named after small rivulet flowing through the middle of the Glebe lands Nos 3/17/29 and 2-16

Synagogue (1969) Clayton Street

Tacketts Fields (1716-39) Great, Middle and Little situated north of the Town hall. Later Tacketts Street named after them.

Tackett's Street (1870) off Exchange Street Nos 1-9 demolished to make way for carpark ramp

The Tank toposcope unveiled August 2010 costing £3,000                          see Revidge Tank

Tanners House Farm (1868-1915) Ramsgreave

Tapesizers' Association 2 Victoria Street (1941)

Tapestry Street (1929) 367a Bolton Road Ewood

Tarbert Crescent (1958) Shadsworth

Tariff Reform League (branch) Central Buildings, Lord Street West            secretary: J Calderbank (1912-15)

Tattersall Street (1870-1980) 12 Weir Street Nos 2-14

Taunton Road (1929) Raven Road

Tax office Hare and Hounds (1818) Darwen Street

Taylor Avenue (1990s)

Taylor Close (1980)

Taylor Street (1870-1980) 41 Dickinson Street Nos 21-65 and 2/24-106

Taylor Street Sidings (1903) 12 coal merchants

Teak Street (1903-29) Whalley New Road No 1

Teal Close (1980)

Tean Barn (1832) Mile End Duke's Brow near 110 Revidge Road               James Sefton (1870)

Tean Barn Farm (1870-81)                                                                                   John Eddleston (1870)

Tean Barn Lane Ends which is now the junction at the top of Duke's Brow and Revidge

Tean Barn Road (now Lynwood Road)

Technical High School (Mixed) Blakey Moor

Technical School (College) (now Blackburn College) Blackburn School of Art, Science and Technical School Blakey Moor instituted as a Jubilee Memorial in 1887. A subscription fund of £15,000 was raised and the foundation stone was laid on 9th May 1888 by His Majesty the King, Edward VII, then Prince of Wales. The main building was costed at £17,500 with a further £5,000 rewired for outbuildings and fittings. It included a completely equipped chemical, physical and technological department, which was constantly added to. Grade 2 listed in 1984. Headmaster A G Grubb (1889), secretary W Ditchfield (1889); secretary: A W King (1903); principal: J F Harlow BSc (1924-5); William Wilkinson OBE FTI (1925-44); principle E Tyler DSc FInstP AMIEE AFRAeS (1944-58);

Teetotal Mission Lees Hall St. Peter's Street (1964)                            Mrs. Lewis

Telegraph Offices Post Office Lord Street (1885) and Railway Station

Telephone Exchange (new) Jubilee Street

Temperance Benevolent Society (18/4/1831-1931) formed at Music Hall Market Street Lane

Temperance Town Missionary                                                              William Gregson (1852)

Temple Buildings (1878-1949) 39/41 Larkhill

Temple Close (1980)

Temple Court (1870) 46 Church Street

Temple Drive (180)

Temple End (1843) tenement at end of Billinge End Road before Alum Scar

Temple Street (1929-66) off Newton Street

Tenby Close (1966)

Tennyson Place (1881-1929) (187) 189 Preston New Road

Tenpin bowling alley opened March 2017 in Bowlplex premises Peel Leisure Park Lower Audley

Tetbury Close (1980)

Tewkesbury Street (1903) off Shorrock Lane Mill Hill Nos 1-21

The Textile Institute (Blackburn Branch)

Chairman: W G Doidge ATI (1958); secretary: H Pomfret ATI 13 Highfield Road Rishton

Textile Museum                                                                                          see Lewis Textile Museum

Textile Society Technical College (1941)

Textile Warehousemen's Society 20 Mincing Lane (1941)(Society Club) Lord Street West (1924-47)

                                                                                                                        secretary: D E Brierley (1924)

Thackett Bent Meadow (1750)

Theatre Royal (and Opera House) 33 Ainsworth Street (1870-97)  

lessee & manager: C H Duval (1870-81) Mrs A Duval (1885) W C Beattie (1889) prop: Harry Yorke (1892-1911) lessee and manager: Harry Lyons (1912) manager William Kenyon (1915) Norman R Booth MD, P Leonard booking manager, Ernest Taylor resident manager (1930);

The first existed prior to 1803. The next was built in 1816 the manager was Mr Ryan. Macbeth was performed on Monday 19th May 1816 by a London company. Charles Chaplin appeared here in 1903. In 1909 re-opened after refurbishment as Royal Hippodrome. Re-decorated and re-opened as Theatre Royal under Harry Yorke's management in 1892. In 1931 theatre was abandoned and it became the Cinema Royal with 1600 seats but was demolished in 1937 to make way for new cinema. New Cinema Royal and café opened in 1938 but was demolished in 1967 for new town centre after being bought by the Essoldo group in 1957 and sold to the corporation for demolition for £130,000.

Theosophical Society Temple Chambers Church Street (1939-51)

Therlmere Close (1980)

Thistle Field (1835) Whitebirk estate

Thomas Street (1870) 26 Harrison Street

Thomas Street (1818-52) (Whooley) Whalley Banks

Thomas Street (1818-52) The Wranglings Nos 4 and 45

Thomasina Place (1929) 41 Saunders Road

Thompson Street (1878-1980) 27 Pleasington Street Wensley Fold Nos 13-17/34 and 2

Thompson Street Congregational church Witton (founded 1884) demolished

Thompson Street Industrial Estate (1979) Bank Top

Thornber Street (1889-1980) 98 Taylor Street 2 businesses

Thorncliffe (1929) 169 Preston New Road

Thorneycroft (1929) Preston New Road

Thornley Avenue (1980)

Thornton Close (1980)

Thornton Drive (1980) previously Bridlington Crescent built 1951

Thornwood Close (1980)

Th'owd Tradin' 'Oyle corner of Railway Road and High Street consisted of a few cottages some 10 feet below street level access being by a sloping path with railings. The cottages having been condemned were being used as pet stores.

Three Lawnds (1856) Audley estate 16 acres 2 roods 9 perches

Throstle Nest (1898) tenement on banks of Blakewater

Throstle Nest Mill (1844) Bank Top owned by Railton & Stones (1870) cotton spinners & manufacturers then by James Beads (1878) cotton manufacturer and J F Calvert & Co (1878) cotton manufacturers followed by Henry Heywood Throstle Nest Mill Co cotton spinners and manufacturers

Throstle Street (1851-1980) 82 Bank Top Nos 6/13/15/69

Thunder Alley (1795-1845) important thoroughfare across Northgate to Queen Street and onto Blakey Moor now Town Hall Street

Thunder Alley Charity School

Girls' Charity School was demolished in 1928. Founded by Mr.William Leyland who left £200 in trust, opened in 1764 it was to provide education for ninety girls in knitting, sewing, reading and arithmetic. In 1836 there were 70 scholars in average attendance. On 18th January 1870 having closed down the whole of the property was sold to the Blackburn Exchange Company, which were then occupied as auction rooms

Thwaites' Arcade Church Street ran through to Lord Street.

Built in 1883 at a cost of £10,000 and opened in 1884. Above the arcade was housed the Central Conservative Club. Was demolished in July 1971 Occupants when closed included Cash & Co.; William's tobacconist; S Eastham's florists; Evans; Lotus Shoes; F Lewis's; Hadfield's women's clothes; Smith's Arcade Tobacco Store; Porritt's, The Wig Boutique, Timothy White's and Worswick's opticians. Nos 1-26 (1903)

Thwaites' Court (1878-1949) Market Place

Thwaites' Theatre                                                                                      see Empire Theatre

T I Girls High School (1992) 31 Bicknell Street

Tintern Crescent (1951) 380 Whalley Old Road

Tippett Close                       Roman Road

Tippings Farm (1915) Wilpshire

Tithe Barn (1851) Blackburn

Tithebarn Farm (1851-78) Livesey                                                                      Thomas Sharples (1878)

Tiverton Drive (1980)

Toc-H Club Royal Buildings, Preston New Road (1930); 4 Strawberry Bank (1935); 15 Preston New Road (1939-42); Temple Chambers, Church Street (1951); Lees Hall (1958)

Toad Hole (Toadehoale, Toddehole, Todehole) (1623) Yew Tree Preston New Road home of the Claytons now occupied by Margaret Grimshaw opposite site of County Hotel

Toad Hole Farm (1836)

Toc H Club Temple Chambers Church Street (1947); Richmond Terrace (1956); Institute for the Deaf Kendal Street (1966);

Tockholes (1227) (Tockolis, Tocholis, Thocol, Tokhol, Tokholes) Tocca's valley.

Tockholes Fold Farm (1851-1942) Livesey                                                      James Pickup (1870)

Toddy Fold / Tod Hey (1832) Lane Ends tenement left hand side below Rhodes Peckgate Road

                                                                                                               Henry Knowles & John Richmond (1832)

Tolls had been set up as a result of the George 111 (1793) & 1818 Turnpike Acts but were scrapped when the acts were repealed 31st October 1881.

Shackerley Toll Preston New Road (1827-91); Redlam Toll (1870) Redlam Brow (3d); Brookhouse Old Toll Bar Whalley Brow junction Whalley New Road and Whalley Old Road (demolished 1928) collector Thomas Hoyle (1824); White Cottage Livesey Branch Road; Abbott Clough Accrington Road nr Old Mother Redcap (demolished 1935); Ewood near Albion Hotel (1866-bef 1887); Brownhill (1868) collector Robert McMillan;

Toll Gate (1851) Livesey

Tom Crook's Delph (1865) off St James' Road next to Royshaw Brick works. Name taken from farmer who farmed Lower Royshaw Farm.

Tongue Hill Old Norse meaning 'spit of land'

Tongue Hill Farm (re-built 1730-2001) Pleasington                            William Blackmore (1870)

Tongue Well (1851) Pleasington

Tontine (Street) (1795-1980) Morton Street an area near Kirkham Lane Limbrick crossed by Barbara Castle Way. Later New Street parallel with Kirkham Lane was called Tontine Street (1843-1929) 10 Limbrick Nos 21/41-55 and 10-50

Tony Hurst Road (1980)

Top of Brow (1872) St Thomas' Parish

Top of Revidge (1844) houses facing Park near top of Brantfell Road

Top of Shire Brow (1832)

Top o' th' Coal Pits (1786-1960) Mount Pleasant Grimshaw Park. As many as coal pits existed shown on the OS Map of 1844.  When a new quarry was opened around 1900 by Messrs Whittaker clay was mined some 50ft beneath the coal seam. In the late 1960s rubble from the old Blackburn Market was used to fill in the quarry. Park Lee Hospital was built on the land of this farm.

Top o' th' Coal Pits Farm (1720-1902)

Top o' the Croft  Bolton Road Ewood

Top Oth Heights Farm (1871-81) Ramsgreave                                                John Sharples (1870)

Top o' th' Moor Farm (1826-1966)                                                          J G Reay (1966)

Top Farm (1870)                                                                                         Henry Cave (1870)

Topaz Street (1929) 552 Whalley New Road

Toppings' Court (1893-1949) 61 Moor Street Larkhill

Toronto Road (1958) Silas

Tottenham Road (1929-80) Sandy lane Lower Darwen

Tottering Temple (1898) farmhouse in Tockholes

Tower Road (1958) Preston Old Road

Tower Street (1870-1966) (4)125 Harwood Street

Town Clerk's office Town Hall (1870-1951)                     

and Clerk of the Peace: C G H Beck (1870) W E L Gaine (1878-89) Robert E Fox (1897) Sir Lewis Beard (1924-30) Briggs H Marsden (1935) Charles S Robinson OBE (1939-51)

Town Crier and Bellman                                                  William Markham 9 Kirkham Lane (1870-85)

Town's Green (1836-56) Audley estate 3 acres 2 roods 28 perches

Town Hall, Session's House and Police Offices Market Place King William Street corner stone laid on 28th October 1852 by Joseph Feilden Lord of the Manor and opened 30th October 1856 by the Mayor William Hoole at a cost of £29,428 Architect James Paterson, builder Richard Hacking and William Stones.

Town Clerk: W E L Gaine; R E Fox (1903); Sir Lewis Beard (1912-30);                   

Hall keeper: William & Elizabeth Jones (1856); Joseph Dewhurst (1870); W Wilkinson (1878-81); F N Fowler (1930-42); Perkins

The copper plate had the following inscription engraved upon it:- 'This, the foundation stone of the Town Hall, Session's House and Police Offices, intended to be erected by the B J Commissioners, by virtue of the powers vested in them, by act of parliament, in the 10th year of Queen Victoria, upon a plot of ground containing 3832 superficial square yards (of which 2460 superficial square yards were given by Joseph and John Feilden, and the remainder purchased by the commissioners), was laid on the 28th October 1852, 16th year of Queen Victoria, by Joseph Feilden, one of the lords of the manor of Blackburn, assisted by W H Hornby, the mayor, and William Hoole, chairman to the Commissioners Committee of Superintendence – William Hoole, James Pickup, and Richard Backhouse; Thomas Hart, Robert Hopwood, junior, W H Hornby, Christopher Parkinson, clerk to the commissioners, John Hargreaves; architect, James Patterson; contractors, Richard Hacking and William Stones'. Of Italian Renaissance style it covers, within the boundary walls, and area of 2,612 sq. yds. The entrance front is 120ft. long and 62 ft. high. All the Police Departments vacated the building in July 1912. New Council Chamber opened 2 May 1921. War memorial Roll of Honour unveiled in the vestibule in 1929. Grade 2 listed in 1974.

(New) Town Hall 'The Tower Block' rising 14 storeys and costing £650,000 opened on Friday 4th July 1969 by Lord Rhodes Lord Lieutenant of Lancashire. Stands 198ft high with the top of the building 545ft 9ins above sea level It is joined to the old town hall by a glass walled bridge at first floor level. Given facelift in 1990;

Town Hall Buildings (1858) became William Hoole Street now Exchange Street (1860s)

Town Hall Street (1870) (37)57 King William Street previously Thunder Alley Nos 1-17 and 6-20

Town's Moor (1832) open area on Grimshaw Park side of Darwen Street Railway Bridge, between Grimshaw Park and Bolton Road Used by local artillery for exercises etc now a retail shopping complex

Town's Moor Baptist Chapel (1889)

Town Stocks were situated on the western side of the old market place at the top of Church Street.

Town Twinning at the conclusion of the first World War the Borough adopted the devastated town of Peronne providing funds to re-build the bridge over the river Somme. The first visit was on the 24th January 1921. In 1971 a twinning agreement was made with Altena a West German town.

Tram Street (1929) 311 Accrington Road


Blackburn Corporation Tramways Co. Ltd. 9 Station Road (Railway Road) Salford (1889-1925);

manager: C M Dowie (1889); general manager: Alfred S Giles;

chief clerk: J W Baker (1900-3) S Hargreaves (1912-5);

office: 65 Church street (1930-5)              general manager: J H Cowell (1905-37) A Potts (1937-51)

department: Accrington Road (1951)

Blackburn Corporation operated 5 tram sections:

Church of 4miles opened 9th July 1901 the last tram ran from the Boulevard to Intack depot on 3rd September 1949 the last tram from Intack to Church was 16th January 1949        

Wilpshire opened in November 1887 of 2 ½ miles extended 14th May 1902 buses took over on Monday 22nd December 1947          

Preston New Road opened 28th March 1899 of 1½ miles trams last ran on 6th January 1946    

Witton opened 31st March 1899 of 1¾ miles extended later to Cherry Tree 2 ¼ miles 7th October 1903 closed 1st April 1939

Darwen in co-ownership with Darwen Borough purchased 1898 started to Borough Boundary 1st December 1900 closed 2nd July 1949

Cemetery opened 4th July 1901

Queen's Park opened 4th December 1903 closed February 1935

First electric tram ran to Accrington 3rd August 1907

The last Blackburn tram was driven from the Town to Intack by the Chairman of the Transport Committee Mr Councillor Robert Weir JP on Saturday 3rd September 1949

Tramway Men's Institute 3 Fleming Square (1914); 1 Ainsworth Street (1930-51);         

         secretary: J Mather (1930-5); W Lindsay (1942); O Jenner (1947-51)

Transitions (2002-3) the five sculptures in Church Street costing £250,000 “reflect the social, economical, industrial and physical growth of Blackburn through the cotton process". Made by Yorkshire artist Ian Randall they are called Boll, Gin, Mercer, Neo & Lumen.


Blackburn Corporation Tramways Co. Ltd. (1897) 9 Railway Road  secretary: J W Baker (1897)

Blackburn Corporation Transport department (1939-51) 15/17 Railway Road

Transport & General Workers' Union (Blackburn No. 1) Royal Chambers 13 Victoria Street (1929-51)

      secretary: R Sugden JP (1939); John Robinson (1951)

Trevanion's Amphitheatre                                                                                   see The Grand Theatre

Trevor Close (1966)

Trinity Cottages (1929-49) 93 Cleaver Street

Trinity Court (1980)

Trinity-Paradise United Methodist Church Feilden Street (1964)

Trinity Parish (1872) from Eanam Bridge along the canal to Audley Higher bridge, Audley Higher Barn Lane, Eanam, Syke Street, Penny Street, Larkhill, Whalley Road, Birley Street, Bancroft Street, Eanam Road to Eanam Bridge. Population: 4,394

Trinity Place (1852-3) Trinity Church

Trinity Street (1851-1980) Moor Street / 2 Mount Pleasant Nos 15-51 and 2-54

Trinity United Reform Church Brownhill having merged with Audley range Congregational church on 21/2/1988 having been Brownhill Congregational church since before 1929

Trinity Wesleyan Methodist (Free) Chapel (1877- 1965) Preston New Road / Montague Street a handsome gothic edifice designed by Mr. W S Varley of Blackburn. Erected in 1877/8 at a cost of £13,000 seated over 1100 persons with a.spire of 155ft the upper church part was closed and demolished in 1965

Troon Avenue (1966)

Troop Street (1929-66) School Street

Trout Brook House (1851) Pleasington

Troy (1836-1958) Preston New Road the home of John and Ada Thwaites (1952) the site is now occupied by Beardwood (formerly Billinge) School.                                                     John Thwaites JP (1870)

Troy Street (1885-1980) 215 Whalley Range Nos 4-44a demolished

Tunnel Blackburn Railway tunnel from Blackburn station to Birley Street

Turkey Row (1851)

Turkish Baths (1891-1920) opened on Richmond Terrace in 1891 operated by the newly incorporated Blackburn Turkish Baths Company. Architects Stones and Gradwell. Operating until 1920. Demolished when Education offices were demolished 1984.                                                           Proprietor: Alfred Arbury (1896-7)

William Greenwood (Turkish Baths) 11 & 13 Feilden Street (1897)

George Hopwood 13 & 15 Fleming Square (1897)

James Murray (hydro.) 65 & 67 Higher Eanam (1897)

                        Audley Range

                        Officer's Turkish Baths Freckleton Street

Turner Square (1836) Bank Top

Turner Street (1851-1980) 74 Bank Top No 13

Turner Street mill (Rhooburb) Bank Top owned by Edward Healey (1870) cotton manufacturer then Marsden & Emmett (1878) cotton manufacturers Marsden Bros (1887) with Woodfield mills 835 looms shirtings & dhooties then T Marsden & Sons followed by J Ainsworth & Sons cotton manufacturers (1894) 547 looms shirtings and dhooties. Frank Ainsworth & Co (1902); James Read (Blackburn) Ltd (1915) cotton manufacturers followed by James Read (Blackburn) Ltd (1922) & Alden Manufacturing Co Ltd (1930) cotton manufacturers

Turners' Almshouses 58-68 Bank Top were erected and endowed by William MP and Jane Turner of Mill Hill in 1833 for indigent aged widowed women. Comprising of 6 single storey dwellings an allowance of 3s per week was allowed for maintenance. They were Grade 2 listed in 1974. Blackburn Borough Council stone cleaned and renovated them in 1976.

Turner's Court (1824) Darwen Street

Turner's Farm (1870-1966) Heys Lane Bank Hey Livesey                Thomas Whittaker (1870) D Jackson (1966)

Turner's Yard (1795-1958) 19 Back Lane / 6 St. Peter's Street / Mincing Lane opposite Mecca Bingo Hall

Turnpike roads                                                                                           see individual Blackburn-  

Tweed Street (1929) 437 Bolton Road                                                               no addresses

Twenty Steps above Cicely Hole on way to Higher Barn

Twisters' and Drawers' Association 52 Park Road Grimshaw Park (1924-51)                

secretary: N Cronshaw (1924-5); Herbert Dawson (1951)

Two Gates path from Whalley New Road Roe Lee to Wilworth Crescent

Tynwald Road (1958) Park Lee Road

Tythe Barn (1929) off Revidge Road

Tythe Barn Terrace (1918) Revidge Road

Typographical Association Blackburn Branch (1896)                                   secretary: F Atkin (1896)

Ullswater Close (1980)

Ulverston Close (1980)

Undenominational Mission Room Whitebirk (1889)

Under Billinge Farm (1951-66)                                                                J Bruce (1996)

Under Billinge Lane (1966)

Under Bunkers Hill (1851) Livesey

Under th' Height Farm (1870) Lower Darwen                                       Moses Nightingale (1870)

Unemployment Assistance Board area office 6 Shear Bank Road (1939-51)

Unemployment Junior Instruction Centre Walter Street (1939)

The Union Bank of Manchester Ltd. Church Street, Blackburn (1912-15)

Union Buildings (1832-1912) 46 Whalley Old Road Daisyfield Nos 1/39-49/119-129 and 24/32/112-120

Union Club 9/11 Church Street (1849-1909) 45 Preston New Road (1924-51)  First established in 1849 had a good billiards and news-room The building had been erected by Henry Sudell for a town residence. Its members comprised the principal gentlemen of the town and neighbourhood.

chairman: Leonard Wilkinson (1870)

hon. sec. Joseph Ward (1870) James Yates (1878) steward: R Roylance (1878)

hon. sec. William Greenwood (1881) steward R Roylance (1881) hon. sec.: John Rutherford (1885) A R Greenwood (1889) W Thompson (1897-1915) secretary: H A Smith (1924-5) H A Smitton (1930-42) G Wakeworth (1947) Percy Waterworth (1947-51) Guy Waterworth (1951)

Union Cottage Homes Cherry Street and Hickory Street

Foster mothers: Misses Ada Willetts and Jane Coleman (1903); superintendent: J R Winward (1912); E Sullivan (1915)

Union House opened in 1864 it was a fine stone building in Cardwell Place. It cost £30,000. The Union was the predecessor of the Blackburn Rural Council.                                                 see Union Offices below

United Irish Club (1900) 58 Victoria Street                                            secretary: John Grace jnr (1900)

Union Mill (The Soup Kitchen) Cleaver Street

(The) Union Offices 8 King Street (1878) 4 King Street (1881) Cardwell Place (1897-1951)                                                 clerk to the Guardians: Thomas Brennand (1878) R C Radcliffe (1881-97)

Cardwell Place (Fish Lane) foundation stone laid by James Hoyle JP chairman of the building committee on 22/12/1886. Designed by Stone & Gradwell MSA of Blackburn                                                       

                clerk: Cha​rles E Bygrave (1903-15); G B Pye (1924-5)

Union Street & back (1795) leading from (40)50 Ainsworth Street to Old Chapel Street Nos 1-27 and 2-20 (1903)

Union Street (1843) 47 Mosley Street Nova Scotia

Union Street & back (1870-1980) Pump Street / 8 Lister Street

Union Street Bridge was a stone bridge over the Blakewater above Salford linking Union Street and Old Chapel Street. Built before 1882 and still standing in 1951. A single span with a parapet of stone slabs clamped together with iron straps

Union Workhouse Haslingden Road was opened in 16th February 1864, the foundation stone being laid on the 20th April 1861. The building and outbuildings covered an area of ten acres, with land attached, amounting altogether to sixty acres. It occupied a lofty acclivity and cost in its erection £30,000. It had accommodation for 1,000 inmates. By 1915 it could accommodate 1,200 inmates. Large lunacy wards, covering an area of four acres were added in 1881 at a cost of £16,000. In 1888 a porter's lodge and weigh-bridge were built at a cost of £368 and in 1889 new stores were completed which cost £1,500 Later improvements included mortuary £558; addition to infirmary and lavatories £780; fire extinguishing apparatus £1,295; and steam laundry £4,767. A new wing was added in 1903 at a cost of over £12,000. Queen's Park Hospital and Institution Under the Local Government Act of 1929 the institution transferred to the County Borough of Blackburn, but patients from the County area of Great Harwood, Church, Oswaldtwistle, Rishton and Blackburn Rural district were also admitted. It now had accommodation for 1,275 inmates, 100 casuals and 100 nurses. In 1920 an up-to-date cinema was installed for the benefit of the patients. In 1925 a wooden hospital was erected, with accommodation for 135 children and cost £2,400. A nurses' home was opened on May 13th 1926, which cost £23,000. It had accommodation for 80 nurses. In 1926 a sanitorium extension cost £6,700. A new annexe was added to the infirmary October 10th 1926 containing 74 beds and costing £11,700. In 1933 a new bowling green was opened for the use of patients. A sunlight department had been added, X-ray laboratory had been constructed and modernized, extensive alterations to the laundry including the installation of modern equipment. In 1939 it was known as the Queen's Park Institution.

master: William Hillidge (1870); Richard Sowerbutts (1870-81); John Wilkinson (1903); F Lambert (1912); George A Poole (1939); governor: Richard Sowerbutts (1870); Charles H Roberts (1915): matron; Ann Sowerbutts (1870); E E Poole (1939).

Unit Four Cinema                                                                                       see Star Picture Palace

Unitarian Meeting Room Cobden Buildings Cort Street opened 1823.

United Free Church (Methodist) Barton Street (1836-1870); Knuzden Brook (1870); Paradise Lane (1870);

United Free Mechanics (1837)

United Grand Odd Fellows (1837)

United Irish League (Club) St. Peter Street                                                       secretary: William Cane (1903)

United Iron Works (1903) Mill Hill John Stringer Mill Furnisher (1903)

United Methodist church Lower Darwen new school opened 5th November 1905

United Methodist church Higher Audley Street closed 22/6/1912

United Methodist church Regent Street closed 17/9/1912

United Order of Catholic Bretheren 36 Richmond Terrace (1915); 47(45) Ainsworth Street (1930-42)

                                                                                                secretary: P Brown (1915); J Moss (1930-42)

United Order of Oddfellows (1838)

United Presbyterian School / Chapel Mount Street (1852)

United Services Club 18a (14) Fleming Square (1915-35);    

            secretary: E A Lloyd (1915); J Fairfield (1924-5); J E Houghton (1930); J Turner (1935)

Unity mill Pearson Street owned by Higson Bros Ltd (1870-78) then by Brindle and Thompson (1891-4) with Limbrick mill 534 looms jacconettes and Turkey reds.Thomas Brindle (1902-4) cotton manufacturers followed by Higson Bros. Ltd (1912) cotton manufacturers and then Haydock & Royston (1922) and H Eastwood & Co Ltd (1930) cotton manufacturers. Dynamo & Electrical Services

Unity Mill Lower Darwen owned by J & L Ward Ltd (1912-39) cotton manufacturers

Unity Street (1903-80) 47 Mosley Street Nos 1-11 and 4-16

Unsworth Lodge (1878) Wellington Street (St. John's)

Upper Mickle Hey Farm off Parsonage Road built in 1591. Grade 2 listed in 1974. T E Preece (1966)            ​

​​back to top​​